We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Am I in the middle east?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jumeirah Al Qasr at Madinat Jumeirah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jumeirah Al Qasr at Madinat Jumeirah
Ranked #11 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Am I in the middle east?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2008

I stayed 5 nights at Al Qasr recently, I was there for business - but it felt like play. All the other reviews are spot on, I just wanted to add some color. This doesn't feel like a property in a middle eastern country - its packed with westerners wearing skimpy resort attire, speaking in their native tongues and SMOKING up every cigarette they brought. Don't expect to be anywhere near the "real" Dubai. This resort could be set in anywhere in the world (like Las Vegas), there is nothing authentically Arabic about this place. The design feels very fake and contrived (which it is).

If you like to work out - DO NOT MISS THE GYM. Its in one of the sister properties (you can take a boat or buggy over to it). But easily the best hotel gym I have ever seen.

Be sure to visit the Burj Al Arab while you are at Jumeriah - either for lunch or a drink. But expect to $$$PAY$$$ for the experience.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vgchao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,728
    290
    77
    43
    22
See reviews for
1,039
1,215
59
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
north east
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2008

A remarkable hotel with a true arabic feel...

Again as per my reveiw for the Mina As Alam the service that is received is second to none.

A palatial,wonderfull holiday destination.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — not a thing!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nycgirlNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2008

Al Qasr at Madinat Jumeirah is really, really nice. The hotel is lovely and the decor makes you very aware that you are in Dubai. I stayed five days for work...

The Pros:
1. The boat rides (called Abras) around Madinat Jumeirah (which are free) are amazing... it's almost like being in Venice... VERy relaxing.
2. The pool and beach are fantastic and there are many hotel employees ready to help you get settled with chairs and towels.
3. The bed is SUPER comfortable as are the linens.
4. Gorgeous hotel rooms. Nice bathtub and shower.
5. Breakfast, which comes the room rate has a wide variety, sort of like Las Vegas.
6. Great views of sunsets.
7. No shortage of outdoor activities (of course you have to pay plenty.)
8. There are many, many different types of places to eat and in all price ranges, so you never have to leave (a la' Disneyland.) The nicer places book up fast and you need reservations weeks in advance.

The Cons:
1. Super expensive. This is for sure a tourist trap.
2. Service inside the hotel / operations are a bit iffy. I don't think it's intentional but many major goofs along the way.
3. The hotel is complicated. Not a ton of clear signs to tell you where you are. Lobby is on 3 and every corner looks the same.
4. The people who stay at Madinat Jumeirah are pretty rude and don't care much if they cut in front of you or bump into you. They drop doors regularly on you, and when you try to open one, they think you are holding it for them. Not so much as a mumble of an "I'm sorry" or "Excuse me" and it happened a TON.

I'd go back once I hit the lottery.

  • Liked — Amazingly comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Some operational glitches
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank abbache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesolongion, Greece
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2008

We stayed in Al Qasr for 3 nights. This is the best, most luxurious hotel I have ever stayed in. Our room was a honeymoon suite on the 6th floor overlooking the beach, the hotel swimming pool and Burj Al Arab. It was really big. luxurious and with all the amenities you can think of. It took the
hotel employee 10 minutes to show us around and explain everything. Especially the bathroom was perfect with beautifully scented soaps and little shampoo and bath bottles, seperate especially for men and women. Also, the bed was the most comforable I have ever slept on.
Swimming pool was great - although I would have preferred it more cold with all the heat. But the place was so comfortable, food by the pool was great and the scenery with Burj al Arab overlooming especially at night was magnificent. We also tried the beach but although amenities and service were of the best quality, the water was too warm.
Breakfast was unique not in the sense of numbers, as most of hotels worldwide can boast about food quantity and variety, but in the sense of quality. Especially bakery, fruit and milk products were of supreme quality. As for food, we tried the Toscana restaurant which was ok, and Meat Co with great great service and food! Try Meat and Co restaurant but do pay in local currnecy and not in euros...
It was really hot outside so we were glad the hotel offered the opportunity for restaurant variety and for shopping in the Madinat Souk. Probably they could turn off the aircondition as sometimes it was cold while shopping but the atmoshpere and the variety was satisfying. Also, there is a bus that takes you to The Mall for free and that also releiving with all the heat...
Overall, this hotel is expensive but outstanding! Great value for money especially during Ramadan: almost half the price with no problems encountered.

  • Liked — room, breakfast, madinat souk
  • Disliked — Quite cold in some Air Conditioned parts of the hotel
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Vasileios_Barpakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denmark
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2008

It is a fantastic hotel. Good service, atmosphere, great rooms and perfefect for children.

  • Liked — the atmosphe
  • Disliked — the price
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissiDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2008

Where do we start! We had four nights at Al Qasr in August 08 and what a fabulous experience!

We booked a private transfer from the airport through the hotel - they met us as soon as we got off the plane, guided us through passport control and customs and waited patiently for our bags to arrive, before driving us to the hotel in a beautiful Lexus, with complimentary chilled face towels and iced water.

We arrived around 4.00am, very tired, and were whisked straight to our amazing room for in-room check-in, while the porter dealt with our bags. We had ordered a king bed but there were two singles in the room (although they were almost as big as doubles!). The delightful lady who was checking us in offered to move us but advised that we had would not have as nice a view if we did. We decided to stay and within a couple of minutes two staff had appeared and proceeded to push the beds together and remake them. Even pushed together they were still one of the most comfortable beds we’ve ever experienced.

The outlook from the Ocean View rooms is break-taking, with the Burj al Arab peeking around the corner. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the toiletries in the luxurious bathrooms are heavenly. I have to confess to still be using the lovely body lotion!

The hotel itself is stunning and the staff can not do enough for you. We spent days by the huge pool, afternoons in the Al Fayrooz lounge, and evenings in Koubba bar enjoying some delicious cocktails. The complimentary golf-carts that run up and down the private beach are wonderful – they go all the way from Al Qasr to the Burj al Arab and Wild Wadi and save too much walking in the Dubai heat (entry to Wild Wadi was free to guests of Jumeriah properties).

The only thing we would do differently would be to get breakfast included in our room tariff if possible – like all hotel breakfasts it is very expensive, but the food is really lovely and there is plenty of variety. We have since been told that the room-service breakfast is excellent as well. You really are spoilt for choice with restaurants in the Al Qasr/Souk/Mina-a-Salam complex. Most can be on the pricey side, but with the free shuttle-bus running backwards and forwards between the Mall of the Emirates you can find cheaper food options quite easily.

Our whole experience at Al Qasr was nothing short of magical. Sure we paid for it, and its not cheap, but we really believe it was worth every penny. We can’t wait to go back!

  • Liked — Being treated like royalty for a few days
  • Disliked — Leaving :-(
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SageAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2008

This hotel is really five star plus. We have stayed here several times a year since it's opening.

The staff are fantastic and you are always looked after well, We always ensure that we are in a room category which covers us for the Club Executive/Premium Leisure Club facilities. This facility is really worth having with breakfast, afternooon tea and cocktail hour provided in a more exclusive environment.

The choice of resturants within the Madinat Jumeirah environment is huge, not to mention the shops and theatre.

It is extremely safe for children and has more lifeguards in duty than I have seen in any other hotel.

The room rates give great value for money when you consider the standard of what is provided.

  • Liked — great size of room with fab bathrooms.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CBandPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.7 mi away
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
#23 of 545 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,979 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jumeirah Mina A'Salam
Jumeirah Mina A'Salam
#17 of 545 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,645 reviews
4.2 mi away
Atlantis, The Palm
Atlantis, The Palm
#92 of 545 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Raffles Dubai
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 545 in Dubai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,179 reviews
4.4 mi away
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
#42 of 545 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,801 reviews
2.0 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Dubai Palm Jumeirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumeirah Al Qasr at Madinat Jumeirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumeirah Al Qasr at Madinat Jumeirah

Property: Jumeirah Al Qasr at Madinat Jumeirah
Address: Jumeirah Beach Road | Madinat Jumeirah Resort, Al Sufouh,, Dubai 75157, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#9 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#32 Family Hotel in Dubai
#63 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumeirah Al Qasr at Madinat Jumeirah 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Qasr means 'The Palace' - and this hotel truly is the jewel in the crown of Madinat Jumeirah. Designed in the style of a Sheikh's summer residence, the hotel replicates traditional royal architecture, coupled with luxurious modernity throughout. Approached along a tree-lined avenue, adorned with beautifully sculpted Arabian horses, the hotel itself will take your breath away. A tribute to the age-old architectural styles of Arabia, Jumeirah Al Qasr is an oasis of luxury. It's a place dedicated to relaxing, playing and the finer things in life. As part of the magnificent Madinat Jumeirah or 'City of Jumeirah', Jumeirah Al Qasr offers all the facilities and activities of the wider resort. World-class restaurants, bars and cafes, Talise Spa and our healthclub Talise Fitness, a traditional souk housing scores of boutiques, shops and galleries - this is just a taste of the experiences available to you during your stay at Jumeirah Al Qasr. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jumeirah International, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Jumeirah Al Qasr at Madinat Jumeirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Qasr At Madinat Jumeirah Hotel Dubai
Madinat Jumeirah
Al Qasr Hotel Dubai
Al Qasr Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing