We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,298)
Filter reviews
2,298 results
Traveller rating
1,591
461
155
58
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,591
461
155
58
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmasalacamel ridingdesert viewal forsan restaurantindian restaurantterrace roomle dunerooftop barauthentic arabianarabic stylearabian nightsbelly dancerdubai cityinfinity pooldesert safaricold towelsamazing hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,399 - 1,404 of 2,298 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This is a beautiful property with great amenities. My room was right out of Arabian nights, but with my very own expresso machine! The shower in the bathroom was kind of like it's own minnie room. My only complaint was that we were there for only one night, arrived late and did not have time to use the pool and further explore the lovely grounds.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JrnyJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

All the staff we met were extremely nice and attentive. Check in was easy and friendly. We had great service and food by the pool which did not take very long to arrive and service from the pool guys who were very friendly and helpful. The rooms as usual were lovely and the fruit was a nice touch. The dinner in Al Hadeerah was excellent. My guests thought this was amazing and the food was fantastic, they have said this was their best meal experience all week. One comment would be to reduce the sound of the entertainment. A special thank you to Hussein who spent a lot of time showing us the buffet and looking after us all evening and showed a genuine interest in the job he was doing, he is a credit to the hotel along with the waiter Yasser, he was very good at our table and the best smile we had seen all week in Dubai. An amzing relaxing experience and did not want to come home. Helen, Dubai.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and enjoy the peace and quiet. I have stayed in a few rooms here and there is not much difference.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HJM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Checkin was fast and good, and we were given a nice superior room on the upper floor with garden view (not much to see except a few trees). Living on second floor was a bit of a pain as we had an infant with us and thus a baby stroller, so it was a bit hard to pull it up and down the stairs. Same went with the rest of the area, which wasnt stroller-friendly with stairs all over the place.
Room itself was very nice, with beautiful arabic inspired decor. The bathtub was also nice and big.

The pool area was very nice and relaxed, and a lot of place for suntanning. What disappointed me a bit here was the slow service. Most of the time it took 10-15 minutes to get a cup of coffee and a bottle of water, and the water bottles were never cold/chilled (regardless if it came with a glass with ice). The service in the restaurants were good though, and very good food with variations for every taste.

The surroundings wasnt as nice as on the pictures, where it was more bushes and trees than on the pictures, not sand and dunes all into the horizon. All in all the area is nice though. In the afternoons there were some free activities with a camel ride and a falconer, and this was fun for all ages.

Room Tip: Get a room at first floor
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed one night at Bab Al Shams at the halfway point in our Dubai holiday and we were disappointed with the experience.

The overall review is no doubt tainted by the nightmarish check in procedure we had to endure. The customer service we received was really terrible, definitely not what you expect from a 'luxury resort'. The problem seemed to be that they had no record of our booking. Despite us showing them a confirmation evidencing the fact that we had a booking for the relevant night and that it had been paid in full upfront, they made us sit and wait in reception for around an hour while they apparently called their reservations team elsewhere and tried to work out what on earth to do. None of the staff at reception would take responsibility for the issue and despite our request to speak to the manager, she only made an appearance after we had already been waiting around an hour. Thankfully, she did give us an apology and a room (an upgrade, apparently), but no explanation as to why we had been treated so badly. Surely they could have sorted out their internal reservations issues separately, on the basis that we clearly had a booking and they clearly had rooms available. During most of the waiting time, we were simply ignored and not given any explanation as to why everything was taking so long. Needless to say, we were very angry about this ridiculous process, and also disappointed that we had to miss an hour of our afternoon in the desert. We would like to think that this was a 'one off' mistake but unfortunately there was another guest in reception having exactly the same issue (except we overheard him saying he had been waiting 2.5 hours) therefore I'm not sure we can give them the benefit of the doubt...

Apart from the issue above, our stay was fine, and obviously the desert location was special and relaxing. Generally though, the resort was a bit too rustic for our liking - we had expected it to feel like a really premium desert hideaway but it seemed a little tired. Our room was ok, not particularly luxurious and we definitely weren't wowed by the bathroom. The pool area was nice enough but nothing special.

Watching the sunset from the rooftop lounge was great; the highlight of our day. The service here was also excellent; the waiter was friendly and attentive and we enjoyed some cocktails and snacks as the sun went down. Once it was dark, it was great to look at the stars - there's also a telescope to help you see a bit more!

We ate in the pizzeria, where the food and service was also good. We also enjoyed breakfast on the terrace.

All in all, we had an ok stay but we definitely wouldn't rush back if we visit Dubai again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrufflesSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We arrived during/just after the biggest sandstorm of this season and because of this the hotel looked a bit spooky. The second day the sky was clear and the hotel looked beautiful.
Staff was very friendly. The room was beautiful with a nice bathroom.
We had breakfast (sumptuous) on the terrace.
Our dinner in the desert restaurant was joyful with excellent food, but a bit overpriced.
Near the swimming pool it was a bit difficult to attract attention of staff for ordering of drinks.
Internet in the room was free, but extremely slow.
Some places had free wifi.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvonneMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews