We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa
Ranked #52 of 556 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Even the hotel is far from the city, it is definitely worth it! I (from Colombia) stayed at the hotel with my German friend, as start of our trip around Dubai and Thailand, and couldnt be a better start! The combination of pool and desert is awesome, service and staff are incredible (we were getting complimentary water, sweets and fruits all the time!!!), and even we have traveled quite a lot around the world, we found this hotel as one of our best trip experiences!

Room Tip: Select desert view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on Tripadvisor with regards to your experience in Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa.

We are delighted to learn that you and your friend had an enjoyable stay with us.

We really hope to welcome you all again to the resort in not so distant future.


Kind regards,

M. Aghoury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

910 - 916 of 2,107 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Perfect location for some rest and relaxation with friends or romantic night/weekend. Pool side views of the desert. In the evening spend your night sat around the fire pit, enjoying a very traditional desert experience in 5 star comfort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToryCassells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa.

We appreciate your time taken to advise us and the positive feedback and recommendations you have given. We are glad that we could contribute to making your trip to the Bab Al Shams a great experience.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Bab Al Shams.

Kind regards,

M. Aghoury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Though it's a bit costly compared to other hotels we stayed in our trip, and it's in a remote location almost an hour by cab from the downtown area, we just love the traditional Arabic design when we entered the resort surrounded by the desert, our room is nice and clean though sadly couldn't have much nice desert view as blocked by the tall trees.

Our stay included buffet breakfast for two, restaurant environment is nice, but as for the food, rooms for improvement we would say.

Also thanks for the lovely welcome gifts for our anniversary celebration, the wine, the fruits and the chocolate just exceeded our expectation and definitely have made our day!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YS11313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on TripAdvisor with regards to your experience in Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa.

We are glad to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your appreciative comments on the resort's ambiance, our room, and our Al Forsan Restaurant.

It feels great to know you our small anniversary presents were appreciated and had made your day.

We hope to welcome you back to the resort in not so distant future.

Kind regards,

M. Aghoury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We recently visited the hotel with some friends for a night and I can honestly say its the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in. Everything in the hotel was fantastic, from the Arabic design to the choice of pools. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle of Dubai.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing this very kind review about your recent experience at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa.

Our sole focus is to provide a flawless and excellent service to our valued guests, and to contribute towards a memorable stay at the resort. Therefore we are thrilled to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind review has been shared with the team and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Bab Al Shams in the future.

Kind regards,

M. Aghoury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Was extremely disappointed by my recent stay here. The whole hotel ambience was very dull depressing with poor lighting and dark corridors, was boring and depressing .
With great difficulty was able to choose a room after seeing 4 which were not impressive at all, upon requesting for a better room they requested an additional charge.
The rooms were all small, dark with small windows and some had a very small balcony with not a good view.
The food quality was very poor of the buffet dinner , the food was all cold and dry and didn't taste delicious at all.
Wanted to try the Arabic buffet in ALHadeerah but had to pay additional 452 aed and was not included it the HB offer I had received.
Although the housekeeping staff were kind and helpful.

Room Tip: need to choose a spacious well lit room with a balcony and good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmk63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa.

We appreciate your kind comment to our Housekeeping staff being friendly and helpful.

On the other hand, we would like to extend our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience experienced during your stay.

I have forwarded your comments to the relevant department heads to look into their respective areas for rectification.

We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back thus enabling us to restore your faith in Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa,

Kind regards,

M. Aghoury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel on Groupon. This was perhaps the first warning sign!

It's in a nice setting but two things let it down big time:

Staff Service & Food Quality

Staff at reception (in particular an Arabic lady) made us feel not welcome. No smiles and not polite.

When I asked the member of staff at the restaurant bookings desk about what restaurants we could use as part of the groupon deal, she didn't have a clue. She went to get menus from another member of staff to show us but explained they weren't applicable to our deal. It was a very frustrating experience to try and find out where we could eat and what was included and in the end I told her that it didn't matter and had to walk away.

We opted for the international buffet and were incredibly disappointed. The choice of food was pathetic. I asked chef what one dish was - he picked it up, SNIFFED IT, told me and gave it to me... all this in a supposedly 5* hotel. Yuck!!!

We were shown to a table outside in a very dark area and were told we would get a lamp. After asking three times and waiting for 45mins, I ended up going and getting them from other tables when diners had left. The restaurant only had around 20 people at it so they weren't busy at all. This was also the case when we asked for water, it just never came.

The poor staff service and food lets this place down. 5* it is not. No wonder they're having to get people in using Groupon. I won't be back and cannot recommend. Please don't waste your money like we did :-(

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aroundtheworld_ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for posting a review regarding your recent stay at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa.

We deeply regret that you have had several unpleasant experiences while staying with us.

We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused however your points are noted and corrective actions will be taken.

Once again, thank you for sharing your constructive feedback to help us excel.

We do hope that we will have an opportunity to restore your faith in Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa.

Kind regards,

M. Aghoury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed at bab al shams for two days/ one night last weekend as a treat for my wedding anniversary. I cannot find any fault with out stay at all! We loved every minute! The staff treated us well, lots of lovely touches like bringing you fruit and ice lollies by the pool.
We ate at Le dune the Italian and the food was good. Drinks on the roof top Bar were nice too. Breakfast was great, lots of choice and we were absolutely stuffed!
We took our 2 year old son and he enjoyed it too, in and out of the gorgeous pools all day!
We would definitely go again and will probably go back for a dinner one evening soon! Would recommend this resort, it's beautiful, quiet and relaxing!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing this very kind review about your recent experience Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa with TripAdvisor.

It feels great to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We are pleased to receive your appreciative comments on the facilities, services and amenities that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you on a return visit to Bab Al Shams.

Kind regards,

M. Aghoury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Park Hyatt Dubai
#9 of 556 in Dubai
2,203 reviews
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
#14 of 556 in Dubai
653 reviews
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 556 in Dubai
3,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dubai
Palace Downtown
Palace Downtown
#42 of 556 in Dubai
2,766 reviews
The Marina
The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa

Address: International Endurance City, 308th Rd, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Dubai
#39 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#40 Business Hotel in Dubai
#47 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#47 Family Hotel in Dubai
#53 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: £235 - £810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Translated from Arabic as "Gateway to the sun", the *award-winning 5-star Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa is designed to resemble a fortified rural Arab village amidst the desert landscape. Featuring low-rise architecture, this sandy coloured style fort boasts the main tower with Reception area and lobby and clusters of two-storey buildings housing guest accommodation, restaurants, spa and meeting facilities interconnected by seemingly endless little walkways. The charm of Arabia is personified in every corner of the property with small lanes running through the hotel, scattered around ponds and secluded seating areas, shaded courtyards, water fountains and trickling streams bestowing the feel of cool tranquillity. The abundance of green garden areas and manicured lawns adds to the quiet and soothing environment of the resort. The rustic Arabian theme of exterior design continues to flow in the carefully selected interior decorations and settings featuring uncovered natural stone floors, bare plastered walls, dark wood and iron fixtures, warm dimmed lighting and an abundance of artefacts showcased throughout the property. The resort boasts 113 rooms and suites offering cosy accommodation in an authentic Arabian style with majority of the rooms having a private terrace. All guest rooms and public areas have complimentary Wi-Fi access. *World's Leading Desert Resort, World Travel Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bab Al Shams Desert Resort And Spa
Bab Al Shams Desert Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing