We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“AMAZING SERVICE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Sur

El Sur
Ranked #174 of 9,416 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: The Marina
New York City, New York
1 review
“AMAZING SERVICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I emailed this restaurant from the States asking them to send my cousin who lives in Dubai a dessert for her birthday. They responded in about 5 minutes to my email, and pulled through! It totally made her day and they were SO pleasant to work with. I can't wait to come back to Dubai and go to this resturant!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    112
    46
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, bad Management”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We tried the Saturday Brunch, witch is not really a brunch since it is a set menu. They should be more flexible when it comes to an extra dish to make guest happy. Over all food was good, even tho it is not typical spanish cuisine. maybe they are trying to be more minimalistic? I must say that the paella was SUPERB!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ayrton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Happiness through food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Visited the establishment for lunch on the weekend. Reservation was not very functional, but when we braved arriving without one, we were welcomed and promptly seated by an efficient but a bit uninterested lady, being the first customers for the day.
We sat indoors but just behind the doors to the terrace which is also used for seating when weather permits. The view from the terrace would be outstanding, overlooking the sea line and The Palm, with Atlantis hotel looming in the distance. From inside, though, the terrace fence is just high enough to make the view impossible to enjoy. It would have been great if the indoor area would have been slightly elevated. Otherwise the place is decorated in calm and pleasant colours, with comfortable chairs and tables. A cheeky bull statue at the entrance underlines the Spanishness of the place.
Menus arrived promptly, and impressively - for Dubai - we were being helped by a very friendly and knowledgeable Spanish waiter who clearly knew and was proud of his products.
We chose to forgo the main course and order a number of tapas and starters to share over drinks, which turned to be a very fortunate decision. After being helped to some fresh bread with very smooth and flavoursome olive oil and three dips of salt (white, black and red), we had the olives - I dare say the best I tried EVER!!! Biting into each olive results in a flood of gentlest yet richest flavour that is only complimented by the sangria (white, in my case). They were so good that I ended up ordering two more portions and polished them off with only a little help from my wife.
Then there was the plate of Iberic ham and ceviche, both quite outstanding. A very nice and unusually prepared salad with apples, nuts and blue cheese, fried pimento peppers and fried squid rings - good but least remarkable of the lot. Locking that all in place a very nice omelette with potato and chorizo - baked but not dry...very pleasant!! By the end we were so full that were actually thankful they forgot to bring the cold tomato soup that we foolishly ordered but would have probably not been able to finish.
All in all, a very pleasant experience, great service and the best Spanish food in town as far as I am concerned.
A meal for two, with two drinks each weighed in at about AED 670 - more than fair for Dubai!! I can think of quite a few places where you'd get less for more.
Highly recommended!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Khaled_Reda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“We remeber our "Costa del Sol" times.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Attractive menu for enjoy traditional or modern spanish food. We visited the Westin in our vacations last days and it was very pleasant to find this Spanish corner. We dinner there and the service was really good, a very cozy guy from Malaca treated us very nice. Good food, specially de iberic and wine, the athmosphere is great, original decoration and great background music. Recommended if you love spanish food:

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank G_Odutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average Spanish food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Was there last week for the first time after hearing few good comments about this recently open Spanish tapas place in Dubai.
I was a bit disappointed with the food. While some typical Spanish tapas like ´patatas braves´or ´huevos roots´ were quite decent, the rice, ´arroces´, were far from a Spanish rice dish. The flavors and the way of cooking was closer to Chinese cuisine than to a typical Spanish dish.
The overall atmosphere is nice and it has a beautiful dining balcony, but probably not a place to go back soon….

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1_fellow_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Sur also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to El Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing