We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Executive Floor - better to upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa
Ranked #133 of 542 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
145 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Executive Floor - better to upgrade”
Reviewed 5 March 2008

Stayed on the Executive Floor. Room was beautiful. Great to be able to eat breakfast on the same floor. Great benefits for the evening (nice buffet + you get 3 alcoholic drinks each). The staff were very helpfull and friendly. The location is perfect if you don't want a 'beach front' holiday. The male locals stare at you (if you are a woman) but you get used to it - my advice is to cover up. Felt perfectly safe walking around at night. Used the 'locals' water bus service - great experience. The Indian restaurant downstairs was one of the best Indian meals i've ever had. I would stay there again but on the Executive Floor.

Would recommend the 'ultimate afternoon tea' experience at the Burj Al Arab. It's worth the money (around £55 each) for an extra special treat. We had around 6 courses.

  • Liked — Plush, very clean, nice food, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MariaNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,194
    1,127
    252
    74
    45
See reviews for
506
1,300
254
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maesteg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2008

This hotel is in a superb location, minutes from the creek (& water taxi's) & old town (done the beach before). Hop on hop off tour bus picks up opposite hotel next to museum. Good choice of restaurants & bar (food & service very good). Room large, clean & airy with all extras, view from rooms at rear of hotel rather naff. Would recommend for city stay, unable to find fault.
Phil Harris, Maesteg, UK.

  • Liked — High standards (service, food, etc)
  • Disliked — View from rooms at rear of hotel.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank The_eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
273 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2008

- cosy, staff absolutely lovely and friendly, good location in Bur Dubai - great local shops.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank whittersDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2008

We spent a few nights at the Arabian Courtyard over the New Year period…We loved it.

Our room was not ready when we arrived at the hotel in the morning so we were offered a complimentary upgrade to a room on the Executive Floor with access to the Executive Lounge offering unlimited free drinks and snacks in the evening. Could we have asked for more? Oh, yes, on my friend’s birthday we were surprised with a gorgeous birthday cake and a bottle of wine! Brilliant.

The room was nice, large and bright, with wooden floor and teak furniture, commanding a sweeping view over downtown Dubai and the Creek. Double glazed windows reduce street noise to a minimum. The bathroom was somewhat small but very well appointed.

Virtually everything of interest in Bur Dubai is a short hop away: the Museum (right opposite the hotel), the Old Souk, the Bastakiya Quarter, and the Creek. Even the BurJuman shopping mall is within reasonable walking distance. Those after a beach holiday should better
look elsewhere though: Jumeirah Beach is a long, long way (it took us about one hour to reach Madinat Jumeirah by taxi).

Breakfast was lovely, even if sometimes the small restaurant felt slightly crowded. We were really impressed by the variety and quality of the buffet, definitely something to look forward to first thing in the morning. There was even a non halal section with pork products for
non Muslims!

But the best asset of the hotel has to be its staff. From the moment we checked in we felt welcome and looked after, and throughout our stay we got the impression our custom was highly valued. As a result, we would not hesitate to stay at the Arabian Courtyard again, or recommend it to anyone looking for reasonably priced quality accommodation right in downtown Dubai.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jaimie_es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2008

A friend and i spent 5 days at the Ariabian Courtyard in early January. Having spent 4 days at the Novotel we were really pleased with the location - it was great to be able to walk to the souk and abra station and just see a little of proper Dubai life.

The main areas of the hotel seemed a little dated, but our room looked like it had been refurbished and was done out very nicely. The room was a good size and we looked directly out over the Dubai museum. There was a window in the room which we were unable to shut ourselves as it didn't have a fixed handle. On our way out to dinner we asked for the window to be shut to block out some of the street noise. On our return it was still open and it took 2 more calls before someone came to close it.

The problem with service was repeated again and again. After 3 nights of struggling to sleep due to a strange squeaking noise in the room (I couldn't work out if it was a mouse or the air conditioning) I asked to move rooms. I spoke to a receptionist in the morning before we headed out for the day about this - she told me the hotel was full, but I pointed out that it was 10am, and from the pile of prepared bills in front of her i could see that there were plenty of people checking out. We told her that our bags were packed and asked if they could be moved to our new room. On our return that evening, we found that we had not been moved and the new receptionist had no record of our request. She suggested that they send housekeeping to investigate the noise. I explained that as you only heard it in the middle of the night there wasn't much point, and again asked to be moved. We were told a room would be available in an hour, so went to shower in our old room ahead of dinner reservations. After an hour, we had not heard anything and contacted reception - it took speaking to a few people to be told that the bellboy was on our way up with the new room keys and to move our bags. 10 minutes later we were still waiting, and after even more phone calls we were still waiting. I eventually had to go and track the bellboy down before we could move. After all that we returned that evening to find that our new room was directly above the function room, where a party was going on with loud music blaring until the early hours, and that there was still a strange squeaking noise in the room in the middle of the night. On top of this, the wooden floors combined with a connecting door meant we could hear someone in the next room shuffling round half the night and hear very clearly (they may as well have been standing in our room) the conversation they were having early the next morning. If it hadn't been such a complete hassle the previous day, I'd have moved rooms again.

The pool at the hotel was a real disapointment - and you could see why there was only a very limited shot of it on the website. Although there weren't many sunbeds, we found that it wasn't busy so this wasn't an issue, but the pool itself was as hot as a bath. I'm all for heated pools, but it would have been nice if it had just been slightly refreshing when you wanted to take a break from the sun. We found that the cold water in the room was also always warm, so maybe it's an issue with the water supply to the hotel. The bar by the pool was mostly unmanned (you had to phone through your order if there was no-one there) and service could be quite slow. We were told on Friday afternoon that it would be difficult to serve us food "because it's Friday and things are all over the place" - we were also told that it would be a problem to get us drinks, again because it was Friday. We said we'd wait, at which point the barman managed wtih no trouble at all to pour us a couple of drinks - we couldn't even begin to work out why it would have been an issue in the first place, given that he was standing at the bar.

We visited the Sherlock Holmes bar one evening, which was a totally unpleasant experience - the thick fog of smoke was unbearable - even for my friend who's a smoker, and the whole bar was just very tired and dated. We ate dinner in the Mexican restaurant one evening - the food was ok with massive portions, although the service was very slow.

Checking out was another slow process - my bill had not been prepared in advance, and it took the receptionist a while to track down various bits of paper that she needed. I think I was sat at the desk for about 20mins in all which is not what you need when you are leaving to catch a flight.

I think I would have enjoyed my stay at the Arabian Courtyard and recommended it to others if if hadn't been for the service - it really let the hotel down and meant that the other issues we had were just made worse by how they were handled.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2008

My friend and I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights at the beginning of November. From start to finish the hotel was just amazing, the staff could not be more helpful and friendly and our upgraded executive room was just perfect.

Our rate included breakfast which was in buffet style and everything you could have wanted was there. We ate in a few of the restaurants in the hotel and found no problem with these, the English Pub was comfortable for after dinner drinks and some snacks were available as well.

The area where the hotel is situated in old Dubai had so much more atmosphere than near Jumeriah. If you are looking for a beach break this may not be the hotel for you, but if you are looking to soak up some real Dubai culture this is the place for you.

I would ignore all comments on complaints that other users have given as this was one of the most memorable holidays I have ever been on and I think that the location and hospitality of the hotel and its staff had a lot to do with it.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mavis20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2008

Great things about Arabian Courtyard: Good service, Great rooms, and great value for money.

Not so great things about Arabian Courtyard: Pool area (which is a lot smaller than the pictures and which, at the time I stayed there had lots of noice and workers oogling the girls laying at the pool), location - the Courtyard is in the Bur sour area, so if you can afford it pay a little extra and get a hotel next to the beach.

Generally a good hotel if you do not mind not being by the beach and having a small pool.

  • Liked — Great rooms
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank chris2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Dubai Creek Hotel & Towers
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sea View
Hotel Sea View
#48 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
1.6 mi away
Flora Grand Hotel
Flora Grand Hotel
#110 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Le Meridien Dubai Hotel & Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel Apartments
0.5 mi away
Royal Ascot Hotel
Royal Ascot Hotel
#49 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa

Property: Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa
Address: Al Fahidi Street | 19 Street, 32; Al Souq, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#79 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#81 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#92 Business Hotel in Dubai
#94 Family Hotel in Dubai
#122 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arabian hospitality comes alive the moment you enter the portals and step into the distinctive lobby. Warmth meets efficiency as you are made to feel at home instantly. The heritage inspired ambience with cool stone and warm tones of rich wood, invites you to be part of it.Set in the historic heart of Dubai, a stone throw away from the Dubai Creek and the timeless Souk Al Kabeer (Meena Bazar), the award winning Arabian Courtyard Hotel and Spa is a true Arabian themed hotel. Next to Dubai Museum, Ruler’s Court and Diplomatic Enclave, having British Embassy, US and Saudi Consulates as neighbors, hotel and surrounding Bastakiya historic area is so rich in its heritage flavor and cultural elements, you could say it’s been a few centuries in the making.Arabian Courtyard Hotel and Spa is ideally located for all travelers, as it is a brisk stroll to the Metro station, textile and computer market and Bank Street. Dubai Trade Center and Burj Khalifa is a short drive from the hotel as is the fabled Gold Souk, Port Rashid and Dry Docks are all within easy reach. The Dubai International Airport is 6 kilometers away only. With 173 elegantly furnished rooms in traditional Arabic theme including 23 elegantly furnished suites and 41 executive rooms, our central hotel offers all the latest amenities for discerning travelers. A variety of dining and entertainment options as well as conference & banquet with the latest technology are on offer. Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa also offers a fully equipped health & recreation center as well as a Wellness Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabian Courtyard Hotel And Spa
Courtyard Hotel Dubai
Arabian Courtyard Hotel Dubai
Courtyard Dubai
Dubai Courtyard
Arabian Courtyard Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing