We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant if you like this sort of thing. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa
Ranked #147 of 556 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Dubai is an interesting place to visit and whether you like this hotel is going to depend on why you are there.

If it's chic, cutting edge, clean lines and Arab bling you want, this isn't the place for you. To be fair, some of the hotel is in need of a luck of paint and there is an air of a hotel that needs a little investment. However, to give you this impression to take away would be really unfair.

A hotel is made by its staff, it's facilities and it's location. The Arabian Courtyard Hotel and Spa excels at all these things for me. Every member of staff without exception were friendly and more than helpful. The hotel is immaculately clean with staff on hand 24hrs a day. The hallways and rooms are decked out in beautiful old wood furniture and ornaments and the place has a really authentic feel.

Set in the heart of the old town, you are in the thick of it the moment you step out of the front door. Jewellery, souvenirs, clothes and computer shops everywhere. A myriad of places to eat (if you aren't too fussy, and still plenty if you are) right on your doorstep. There's 4 restaurants in the hotel although we ended up at the Thai place 4 times as we could sit outside.

Right opposite Dubai Museum, a few minutes walk from a small Souk and the river taxis to take you to the gold and spice souks across the bay. 100 yard in the other direction there is a development around part of the old city wall with art, museums and restetaunt set in a traditional Arabian village style. (Being developed while I was here but most probably open now). A few minutes past this, opposite the British embassy wall are floating restaurants.

The old town has a feel of India due largely to the immigrant population and although it looks a little rough around the edges, it has far more colour than the sterile developments further into Dubai. Safe of course too. It's a short walk to the nearest metro but of course taxis cost virtually nothing so a trip up town or to the super bling coastal resorts and malls is easy. There's a supermarket 3 doors down too.

Of course this has to be your thing. If it is, the hotel excels and you'll love it as much as I did. The only reason I haven't given the place 5stars is because in the context of Dubai, that's a big ask.

I doubt you'll regret booking, look out for the character doorman too, and tell him I said 'Hi'

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
6  Thank Moto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,175 - 1,181 of 2,762 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

I stayed here as a single female traveler for 2 nights whilst on my way to australia. Lovely hotel in a great location for you to use the big bus tourist tours. Staff were very helpfull and the room was very comfortable. The Sherlock Holmes bar is great for a few drinks and had some good live muic. I decided to treat myself to a treatment in the spa - worth doing if you have been walking around alot sight seeing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the side or back of the hotel on a floor above level 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Nice little place in Dubai that was reasonable. The Sherlock Holmes pub was a decent place to have a couple drinks too though I'm not sure the band was necessarey. Very accommodating/friendly staff. Was in and out of town quickly on the way back from meetings in Abu Dhabi and never got a chance to take up the "Spa" part of it. For shame.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Excellent hotel and well located for those who wish to explore the old part of the city. Very helpful staff, which helped greatly with places to visit. Our bedroom overlooked the city, but noise was not an issue.

Room Tip: We emailed the hotel beforehand, explaining we wished a quiet room and of our late arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alda18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Friendly staff and great location. I had to pay a little extra to get immediate access to the room but I was also able to access the Executive lounge as I was leaving so early the next morning. It was well worth it and I was given a beautiful room.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed twice during trip.Upgraded to Exec Room , but both standard and upgrade are great. Staff excellent.Free wifi. Breakfast ordinary. Open top bus just across the road. I wouldn't hesitate to go back

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LouisCypher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We regularly travel with Emirates between Australia and UK. This time we decided to break up our trip with a few nights in Dubai. The Arabian Courtyard ticked the boxes in terms of price, location away from the hustle of the big city, but without comprising on the essentials.

On arrival were handed a drink with a straw, which felt strange at first but welcoming and homely, this encapsulated this hotel to a tee.

The room we had looked out over the smallish pool and other rooftops (some in not good condition but nothing to do with the hotel), so our suggestion is to ask for a room facing the museum.

The room we had on the 4th floor was clean and spacious, without being over the top. A quick trip around the hotel show cased that's its clean and friendly with a light 70's feel (slightly dated but funky).

The pool area is small and the late October sun moves quickly into the shadows by 4pm so for the sun lovers make sure your down early. We spent some time at night in the Sherlock Homes English themed pub, which was great fun (bar the smokers), with good solid pub food.

The big bus stop is just across the road and is well worth a trip around the city, though you do need to change buses to another route around the more beachy areas (though in this case it was seamless transition). The museum is quirky but well worth a visit and the handy 24 hour shop just 20m to the left allows you to stock up on fruit, water and in my wife's case crisps!

In summary if your after a more low key Dubai experience, that is still within reach of the city lights or need a budget stopover that gives you a diverse experience of local community then this will suite you.

If your after a huge pool with glitch and glimmer then this is not for you.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the museum
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal Ascot Hotel
Royal Ascot Hotel
#63 of 556 in Dubai
1,495 reviews
0.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Downtown Dubai
1.0 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#43 of 556 in Dubai
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Savoy Suites Hotel Apartments
1.6 mi away
Flora Grand Hotel
Flora Grand Hotel
#117 of 556 in Dubai
2,192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Hotel Tower
Majestic Hotel Tower
#173 of 556 in Dubai
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa

Address: Al Fahidi Street | 19 Street, 32; Al Souq, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#86 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#92 Business Hotel in Dubai
#94 Family Hotel in Dubai
#128 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: £67 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa, is an Arabian Heritage themed hotel located at the heart of Bur Dubai, in Al Fahidi historical area opposite Dubai Museum. This themed hotel is an ideal location for business & Leisure trips, as it is ideally positioned for sightseeing, shopping and business. The spacious guest rooms are comfortable and decorated in an Arabian style. Rooms come with bottled mineral water and tea and coffee making facilities, guests can enjoy free WiFi in the entire hotel. The hotel offers a wide variety of dining options including the Sherlock Holmes English Pub, Pharaoh Cafe & Restaurant, Chinese Dynasty Restaurant and the Mumtaz Mahal Indian Restaurant, you will have a unique experience through some of the most delicious and mouth-watering recipes from all over the world. Make a tour around the Indian, Mediterranean, Egyptian, Chinese, Thai or International cuisine and become a gourmet with our specialties and signature dishes. The hotel is within walking distance of the Dubai Museum, Meena Bazaar, Al Bastakiya Quarter, Al Fahidi Metro Station and Dubai Creek. Dubai World Trade Centre and the city's famous Sheikh Zayed Road are just 3 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabian Courtyard Hotel And Spa
Courtyard Hotel Dubai
Arabian Courtyard Hotel Dubai
Courtyard Dubai
Dubai Courtyard
Arabian Courtyard Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing