We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa
Ranked #136 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Blackwood, Gwent
Level Contributor
236 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Had a two night stop over in Dubai at this hotel. The hotel is is very old fashioned , like something from a Agatha Christie novel . It is situated in the old part of Dubai, opposite the Dubai museum , a ten minute walk to the underground and five minutes to the creek where you can get the abra across to the gold souk. There is not much to do in this area at night as the local streets are home to all the non Arabs who work in Dubai. The hotel is directly opposite the mosque so you will be woken with the call to prayer in the early morning, this is not a bad thing as it is very soothing and you can always go back to sleep!
Lots of public areas with a coffee shop,and a locked luggage store. The Sherlock Holmes pub is a bit grim, like old UK pubs full of smokers and horrid 1970's cheap wine.
Overall a decent hotel but nowhere near the shiny malls or the beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshtyke01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,197
    1,134
    252
    74
    46
See reviews for
508
1,304
258
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Opposite the Dubai museum. Visit this while you wait for your room to be ready.. Very slow check in but this is a comfortable hotel with large rooms, and easy wifi. There is a waiting room for guests who have booked out and are awaiting pickups for evening flights. Big bus hop on and off stops beside the museum, but taxis are plentiful and quite cheap. Would definitely stay here again rather than at one of the newer flashier edifices towards or past jumeirah.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pittosporum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Very nice rooms, large and spacious. The entire hotel was spotless and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. More than I would usually spend for a hotel, but Dubai is expensive and this was comparatively good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeyjoejoeshabadooJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

The staff were friendly and accommodating
The room was adequate but it's not a great location.
The pool area is poor.
Try the Indian restaurant the food service and traditional Indian entertainment was top class.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PaulConny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meckenheim, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I Betr.: Arabian Courtyard Hotel and Spa in Bur Dubai, Al Fahidi Road

My wife and me, stayed from 14. 02. (in) until 23.02. ( out ) at the Arabian Courtyard interrupted only from 19. to 20. 02. for a short one day visit to Abu Dhabi.
We were thoroughly satisfied with our stay at Arabian Courtyard and Spa ( at first in room 308, later in room 515.).
Apart from the favorable location in the center of the old city of Bur Dubai ( in front of the old fort now beeing the Dubai Museum, 5-minutes walking distance to the Bur Dubai Souk ,to the Creek and the Bur Dubai Abra station , 10 minutes Walk to the Al Fahidi Metro station ) , the comfortable rooms and the really superb breakfasts it was above all the staff of the hotel that made us feel good its friendliness and helpfulness .When we came back from our short visit to Abu Dhabi, it was like coming home when we were greeted and welcomed back by the reception and all the other staff members we had dealt with in the first part of our stay. The service we enjoyed at Arabian Courtyard was outstanding and can outnumber lots of other hotels. It may be to a point unfair to all the unnamed others to single out only certain staff members . But, we feel that we should do this in case of the entire reception crew ( Hachouma, Pinky, Sai ) .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wwtraveller005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We had a short trip, our first and chose this hotel as wanted to get the local feel. It was very well placed to explore all that Dubai offers and we were very impressed with the service,locality and activities we selected. It was opposite the wonderful Dubai museum and closet to the markets and creek. Such fun. The hotel is dated but very clean and staff were very helpful all round. We were opposite the mosque but although the call to prayers could be heard it did not impact on sleep quality. We would choose this hotel again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mml46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Rooms are big. Bathrooms are tiny, really tiny. If you get floor 1, you'll not sleep because of the road noise, the late night noise from the bar directly below you, which in the morning is the breakfast area. This starts at 6:30am, but obviously the noise starts earlier, because of setting up.

We asked to change rooms. The front desk manager smiled and said he would ensure we were in a new, quiet room by 12:00 the next day. We packed and were ready and waiting. I went to reception and the lady on the desk said she new nothing about us moving, but promised we would have a new room by 4. Needless to say, at 4pm, nothing happened. I went back to reception and spoke to another person who said there were no rooms, but they would 'try' and get us a new room that day or tomorrow. I started shouting and suddenly, a room was given to us. We ended up in room 404. It was the same as previously mentioned, but quiet.

The guy that ran breakfast tried to sit us down on dirty tables, (previous occupants had left and their plates, cups, cutlery and crumbs/spillages were still there. He was outstandingly arrogant.

Overall, it's a busy, very old and tired hotel that needs refurbishment. The senior staff, (front desk and breakfast managers), were either rude, arrogant, liars or a combination there of.

Would I return? Not a chance.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Stegabyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HabibKhan, General Manager at Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
We are very sorry that your short stay with us was unpleasant and you had an ill experience. Generally, our associates both at the Front Desk as well as in the Restaurants are very accommodative and courteous. We often received great reviews specifically on staff friendliness. On this occasion, we obviously failed to meet up to your expectations.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused, however it was an isolated incident. Alas, how we wish to make it up to you, perhaps during your next trip. Meantime, I reckon words used to describe and characterize our associates are very harsh. They deserve better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dubai Airport
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Dubai Creek Hotel & Towers
1.6 mi away
Flora Grand Hotel
Flora Grand Hotel
#113 of 545 in Dubai
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#42 of 545 in Dubai
1,312 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel Apartments
3.3 mi away
Le Meridien Dubai Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa

Property: Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa
Address: Al Fahidi Street | 19 Street, 32; Al Souq, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#81 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#81 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#92 Business Hotel in Dubai
#94 Family Hotel in Dubai
#125 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arabian hospitality comes alive the moment you enter the portals and step into the distinctive lobby. Warmth meets efficiency as you are made to feel at home instantly. The heritage inspired ambience with cool stone and warm tones of rich wood, invites you to be part of it.Set in the historic heart of Dubai, a stone throw away from the Dubai Creek and the timeless Souk Al Kabeer (Meena Bazar), the award winning Arabian Courtyard Hotel and Spa is a true Arabian themed hotel. Next to Dubai Museum, Ruler’s Court and Diplomatic Enclave, having British Embassy, US and Saudi Consulates as neighbors, hotel and surrounding Bastakiya historic area is so rich in its heritage flavor and cultural elements, you could say it’s been a few centuries in the making.Arabian Courtyard Hotel and Spa is ideally located for all travelers, as it is a brisk stroll to the Metro station, textile and computer market and Bank Street. Dubai Trade Center and Burj Khalifa is a short drive from the hotel as is the fabled Gold Souk, Port Rashid and Dry Docks are all within easy reach. The Dubai International Airport is 6 kilometers away only. With 173 elegantly furnished rooms in traditional Arabic theme including 23 elegantly furnished suites and 41 executive rooms, our central hotel offers all the latest amenities for discerning travelers. A variety of dining and entertainment options as well as conference & banquet with the latest technology are on offer. Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa also offers a fully equipped health & recreation center as well as a Wellness Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Expedia, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabian Courtyard Hotel And Spa
Courtyard Hotel Dubai
Arabian Courtyard Hotel Dubai
Courtyard Dubai
Dubai Courtyard
Arabian Courtyard Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing