We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa
Ranked #139 of 546 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 27 March 2007

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Arabian Courtyard...this was my first trip to Dubai and from the minute we stepped out the Taxi at 2am the staff at the Arabian Courtyard really treated us like kings!

Check in was fast and friendly loved the fact that we were seated and given soft drinks, we were then taken to our room on the 8th floor overlooking the museum which was spotlessly clean and had everything that we could need. Room was serviced every day with fresh sheets and towels.

As neither me or my partner are beach lovers the location of the hotel was perfect for us, the pool although small was clean, taxis were available at all hours from outside the hotel and with it being across the road from the museum and just a couple of minutes from the abra station you never had to walk great distances to shopping or sightseeing.

I didnt eat in either the indian or silk route restautant but the food in the Sherlock holmes pub was good value for money and the service (as throughought the whole hotel) was exceptional.
To sum it up if you are looking for a hotel with character and great service in Dubai you will not be disappointed!

  • Liked — The service with a smile
  • Disliked — Had to leave to some home :)
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank phyl_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,205
    1,137
    253
    74
    46
See reviews for
511
1,309
259
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2007

Me and my friend returned from this hotel a week ago. The hotel itself was very nice I did`nt have any complaints about it. The restaurants were very good especially the indian restaurant called The Mumtaz, it had live classical music and dancers on Saturday nights.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful. There were tea and coffee facilities in your room and they left you some Oreo biscuits and bottled water each day as well. We found the breakfast buffet was good and catered for everyones tastes, we especially enjoyed the fresh omelettes that were cooked in front of you.

Our room was on the 2nd floor and we had a view of the muesuem, we could hear traffic noise but it was not really loud that we could not sleep. The pool was small but we did not use it we went to the beach instead. The hotel gives you beach packs to take to the beach which was very handy.

The only thing that I didnt like was probably the location. It was not on the nicer side of Dubai. Also because it was far from the beach or shopping districts we found that if we were trying to get a taxi back to our hotel after around 10.30pm alot of the drivers did not want to do the journey as it was quite far out and has alot of traffic in the area. The taxi drivers are normally finishing their shift and want to get home so one evening we had a real problem trying to get any taxi driver to take us back.

I would stay at this hotel again if I had to but would probably pick a different hotel because I would like to be in a more central location.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Neena5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2007

We stayed here for five nights and couldn't be happier. For us it was worth paying for an executive room for the free wireless internet, lovely breakfast (they actually know how to keep scrambled eggs moist!), free drinks at Happy Hour and a very attractively appointed lounge. Our room was delightful and overlooked the Museum. The staff are very efficient and friendly - a call to have a toilet fixed was responded to within 5 minutes! The bathroom is small but well maintained and the toiletries are generous. The only disappointment was that we would have liked more Arabic food such as hummous, kebabs and so on - the restaurants pride themselves on serving excellent international cuisine but we would have liked more traditional food. Be aware that this a Muslim country and you will not find bacon, ham or other pork products among the breakfast offerings. We agree with the comments from another reviewer about the tour desk advisor. The Big Bus tour is excellent value and includes admission to the museum and a dhow cruise, and it leaves from just across the road from the hotel. The abra station is a short walk away. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Liked — Friendly service in executive lounge, wireless internet
  • Disliked — Absence of traditional Arabic food in restaurants
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank amethyst2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2007

Stayed here for four nights from 9th Feb. Loved it. Great location overlooking the mosque, museum and creek in the old part of Dubai. Near to textile soukh and Abra station (great fun for 16pence!). Glad we were staying here rather than the Jumeira area which although has the beach and the malls close by seemed a bit too much of a construction site for us. Really clean, comfy room. We had an exec room. Wasnt huge but was fine for us. The exec floor is a bit of a gimmick. There is a room at the end of the floor that you can go to for buffet brekkie (ok but nothing special), free soft drinks and coffee all day and free drinks (certain whiskies, vodka, beer etc) for a hour or so before dinner. They have 2 computers you can use there for a small charge but the internet connection is very slow. Not sure I would bother paying the extra next time. The restaurants in the hotel were great, we used the Mumtaz (Indian) twice and it was fab, not expensive either. The sherlock homes pub has a happy hour and is a nice place to sit for a while. Staff very courteous although not always as helpful as they are trying to be. Woke us up in the middle of the night by mistake so delivered wine and snacks to our room the following afternoon. Taxi out to Jumeira area if you missed the courtesy bus is about £6. Would definately stay here again.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank daitours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2007

Just come back from 4 nights here, location excellent for seeing the city, staff very friendly and helpful, room was good size and quiet - the mosque was more 'backgound' than alarm clock. But the travel advisor in the lobby is to be used with caution, he charges different rates if he thinks he can get away with it and some trips really over the top - book meals at Burj al Arab indepently at half his price.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank ZJ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brum
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2007

I decided upon a stop over on the way back from business in Singapore, well if you’re in Dubai you might as well take a look see. Seeing as it was a single night and I wanted to take a look around I thought that the Arabian Courtyard looked to be in the perfect area for my needs. Having read some of the other reviews on this site I was a little dubious but booked anyway, what had I got to loose staying only one night?

I cant say what the place would be like for a long stay but if you’re doing a stop over or a short stay and want to take a quick look around as I did, the Arabian Courtyard it spot on. The location is excellent, the museum is across the road, which is also a stop for the site seeing tour bus which takes in a number of souks and all the big hotels. The rooms are clean, tidy and well appointed. As for the staff I have nothing but praise for there level of service. I only got to try the Mexican restaurant but I would recommend it and the bar serves Guinness which is welcome after two weeks of tiger beer!

This is a good four star hotel in a great location. Nuff said.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank Sewage68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2007

ok after reading mixed reviews,i decided to give the courtyard a shot,a nice hotel in the centre of bur dubai

stayed in the executive floor is when the issues arose

noisy,breakfast was terrible,the lounge was like a mortuary and not one bit welcoming,not the staff but the whole feel of the lounge,just too drary and dark for my liking,as we had access to complimentary drinks,we didnt use once as i found it depressing to go in there and this is what i said in my comments card and after speaking to many other guests,this was their impression also

there was a girl working in the lounge,Malinda and she was excellent and had a smile everytime you passed or used the net,she was the best thing that the lounge had to offer

for the net there is a charge of 20 dirham for 30 mins and 30 dirham for one hour,but this was so slow,it wasnt funny,i found the executive floor to be a bit of a joke really but heard nothing back from the manager.maybe in time i might get a response

the hotel is nice and has some great bars and restaurants but the one recommendation i would have is if you go there..dont stay in the executive lounge and get a room at the back as you are awake in the morning with prayers and traffic and horns beeping all over the place,not funny if you r looking for some sleep

wud i recommend a normal room in this hotel---YES as its in an excellent spot and clothes,etc are so cheap and the ladies can get stunning dresses made up for a fraction of the price

as for the area and position to the gold souk etc,its great and i will go back but i wud give one bit of advice and dont waste ur money on a executive room,its just a total waste of money,its like a ghost has taken over the spirit of the place and the managers just dont have a clue to perk it up a bit

  • Liked — the room was nice
  • Disliked — the lounge area or lack of
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank freesharo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dubai Airport
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Dubai Creek Hotel & Towers
1.6 mi away
Flora Grand Hotel
Flora Grand Hotel
#111 of 546 in Dubai
2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Le Meridien Dubai Hotel & Conference Centre
3.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sheikh Zayed Road, Dubai
0.8 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa

Property: Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa
Address: Al Fahidi Street | 19 Street, 32; Al Souq, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#81 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#82 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#92 Business Hotel in Dubai
#94 Family Hotel in Dubai
#125 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa, is an Arabian Heritage themed hotel located at the heart of Bur Dubai, in Al Fahidi historical area opposite Dubai Museum. This themed hotel is an ideal location for business & Leisure trips, as it is ideally positioned for sightseeing, shopping and business. The spacious guest rooms are comfortable and decorated in an Arabian style. Rooms come with bottled mineral water and tea and coffee making facilities, guests can enjoy free WiFi in the entire hotel. The hotel offers a wide variety of dining options including the Sherlock Holmes English Pub, Pharaoh Cafe & Restaurant, Chinese Dynasty Restaurant and the Mumtaz Mahal Indian Restaurant, you will have a unique experience through some of the most delicious and mouth-watering recipes from all over the world. Make a tour around the Indian, Mediterranean, Egyptian, Chinese, Thai or International cuisine and become a gourmet with our specialties and signature dishes. The hotel is within walking distance of the Dubai Museum, Meena Bazaar, Al Bastakiya Quarter, Al Fahidi Metro Station and Dubai Creek. Dubai World Trade Centre and the city's famous Sheikh Zayed Road are just 3 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabian Courtyard Hotel And Spa
Courtyard Hotel Dubai
Arabian Courtyard Hotel Dubai
Courtyard Dubai
Dubai Courtyard
Arabian Courtyard Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing