We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location for old dubai and textile souk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa
Ranked #174 of 568 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2007

Stayed at the Arabian Courtyard hotel for one week in mid-April. The hotel is conveniently located for the textile souk and is across the road from the Dubai Museum which is a must to visit. Also across the road is the dubai grand mosque - watch out for the early call to prayer at dawn (around 4.30am). You will need to take an abra (water taxi) to go to Deira where the spice souk and gold souk are. Taxis for Jumeirah and all other hotels in the city but they are cheap and plentiful.
The hotel has several restaurants - indian, mexican, thai, a pub. The Thai restaurant was great, pub average.
There is a small swimming pool. However, you will not get a quiet lie down as it is on the same level as the indian and thai restaurant - so you will have the food smells around you as well as the noise from some air conditioning units. If you need to go to the beach, there are transfers to Jumeirah beach offered by the hotel as well as a beach pack (basically a mat and towel in a large bag).
Our bedroom was very large and airy - with a mini bar, table and chairs, TV, control of all the utilities from a central point on one of the bedside tables (loved this - you can switch all the lights on and off, control the temperature of the room and use the alarm clock from one unit). We received complimentary bottles of water every day.
The hotel was very clean in all the public areas as well as the bedrooms. Staff were very friendly.
Clients staying on the executive floor have a complimentary breakfast and 2 free drinks in the bar during happy hour (from 6.30pm to 8.30pm). Breakfast included the usual hot and cold buffets and the not so usual beef bacon (no pork as it is a muslam country) and chicken sausages.
Overall, a good place to stay to explore Dubai.

Stayed: April 2007
4  Thank rotterdam0892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

2,433 - 2,439 of 2,862 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2007

We went to Dubai for our first wedding anniversary for six days

We were not fussed on a beach hotel as we wanted to see Dubai itself that’s why after reading reviews on this hotel on this website we thought to try it out.

Got to say the hotel is really nice. The receptionists are friendly, as it was our anniversary we were upgraded to a deluxe room for free with a museum view.
Even though the room was facing outside, we couldn’t hear any noise from the traffic or even we couldn’t hear the Azaan. They are polite and very helpful

The room was clean and a maid came everyday to make up our room which we were impressed with.

Breakfast was included in our package and s served from 7.30 to 10.30 and it has a large variety – buffet style.

The hotel also offers a coach service to Jumeirah beach free. It leaves the hotel at about 9.45 and picks you up from there at 1.15pm – which I would recommend as the taxi people charge a lot, a large amount of our cost went on taxi money, I would recommend hiring a car as Dubai isn’t that big and you get to know the streets really quickly

Overall, I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank far_786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2007

3 of us went to Dubai 8/3 to 16/3. I am a wheelchair user and found no reviews that were useful for me in choosing a hotel for this purpose so I decided on the Arabian Courtyard. The reviews were pretty good and it was reasonable.

It was advertised as wheelchair friendly and it was except for the bathroom. There was no shower just a bath with one (only) grabrail. This complys with the local regulations and they say allows the room to be classed as accessible. It certainly would not meet the European standard. As the bath was not suitable for me it was a week of me having to wash with a sponge etc....

on the whole;-
*reasonable and flexible as all 3 of us (girls) shared a room. One of the party left to embark on her Australia trip and they let us stay in the same room.
* Clean
* Great indian restrurant
* Breakfast included but room service b'fast was good & reasonable.
* Close to the textile markets
* Staff very helpful in securing taxis etc...assisting with the wheelchair
* Spa was superb
* Lobby coffee shop excellent for a tea/coffee/pastry & v good /plesant service.
* Opposite the Museum which was well worth a visit.

*noisy - we were over the indian restruant and indian music was audible until 3am!
* The restruant (not Thai or indian - the other one) eventhough was OK at breakfast was not good for dinner
* The computer time could have been more flexible -eg a charge per day rather than per hour as we did need to use, and were charged, up to three times a day
* Pool not accessible(3 steps up) and sporadic food service there eventhough there is a menu.
* Hairdresser (which I had to use due to lack of shower...) was expensive and suspiciously quiet.............

Overall it probably wasn't the best hotel for me as a wheelchair user but I do think it was good for the price. Some of the other hotels we visited felt like we were on a film set whereas there was an authenticity to the Arabian C.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank EtnaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2007

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Arabian Courtyard...this was my first trip to Dubai and from the minute we stepped out the Taxi at 2am the staff at the Arabian Courtyard really treated us like kings!

Check in was fast and friendly loved the fact that we were seated and given soft drinks, we were then taken to our room on the 8th floor overlooking the museum which was spotlessly clean and had everything that we could need. Room was serviced every day with fresh sheets and towels.

As neither me or my partner are beach lovers the location of the hotel was perfect for us, the pool although small was clean, taxis were available at all hours from outside the hotel and with it being across the road from the museum and just a couple of minutes from the abra station you never had to walk great distances to shopping or sightseeing.

I didnt eat in either the indian or silk route restautant but the food in the Sherlock holmes pub was good value for money and the service (as throughought the whole hotel) was exceptional.
To sum it up if you are looking for a hotel with character and great service in Dubai you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank phyl_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2007

Me and my friend returned from this hotel a week ago. The hotel itself was very nice I did`nt have any complaints about it. The restaurants were very good especially the indian restaurant called The Mumtaz, it had live classical music and dancers on Saturday nights.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful. There were tea and coffee facilities in your room and they left you some Oreo biscuits and bottled water each day as well. We found the breakfast buffet was good and catered for everyones tastes, we especially enjoyed the fresh omelettes that were cooked in front of you.

Our room was on the 2nd floor and we had a view of the muesuem, we could hear traffic noise but it was not really loud that we could not sleep. The pool was small but we did not use it we went to the beach instead. The hotel gives you beach packs to take to the beach which was very handy.

The only thing that I didnt like was probably the location. It was not on the nicer side of Dubai. Also because it was far from the beach or shopping districts we found that if we were trying to get a taxi back to our hotel after around 10.30pm alot of the drivers did not want to do the journey as it was quite far out and has alot of traffic in the area. The taxi drivers are normally finishing their shift and want to get home so one evening we had a real problem trying to get any taxi driver to take us back.

I would stay at this hotel again if I had to but would probably pick a different hotel because I would like to be in a more central location.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Neena5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2007

We stayed here for five nights and couldn't be happier. For us it was worth paying for an executive room for the free wireless internet, lovely breakfast (they actually know how to keep scrambled eggs moist!), free drinks at Happy Hour and a very attractively appointed lounge. Our room was delightful and overlooked the Museum. The staff are very efficient and friendly - a call to have a toilet fixed was responded to within 5 minutes! The bathroom is small but well maintained and the toiletries are generous. The only disappointment was that we would have liked more Arabic food such as hummous, kebabs and so on - the restaurants pride themselves on serving excellent international cuisine but we would have liked more traditional food. Be aware that this a Muslim country and you will not find bacon, ham or other pork products among the breakfast offerings. We agree with the comments from another reviewer about the tour desk advisor. The Big Bus tour is excellent value and includes admission to the museum and a dhow cruise, and it leaves from just across the road from the hotel. The abra station is a short walk away. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank amethyst2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2007

Stayed here for four nights from 9th Feb. Loved it. Great location overlooking the mosque, museum and creek in the old part of Dubai. Near to textile soukh and Abra station (great fun for 16pence!). Glad we were staying here rather than the Jumeira area which although has the beach and the malls close by seemed a bit too much of a construction site for us. Really clean, comfy room. We had an exec room. Wasnt huge but was fine for us. The exec floor is a bit of a gimmick. There is a room at the end of the floor that you can go to for buffet brekkie (ok but nothing special), free soft drinks and coffee all day and free drinks (certain whiskies, vodka, beer etc) for a hour or so before dinner. They have 2 computers you can use there for a small charge but the internet connection is very slow. Not sure I would bother paying the extra next time. The restaurants in the hotel were great, we used the Mumtaz (Indian) twice and it was fab, not expensive either. The sherlock homes pub has a happy hour and is a nice place to sit for a while. Staff very courteous although not always as helpful as they are trying to be. Woke us up in the middle of the night by mistake so delivered wine and snacks to our room the following afternoon. Taxi out to Jumeira area if you missed the courtesy bus is about £6. Would definately stay here again.

Stayed: February 2007
5  Thank daitours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.6 mi away
Savoy Suites Hotel Apartments
0.5 mi away
Royal Ascot Hotel
Royal Ascot Hotel
#58 of 568 in Dubai
1,673 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bur Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Downtown Dubai
0.9 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#54 of 568 in Dubai
1,662 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Hotel Tower
Majestic Hotel Tower
#217 of 568 in Dubai
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa

Address: Al Fahidi Street | 19 Street, 32; Al Souq, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Creek
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#81 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#88 Family Hotel in Dubai
#92 Business Hotel in Dubai
#101 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#151 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: £52 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa, is an Arabian Heritage themed hotel located at the heart of Bur Dubai, in Al Fahidi historical area opposite Dubai Museum. This themed hotel is an ideal location for business & Leisure trips, as it is ideally positioned for sightseeing, shopping and business. The spacious guest rooms are comfortable and decorated in an Arabian style. Rooms come with bottled mineral water and tea and coffee making facilities, guests can enjoy free WiFi in the entire hotel. The hotel offers a wide variety of dining options including the Sherlock Holmes English Pub, Pharaoh Cafe & Restaurant, Chinese Dynasty Restaurant and the Mumtaz Mahal Indian Restaurant, you will have a unique experience through some of the most delicious and mouth-watering recipes from all over the world. Make a tour around the Indian, Mediterranean, Egyptian, Chinese, Thai or International cuisine and become a gourmet with our specialties and signature dishes. The hotel is within walking distance of the Dubai Museum, Meena Bazaar, Al Bastakiya Quarter, Al Fahidi Metro Station and Dubai Creek. Dubai World Trade Centre and the city's famous Sheikh Zayed Road are just 3 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabian Courtyard Hotel And Spa
Courtyard Hotel Dubai
Arabian Courtyard Hotel Dubai
Courtyard Dubai
Dubai Courtyard
Arabian Courtyard Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing