We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like this hotel.. Sure i will stay again”
Review of Roda Al Murooj

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Roda Al Murooj
Ranked #107 of 556 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This was my second time to stay in this hptel. I really like it. The location is perfect its exactly opposite dubai mall walking distance. The reception is big. the rooms are excellent. First time i stayed at this hotel they upgarde me to a two room suite because two rooms woth connected door wasnt available that time, so they upgrade me, but next time it was available and it was almost like suite. The swiming pool is big and its clean. Breakfast buffet is big with lots of varieties, but the menu almost same everyday. Overall i love this hpyel and its nice for families

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yousif B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,789 - 1,795 of 2,319 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed here in June as 2 couples travelling on to Europe. A friendly greeting and a cool drink were offered before we began check in. The man at reception was very courteous and by the end of our stay even remembered our names. We stayed one night, then returned again in 2 nights time as we went over to Abu Dhabi. This hotel is opposite the Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa (just across the road), has amazing pools and bars. Wonderful staff and terrific rooms made our stay very enjoyable. We ate both breakfast and lunch in the hotel restaurant which both were delicious and had drinks at the English pub next door (it was ladies nights so drinks for us gals we free!). We had amazing views over the pool area. The rooms and whole hotel had great airconditioning which was appreciated considering it was 42 degrees. We loved our stay and totally recommend it to anyone wanting a great location. Cabs are available at the door (reliable cabs) and everyone is willing to assist. Dubai is an amazing place. Ask the concierge to arrange a cab for a personal tour or to join another tour. We will be back and this will always be our stop in Dubai. Thank you to the staff at Al Murooj Rotana for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neds0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

ideal location if you have something to do in JAFZ or DIC.
easy to get taxi, nice restaurants, it was busy in the evening we ddint get a table but its ok there a strip of restaurants outside the hotel ,great for walks beach is very close. you'll have always something to do after a boring business meeting.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misstag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I have tried to turn this into an ‘Al Murooj Rotana’ guide combined with general information about Dubai.

Arrival
Arrival at the hotel was fantastic with our doors being opened by the doormen and we were guided straight through to the check-in desk. We arrived by public taxi of which there are plenty waiting outside the airport. It cost around AED 40 – 50 whereas the hotels own service in their car cost AED 150.
Mr Khan on reception offered us the opportunity to upgrade from a King Classic to a Club Rotana Room. The advantages being sold to us as being able to use the Club Rotana Lounge on the 14th Floor (with free Internet Access, free drinks and afternoon snacks), a room on the higher floors with therefore better views and free transport back to the airport at the end of the stay. We were incorrectly told that we could take breakfast up there as well but this facility was not available during Ramadan.

Rooms
The room was fantastic, very clean with a huge king-sized bed and views over the swimming pool. There seemed like there was nobody else at all on our level as we never heard anybody and as such they were very quiet.
Safe, Ironing Boards, Clock Radio, 32” Flatscreen TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities, slipper and a dressing gown were among some of the amenities and in general this was a luxurious home from home.
The room was serviced twice daily including a ‘turn down’ service. The upgrade was AED 300 per night (£50 - £60) but I did manage to negotiate this down to AED 200 per night as it is evident that most things are negotiable. Before taking this offer, always think about how much alcohol or food you are likely to eat in the evenings and work out whether it is worth it, plus the cost of a taxi, which is no longer needed.

Hotel Car
We took the hotel car back but sadly were disappointed with this as the car was very hot as it had not been running and so the aircon was not up and running which made the journey unbearable for the first few miles. The car also had a bad aroma and was not clean. Please consider that public taxis are always running and therefore have aircon working all of the time.

Concierges
Mon and Carlo were two gents who always were polite and offered a friendly smile when they saw us coming. Both a credit to the hotel.

Food
We only ate out at the Pergolas restaurant where we had breakfast but that was very nice with a full range of cereals, English breakfast and continental food along with local delights such as curries or noodles.
This is a 5 star hotel and as such food was expensive so we ate out most nights at the Dubai Mall opposite where nearly every worldwide food chain you can imagine could be found, Indian, Chinese, Pizza Hut, Chilis, Outback Steakhouse etc. The Dubai Mall is a 5 minute walk or in the searing August heat (even at night) AED 10 for a taxi ride. It’s less than that price but 10 is the minimum fare.

Swimming Pools
We only found out on the last day that you can use any of the pools and used the one underneath the hotel all of the time. It would have been nice to have been told that by the pool boys at the beginning.
It was a bit of a pain to get to to be honest as you had to get a lift down to the Basement where the sports club was and then walk through the respective changing rooms (Male / Female) and then up a long flight of stairs to get to it.
The pool boys were great and always put your towels down for you.

Getting Around
We only ever took a taxi to the Mall as already mentioned and to the Atlantis Water Park, which cost AED 50 each direction. Don’t take the hotel taxi, just stand outside at the top of the ramp and wave a public one to come up. There is a taxi driving past all of the time so you will not wait long.

Atlantis Water Park
My wife is pregnant but there is no shaded area in the water that is easily accessible which I feel Atlantis have made a mistake by doing. It is simply too hot to sit in the shade so you can sit underneath the kids play area next to a slide as you can keep shaded and be in the water.
The rides were very good but there is not much to go on if you are pregnant so we did not stay at the park too long.

Ramadan
Between Sunrise and Sunset you are not allowed to eat, drink or even chew anything at all in public and there is nowhere to eat at the Dubai Mall either. Hotels do have screened off areas or you can get snacks after 3pm in the Club Rotana Lounge.
The hotel told me that the Ramadan rules applied at the Atlantis Water Park as well but sadly they told me this without even checking and therefore got it wrong as it seems the power of the tourist dollar is sufficient to waive the rules.

Clothing
I wore knee length shorts and flip flops each evening in the Mall and there were no questions asked. There were Western women walking around in shorter dresses, with small shoulder straps so I believe that Dubai may not be as strict as other UAE countries (but to be fair I’ve not been to any others).

Dubai Mall
Breathtaking and the Underwater Zoo and Aquarium are well worth the AED 50 each to see the additional bits that you cannot see from the outside.

In general, the hotel lived up to its 5* reputation but could improve with providing correct information, better access to the pool and the dreadful hotel car. If I were to go back to Dubai I would certainly recommend the Al Murooj Rotana but remember that it is more of a business hotel and therefore not on the beach.

Pregnancy Warning
If you are travelling with Emirates please be aware that they may not accept your doctors certificate even if it was acceptable to leave the UK. It cost us AED 820 (£140) to go to the hospital for an up to date certificate.

Room Tip: Try and negotiate for room upgrades. Ring the hotel to see if they are full before you arrive...help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Jazza37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I stayed for 3 nights at the Classic Room on May 2010. I was satisfied with the room amenities. The room is spacious. It has excellent location for business and leisure travelers. Also it is few minutes walking to Dubai Mall and to Downtown Burj Khalifa.

The pool area is magnificent. The whole complex is wonderful.
I tried breakfast and dinner at the main restaurant and it was great experience. I tried the lunch at the Indian Restaurant (Zaika) and basically it was excellent. Zaika is the best Indian cuisine in the city. The Double Decker bar is one of the main night spots in the city.

The rates are quite high but it deserves because of the many options and facilities. The hotel stuff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: High Floor room facing the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohi_Khater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The hotel consists of several buildings that include the hotel, apartments, suites and apartments.
We had a number of premium (308), with its own terrace. But after the first night, we changed the standard. The fact is that just below us is a bar, which worked until three o'clock in the morning, sleep is impossible. So we asked to higher and overpowered us on the 11th floor.

Hotel services at a level worthy breakfast. The room has everything, down to the ironing board with iron. Mini-bar was breaking from the proposed beverages. Prices naturally kus kus-(bank "Heineken" 0,33 l - 35 dirhams for the ruble, multiply by 7.7 and Pepsi - 18 dirhams).
On site are two swimming pools, the first depth of 1.55m, 1.80m second. The second pool must pass through the club of the hotel and very beautiful, green area. Swimming in the pool or sunbathing on a lounger not notice that you're practically in the heart of the metropolis.
Besides, the hotel has 4 restaurants (with the Lebanese, Indian, Latin cuisine) restaurant where breakfast and the evening themed dinner (250 dirhams) and the above mentioned bar, quite popular in Dubai, which has a large selection of draft beer.
In the opposite wing of the main entrance is a supermarket, exchange office and two cafes. In one of the few times we dined. The quality is good, prices are democratic (large pizza margarita - 31 dirhams).
Because our hotel is located in close proximity to Burj Dubai and Khalifa mall, we went several times to show the fountains (enchanting), rose twice to the observation deck at 124 Khalifa floor (tickets purchased in advance for 100 dirhams), and just strolling through the galleries the world's largest mall.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank irun_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHachem, Manager at Roda Al Murooj, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2011

Thank you very much for posting your review on TripAdvisor. Your detailed feedback of the hotel and it's services is very helpful for the hotel and it's team. This way we understand the expectations of our guests and we further understand where we can improve on services and facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Well when I decided to book a hotel i was of the opinion that i would be in a 5 star hotel but was not so. the dingy room I was given had cups that were not cleaned properly and had lipstick mark of someone who stayed there So it showed how much they care about cleanliness. There are no basic amenities like tooth brush, sleepers. The beds are small and you wont feel comfortable as your feet will be outside the beds.The room service comes after an hour and after you call them again and again.When leaving the hotel the potter threw our baggage with carelessness and broke my 300 $ sunglasses. This service i got after being an exclusive member just imagine and what happens for normal guys.save your nerves and money and do not stay here.

Room Tip: Never stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drjohnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHachem, Manager at Roda Al Murooj, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2011

We are sincerely sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have noted your comments and concerns and we are currently working on improving the points you mentioned. The services you experienced are certainly not reflecting of our usual standards and we are truly sorry for any inconvenience caused. Your comments are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
#18 of 556 in Dubai
650 reviews
The H Dubai
#19 of 556 in Dubai
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Dubai
#61 of 556 in Dubai
3,959 reviews
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roda Al Murooj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roda Al Murooj

Address: Al Safa Street, Dubai 117546, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#51 Family Hotel in Dubai
#74 Business Hotel in Dubai
#96 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: £108 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Roda Al Murooj 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star Roda Al Murooj Hotel is situated across from Dubai Mall and the famous Burj Khalifa. It features a lush garden with a large swimming pool and free WiFi in public areas. Dubai World Trade Centre is a 10-minute drive away. The luxurious accommodations offer views of the city or the lush courtyard gardens. Each one feature flat-screen TV, a sitting area and a working desk, minibar and tea/coffee facilities. The bathroom includes a hairdryer and complimentary toiletries. The hotel’s dining options include the award-winning Double Decker Pub and Pergolas the all-day- dining restaurant serving international dishes as well as Circle & City lobby cafes. 24 hour in-room dining is also available. Bodylines, the fitness centre, has a fully equipped gym, sauna, and a hot tub. Massage treatments can be booked at a surcharge. The complex also benefits from an on-site beauty salon, babysitting services, steam room and tennis courts. Roda Al Murooj Hotel is a 40-minute drive from Al Maktoum International Airport. The hotel is a 10-minute walk from Dubai Mall, Kidzania and the Dubai Aquarium & Underwater Zoo. Dubai International Airport is 20 minutes by car. Downtown Dubai is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping for clothes, luxury brand shopping and food. This property is also rated for the best value in Dubai! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roda Al Murooj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Murooj Rotana Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing