We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, but not for a family trip”
Review of Roda Al Murooj

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Roda Al Murooj
Ranked #84 of 542 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Celje, Slovenia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, but not for a family trip”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Hotel was big, shiny and beautiful, but had no personality. I stayed there with my family and for four persons we got a room with three beds (we had a reservatin for four). When we asked for extra bed, we would have to pay extra. Breakfast was awesome, anything you wished. In my opinion, hotel is perfect for business and people without children. But if you travel with kids, this hotel is certainly not a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Petra3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,153
    548
    132
    57
    32
See reviews for
606
538
103
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

my friend and i had a great holiday here recently. we stayed in the club rooms and enjoyed the facilities they had to offer. the food was excellant and the service was superb. the walk to the dubai mall was fine and not as scarey as some reviewers wrote! would def stay here again. thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: upgrade to club well worth the wee bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kinrosslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHachem, Manager at Roda Al Murooj, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
We very much appreciate your positing on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Murooj Rotana Dubai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santorini, Greece
Level Contributor
113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

we had a triple club room on the 11th floor (1147) with the club room you get transfer from teh airport and back. as soon as we arrived someone was there with a sign with my name everything went very smooth took us to the car and staight to the hotel. we did check in in the club lounge Anastasia was there very kindly arrange a nice room and finish all the paper work very quice.
breakfast was really nice also the afternoon tea and pre-dinner coctails the employs in the clun lounge (and all around the hotel) were great always smiling and ready to help . the pool is very nice (the residents pool is a little bit warmer) take towels from the hotels pool the residents pool have no towels. we had food by the hotel pool and was great (amazing burger and shrimps squer). the spa is good and the facial very nice .Everything was really good . To walk to the Mall is a little tricky (the people there drive like crazy!) but not that bad ... a good choise

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANGELA,GREECE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHachem, Manager at Roda Al Murooj, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
It was a pleasure reading your comments on TripAdvisor and we would like to thank you for your stay at the Al Murooj Rotana. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and our team members,in particular Anastasia, were friendly and efficient. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed at Al Murooj Rotana for business 4 nights in March plus an extra day as the flight for the US departs at midnight. Hotel is situated across from the Dubai Mall, which is within walking distance. The hotel is typical of large chain hotels: big rooms with no personality, lots of personnel. Chambermaids are trained to be helpful and polite, so you experience nighttime room service and small attentive gestures like changing the pillow case in my own tempurpedic pillow. In fact your stay improves because of the small gestures that some of the staff offer, as for instance, the ladies that work in the small coffee shop in the lobby.
Strangely enough this attentiveness is not shared by the staff who order taxis and arrange for transportation or by the receptionists.
Upon check-out I asked whether I would be given the opportunity to commend some of these individuals and was told that i would receive a survey email. This never happened. That is a great pity and reinforces my feeling that the hotel is not particularly interested in recognizing individual efforts.

The hotel has smoking rooms and i was given one for my first night there as they were fully booked....this is, as always, a terrible experience.
The view is insignificant: either a large sandy plain where construction is soon to begin or the hotel's own pools. This is most definitely an inner city hotel.
The gym is adequate but opens at 6 am and closes at 10 pm, which can be constraining if you are there on business.
The newspapers offered are only local but there is some choice for TV channels. There is also complimentary water in the rooms and coffee/tea pot.
However, internet is not free.
There is an organic super market in Dubai mall that carries lactose-free milk, gluten-free foods, etc.
The hotel is not near any other attraction than the Mall so all transportation is done by cab (the city has a rudimentary light rail system).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlingtonian2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHachem, Manager at Roda Al Murooj, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you very much for making the time to provide us with such detailed feedback.We have noted your comments in regards to the services as well as the shortfalls and we shall address them to ensure guests stays are memorable and comfortable at the same time. It may be interest to you to know that the gym is open from 6 am to midnight. On a separte note, you should have been sent an automated guest questionnaire and we are truly sorry that this did not happen. With this in mind we would very much like to hear from you in more details and would appreciate if you could contact us on almurooj.hotel@rotana.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nr ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

stayed overnight in this hotel ... after booking a double room i was told i had only paid for one person to stay. Now it stated that the price was per room, i was mortified as others looked on. I have read that they did this with another customer. I wrote to the company i booked it through 3 times with no reply!! what was booked as a treat and surprise was ruined by this approach that was neither explained nor sorted. we were given a lovely room with a balcony and hot tub, and i was getting all excited - thinking the embarrassment had been worth it .... only to find out the hot tub was actually broken!! A second let down, i think as the hotel wasnt full they would have been better not using this room until the problem was sorted. A long walk to actually get to the pool and not so sure it was worth it. Overall wasnt what i expected from a 5* hotel, think the initial check in just spoiled the occasion. checkout was pleasantly and quickly handled. we did pay the extra for club service and would recommend this as it was money well spent.

On a POSITIVE note we went to the fish night in the restaurant and this was one of the highlights of our trip in Dubai.

Stayed in a cheaper hotel for the rest of our stay in Dubai and actually felt we got better treatment, despite the fact we didnt get turn down - we coped very well.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shopperdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHachem, Manager at Roda Al Murooj, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your concerns following your stay with us. We noted your comment in regards to the reservations process as well as the check in and the allocated room.
Please do accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused during the check in process and the allocated room. We have arranged for the required retraining and actions to be taken to prevent reoccurances. Further, please rest assured your feedback has been addressed with all concerned Departments. Once again, we are truly sorry not being able to meet with your expectations. We would very much appreciate a future opportunity to regain your confidence in our services and facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had a wonderful time in the Al Murooj - for 3 nights and then 2 nights travelling to and from Australia. It was a perfect place to break the journey. The staff were unfailingly helpful and appeared to do so without any desire for remuneration. Our bags were whisked from taxi to bedroom without hassle. The rooms were excellent - and good. The first room we had was overlooking the pool, witha view of the Burj Khalifa. It was a delight to wake up in the morning and see the view. The second room (for 2 nights) overlooked a building site and a six lane freeway - not so pleasant! However, it was for a short time - and we were so pleased to get early entry - at 7-00am - so we understood the choice.
Breakfasts were first class with a large, tasty choice. I particularly liked the fruit selection. We ate outside, overlooking the pool and were well supplied with tea and coffee by attentive staff.
We ate in the hotel restaurant and, while not unduly cheap, it represented reasonable value for money - and very well prepared and presented.
We sat by the pool on several occasions and were well looked after by the pool staff - and the cafe attendant. The only negative point was that, at the slightest breath of wind, the pool attendants rushed to collapse the umbrellas - which were really needed for shad ein the firece sunshine. The hotel is excellently placed to visit the 1200 shop Dubai Mall - and the Burj Khalifa - although getting over the six lane road is a bit scarey - and pavements oten non-existent. I believe that a better solution is under way - and it can't come soon enough.The hotel is well served by taxis- although do be aware that using the 'hotel' taxi does cost a bit more.
A lovely, well appointed place with friendly staff- and helpful concierges.

Room Tip: The higher up you are, the better the view. Try to avoid a room overlooking the building site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NB2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHachem, Manager at Roda Al Murooj, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Al Murooj Rotana during your visit to Dubai. We greatly appreciate your feedback in regards to the location, breakfast as well as the helpfulness of our Team Members. Your comments have been noted and shared with the Team here at the hotel.
It would be our pleasure to be of service to you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Just got back from an 8 day stay in Dubai at the Al Murooj Rotana. I only have positive things to say about this establishment. I stayed in the Club Rotana rooms and was impressed by the attention to details. Everyone referred to me by name and the staff are just world class. Used the Club Rotana lounge for refreshments and Pergolas for breakfast which was just amazing. They also had an excellent dinner buffet. The location is excellent if you like shopping as its opposite the Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa. Cant wait to book another stay with this hotel.

Room Tip: Book Club Rotana for free breakfast buffet at Pergolas restaurant in the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manyce400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHachem, Manager at Roda Al Murooj, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thank you very much for your posting on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure for us to know you have enjoyed your eight days at the Al Murooj Rotana. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
#72 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Rove Downtown
#39 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dusit Thani Dubai
#69 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Villa Rotana - Dubai
#79 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Taj Dubai
#13 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roda Al Murooj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roda Al Murooj

Property: Roda Al Murooj
Address: Al Safa Street, Dubai 117546, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#51 Family Hotel in Dubai
#74 Business Hotel in Dubai
#79 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Roda Al Murooj 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star Roda Al Murooj Hotel is situated across from Dubai Mall and the famous Burj Khalifa. It features a lush garden with a large swimming pool and free WiFi in public areas. Dubai World Trade Centre is a 10-minute drive away. The luxurious accommodations offer views of the city or the lush courtyard gardens. Each one feature flat-screen TV, a sitting area and a working desk, minibar and tea/coffee facilities. The bathroom includes a hairdryer and complimentary toiletries. The hotel’s dining options include the award-winning Double Decker Pub and Pergolas the all-day- dining restaurant serving international dishes as well as Circle & City lobby cafes. 24 hour in-room dining is also available. Bodylines, the fitness centre, has a fully equipped gym, sauna, and a hot tub. Massage treatments can be booked at a surcharge. The complex also benefits from an on-site beauty salon, babysitting services, steam room and tennis courts. Roda Al Murooj Hotel is a 40-minute drive from Al Maktoum International Airport. The hotel is a 10-minute walk from Dubai Mall, Kidzania and the Dubai Aquarium & Underwater Zoo. Dubai International Airport is 20 minutes by car. Downtown Dubai is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping for clothes, luxury brand shopping and food. This property is also rated for the best value in Dubai! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roda Al Murooj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Murooj Rotana Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing