We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palm Tree Court - Almost as good as the reviews”
Review of JA Palm Tree Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JA Palm Tree Court
Ranked #27 of 564 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We've just come back from a 2 week stay. We had booked half board so got an automatic upgrade to "All Yours Inclusive" for free - basically free breakfast/lunch/dinner, soft drinks all day, ice cream for kids all day, then free draught/bottled beer (Magners/ Kronenbourg/ Amstel / Guinness/Kilkenny/ Heineken to name a few - differs at each bar/restaurant) and wine (from a reasonable selection) between 6pm and 10pm (staff happy to point out you could order as much as you wanted to to stock up before cut off if you really wanted too- although a hangover in that heat not recommended!).

It took about 40 mins to get from the Airport to the hotel which wasn't too bad . We wanted a beach holiday, if we wanted the sights we would probably stay closer next time, but IBN Battuta Mall was only 20 mins by courtesy coach and another 15 mins for Mall of Emirates.

The main hotel with its 3 restaurants and a bar is closed until January but all the pools and leisure facilities remain open. All those that booked into Jebel were moved across to PTC, so although breakfast was a bit busy at times, never once did it feel over crowded, in fact quite the opposite, the number of spare sunbeds around the pools and beach and grounds was amazing.

For lunch you could eat in Fontana/Sports Cafe/Captains Bar and have anything off the menu. For the evenings most people seemed to eat in the Fontana buffet restaurant which had a different themed night each night. Food was generally ok there but as you got AED160 allowance per person for evening meals to eat elsewhere, we tended to eat in the Sports Cafe and Shooters which were far better, quieter and looked more upmarket as the Fontana had a "big cafe feel". A bit of a trek to each of these but there are free golf buggy rides available to the Cafe and a shuttle bus across to Shooters every 30 mins (5 min journey).

You still have to sign for meals even if on AYI - a Service charge of 10% is automaticllay included so tipping not generally expected but we did leave extra where really good and left money for room, kids club staff and caddies. AYI seemed to be very good value as on one meal alone for the 4 of us including one bottle of wine and a few beers it came to £150

PTC rooms are very spacious. We had a double double (so about 8ft wide), our eldest daughter a double sofa bed and youngest daughter a single bed (both up permanently), and still plenty of room.

Staff are fantastic, always smiling, always willing to help and very good with the kids.

We have an 8 yr old and 10yr old, both loved the kids club and decided to eat down there most nights whilst watching a film, we had to drag them away so we could get to spend some time with them ! (Rest of the day they lived in the Pool, surprised they haven't grown gills!!) The Peaco club appeared under used as on a number of times there would be just our kids there and 4 staff so they were well and truly spoilt for attention

Some good activities available for all - eldest went horse riding (1 hr for AED200) . This was a 121 trek around the desert area, thoroughly enjoyed. Banana boat rides were free, Scuba club just launched so we all got to have a go for free, Shooting Club (Pistol shooting (AED 95 for 25 rounds) - scary but good fun, nothing like as easy as it looks on tv ! There's a small gym, badminton, tennis, table tennis, air hockey, table football, squash. 9 hole golf for those keen in that heat. Spa facilities available too.

Due to youngest getting travel sick, excursions off site were curtailed. I had a half day trip to see a bit of the city, creek, souks, museums which only cost AED135 ie less than a one way taxi fare, a bargain with Arabian Adventures arranged in reception. Also had trip to Mall for supermarket stocks (Geant at Battuta and Carrefour at MoE)

Gold souk was scary - went to look for some ear rings for the wife, misread label to find out first starting price was AED24,000 ie £4000 !! One way to get the price down is to look stunned say you want something far cheaper ( I really do love my wife but £4k... !) and then cheaper still....the price eventually came down to £1250, so whilst I was pleased with my bartering skills decided to refer back to the other half first ! (Wife confirmed she would never have worn them at that price in case she lost one).

Heat - there's a lot of it. I hadn't truly realised how hot it would be. Within minutes of going out of the rooms we were pretty much drenched in sweat, so drank lots and lots and lots of water. To be honest I spent 90% of my time in the shade but the wife and kids ( bottles of Factor 50) loved it.

Overall - Would we go back - YES!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,686 - 2,692 of 3,301 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2009

Having visited the resort a couple of times before for the day with friends we had some idea of what we could expect. However, we were more than satisfied with the level of service we received. The suite at PTC was more than spacious, the only down side being that block 6 was the furthest away from the main part of PTC. This was overcome by the use of the willingness of the concierge service to provide a buggy service to and from the Club Joumana whenever requested and it was never more than a ten minute wait.

This proved to be one of the main attractions for our 5 year old son. The welcome at the Club was tremendous and came as a welcome departure to the buffet style of the Fontana on occasions, negating the occasional wait to be seated for meals and when trying to appease fussy eating habits of youngsters. Thanks to Mr V. George and his team!

Overall a highly recommended location. Yes, the distance out of the real Dubai is a bit of a drag with the courtesy bus only going as far as Mall of the Emirates, but the advent of the metro system will more than compensate when a foray into the Souks is on the cards (and recommended for the true bargains). The price of a beer is steep but can be softened by the happy hours at the Captain's Bar and the sports club - and picking up duty free as you collect your luggage at the airport as suggested by others.

Our son wants to go back, I hope we can save up enough in the next couple of years to do it again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tommow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

the palm tree was perfect.no faults at all service and people very friendly.rooms lovely an clean.fresh fruit every day.cleaned your rooms twice a day.turned down your bed gave you bottled water every night.seaview room.burj al arab for tea it was lovely would recommend it.great service, views, lovely food.great experencemust have a booking to get passed the barrier.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lybrann8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We first stayed at the PTC in 2003 and decided to return again after having tried quite a few other hotels in Dubai. The hotel has not changed much since our last visit and the rooms are still excellent and it was nice to have a room it's size.
The PTC is quite busy as the JA Golf resort is closed for refurbishment and all their guests are being given rooms at PTC.
We arrived at check in around 12 noon and it was fast and efficient with cold drink supplied
Our room number 476 was on the ground floor and as such we had a wonderful patio area and the sun loungers are still great and very thick, these are removed and stowed away each night and returned again in the morning The room also had a welcome fruit pack and a bottle of wine, fruit. Breakfast in the buffet restaurant was good with no queus to speak of but if you arrived around 09.00 it was a bit busier then. It was a different matter at night when it did get quite hectic but we never had to wait any more than 5 minutes to be seated, again this is dute to the Golf resrt being shut. The hotel I believe should have a more stricter dress policy at night in the buffet restaurant as it seemed to be anything goes ( even saw some with vest tops and beach shorts). The buffet itself had an excellent choice and each night was a different theme, ranging from Asian Indian Italian etc. The other restaurants were a lot more stricter and did enforce their policy of smart casuual attire, Shooters once again provided us with an excellent meal.
6 of us went over for a round of clay and pistol shooting and a meal afterwards. An allowance of 160 dirhams pp is given to anyone not eating their meal at the buffet and this brings the cost of the meals down.
The poolside was quite busy but the grassed area and the beach was almost deserted,we later discovered that the Golf resort pool and grounds were still open and sunbeds were more than plentiful in this area.
The rooms were well serviced by the staff and on the evening turn down (around 7pm) the ice bucket was filled as well.
The new monorail is being built at present as is an extension to the hotel but there was NO noise coming from any of it, in fact the peacocks were noiser. The price of beer is on par with most other hotels in Dubai.
The only fault with it is the location as it is very far out but the shuttle bus helps solve that problem and really if anyone does complain about how far out it is then they should do their homework first.
On or last day we did have a bit of a glitch, we wer getting picked up at 06.45 and went for breakfast at 06.00 as per hotels advertised opening time. The breakfast food was all out and ready except that the omelette chef decided he did not start till 06.30 I wonder who boiled the eggs and made all the other food then but I would not let this put me off in any way.
To sum up I would go back tomorrow, loved the rooms, enjoyed the quitness and even more the ample area of the grounds and in fact this hotel does give excellent value for money.
For anyone going here a tip might be to fly with Etihad to Abu Dhabi as it could work out cheaper and is maybe slightly nearer than it is to Dubai.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gibby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Whatever I write as part of this review will not go anyway to convey just how fantastic our holiday at Palm Tree Court was. However, I shall try and segment the elements which when brought together added up to the best holiday experience we have ever had :
Service - What a team, how friendly, from the concierge, the reception team, the waiting staff, chefs, life guards, beach staff - even the managers!! A special word for the house boys- you guy's are stars!
Food - steaks, prawns, currys, pasta, salads - prepare to be seriously impressed!
Comfort - huge rooms, loads of space, great bathrooms
Beach and Pool - space space space, comfort, immaculate pools/beach/gardens
Aqua hut - a little more sedate... sailing was never ready for us, but I didnt care. A Hobie cat, a steady breeze, 32oC water.. all is well inthe world!
Gardens - prepare to be impressed, very impressed - Peacocks everywhere, complete with chicks.....
The Negative? - 36 UED for a pint!!

Perhaps one other weakness is that I want to book for 2010 now - but can't seem to find a way of doing it!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beckinhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

To rate something perfect is to perhaps be gushing sentimental and still caught up in the memories of a great holiday. Not the case. We have stayed here twice now, since our previous favorite - Oasis Bach Hotel - was demolished. I can think long and hard and find only one or two minor things to chip this hotel on. An Ice machine in each block of rooms would be great, as you must rely on ice arriving in your room (which it does), but at maybe the wrong time. Er, thats it. The location is miles from anywhere, but to me thats its advantage. You arrive here, and don't need to go anywhere else. The Palm Tree Court is part of the Jebel Ali Hotel adjoining, and you can share the facilities. The restaurants are tremendous with frist class food, even on the buffets. You can see the thought and expertise thats gone into the grub, with a massive variety. The rooms are VERY big, with lovely bathrooms comprising seperate shower, two basins, bidet, even a complimentary yellow duck to float in the bath! The grounds are beautifully kept with fish feeding in streams, wooden bridges and peacocks roaming freely. There is loads of space to sunbathe, by the pool, on a huge grass area towards the sea, or on the beach itself. The staff bar none are terrific and cannot do enough to help. This is a well run place and you can tell. We paid €1000 for four nights with Orbitz half board. REAL half board not benidorm half board, so per night in Sterling it was £160 per couple. Thats real value considering the place and the fact it is one of the 'Leading Hotels Of The World'. I would stay here time and time again, try to get a front row room, sea facing for a bit extra. Little tip. Alcohol is EXPENSIVE. You can run up easy £100 a day just having a couple of beers through the day. A pint IS £6.00 / $10 US. Stick a couple of bottle of wine in you suitcase and buy a bottle of Vodka from Arrivals Duty Free. Bingo. Drinks in your room before dinner for a fraction of what room service would charge. The alcohol thing is not the hotels fault of course, its expensive anywhere in the Gulf (when you can get it). Stay here unreservedly, if you don't like it you are just a habitual moaner or from another universe. Love it, Love it, Love it!

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tonyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

This is a part of the Jebel Ali Hotel resort. A wonderful beachfront setting, very slightly marred by distant construction work on The Palm Jebel Ali.

We checked in mid-afternoon on 06 July 2009 for one night, and upgraded to a Royal Jasmine Junior Suite for AED 300 (about USD 80), a no-brainer considering the benefits, which included free internet, complimentary bottle of wine, breakfast, private lounge, mineral bath or massage, plus numerous upgraded room facilities.

I had phoned the day previously to confirm our requirement for a twin bedded room and was assured that this was guaranteed. Once in our room we discovered a king bed, but housekeeping quickly converted this to two singles; the one drawback was that the double duvet was replaced by blankets and sheets, much to our dislike. The room was spacious, well equipped and opened onto a private veranda with direct beach access.

We spent the remainder of the afternoon at the nearest pool, a short walk away. The pool design was attractive, but to our dislike there was no shower under which to rinse before entering the pool.

We dined that evening at Shooter’s, located about 4km away at the Jebel Ali International Shooting Club. The resort has a complimentary shuttle running every 30 minutes. The steaks were excellent, but the ambience is somewhat lacking, and the service was overly attentive and too chatty.

For breakfast we took room service – promptly delivered and of very acceptable quality.

Check-out was efficient. It was really a pity to stay for only one night; it was just not possible to get more than a taste of what this resort has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrozenBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Rixos The Palm Dubai
#26 of 564 in Dubai
3,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
#64 of 564 in Dubai
5,557 reviews
The Marina
JA Ocean View Hotel
JA Ocean View Hotel
#62 of 564 in Dubai
5,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JA Palm Tree Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JA Palm Tree Court

Address: Tariq Bin Ziyad Rd | PO Box 9255, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dubai
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#21 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#21 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#25 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#113 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: £133 - £570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JA Palm Tree Court 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Palm Tree Court & Spa is situated within the award-winning Jebel Ali Golf Resort & Spa. A stunning palm-lined private beach and three swimming pools are just steps away from the suites and junior suites, surrounded by lush gardens, waterfalls and fish-filled streams. A championship 9-hole golf course, academy, spa, restaurants, bars, kids club, deep-sea fishing trips and horse riding can also be enjoyed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travelbag, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your JA Palm Tree Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jebel Ali Palm Tree Court And Spa
Jebel Ali Palm Tree Court Hotel Dubai
Palm Tree Court Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing