We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something different in Dubai” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orient Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orient Guest House
Ranked #2 of 63 Dubai B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Something different in Dubai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great when looking for something other than a hotel in Dubai. The Guest House is located in a cool part of Old Dubai and close to the water and is quiet. The staff were friendly, although they wouldn't let us check in early without paying an extra 150 AED (40 USD) even though there appeared to be only one or two other guests in the whole place and we were checking out at 6am the next day.

They could do a better job of accommodating the guests that do choose to stay at the Guest House, but overall I'd recommend this over one of the many standard same-same hotels in Dubai.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are very private and you will have direct access to the rooftop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    71
    35
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
107
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently for 3 nights. On arrival we opted for an early check in and were able to choose a room due to a number available. Opting for one on the upper floor we more or less had the upper terrace to ourselves as all other guests seemed to be in ground floor rooms. The room itself was spacious, well air conditioned and with a large modernized bathroom. Some of the furniture and fittings were a bit tired but they all worked and were comfortable.

Breakfast is plentiful and served in the main courtyard after you have made your choices the nights before. Staff are pretty friendly and offer good customer service with the night staff seemingly being more helpful especially when needing help to find taxis and get things done.

The guest house doesn't have a pool/spa but you are able to use one at the sister hotel less than 10 minutes walk away opposite the Dubai Museum, which is worth a visit. In front of the guest house is a great little tea house which has a refreshing mint and lime juice on the menu as well as some tasty lunches. Next to that a cafe that specializing in dishes with camel meat - we tried the house special and really enjoyed it, though portions are very large so take your appetite.

Taxis can be easily caught from outside and the hop on, hop off tourist bus stops outside the Dubai Museum around the corner. About 25AED to the Dubai Mall and 45AED to the Mall of the Emirates.

We had one issue when on the last evening before a very late check due to a 2am flight out, our air con started leaking with water going everywhere and became unusable. The night butler was happy to move us straight away to another room so we could shower, change and pack our bags before leaving for our flight.

A charming place to stay in the throng of old Dubai. Much cheaper than the high rise luxury hotels. Will be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: We saw 3 rooms and opted for one upstairs as there was a nice terrace for sitting on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank zuzahandbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindyLou105
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had four nights in the Orient Guest House in early May. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room, although a little dark was very traditional and a welcome change to the normal high rise hotels in Dubai. The bathroo was stocked with shampoo, conditioner, soap and body lotion all in very pretty bottled. The bathroom was adequate and this is a heritage building so do not expect five star luxury.

Our taxi driver was unsure where the guest house was located but thankfully the directions of Opposite the Al Fahidi Post Office was very helpful - incidentally the cab driver that picked us up had no problem finding us. The hotel is in a pedestrianised area and an easy walk to the textile souk and the abra station where you can go across the river for 1 dirham - great fun. The breakfast in the hotel was very good - a good selection of cereals, fruit juice, fruit, yogurts, croissants and arabian foods along with a hot breakfast that was different each day. It was very pleasant having breakfast out in the courtyard.

We had a couple of meals at the sister hotel, Arabian Courtyard, which was close by and also took advantage of the shuttle to the beach along with the beach pack which was free which consisted of a towel and beach mat. There is also a small pool at the Arabian that you can also use.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindyLou105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in February and enjoyed our visit. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was good.
Our room was large and comfortable and opened onto the courtyard where breakfast was served.
The bathroom provided very nice toiletries although the bathroom fittings were rather old and on the first night the toilet wouldn't flush properly.
I would recommend this hotel as it is a very pleasant change from all the modern hotels in the rest of Dubai

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Located conveniently in the rebuilt part of old Dubai known as the Bastakiya, the Orient Guest House allows you to experience the arab villa experience. Yet it also offers many of the services of a larger hotel (pool, spa, shuttles, concierge, tours, etc) thanks to its affiliation with the Arabian Courtyard Hotel, which is just a short stroll down the street. Behind sandstone walls, bedrooms open onto one of 2 courtyards and an upstairs roof terrace. All allow you to hear the call to prayer from the nearby mosques. Rooms are dark, yet have ample lighting; they are clean and have A/C. The abundant and diverse breakfast is served either to-order (placed the night before) or when more fully booked, buffet-style. The service is personal and welcoming.

One improvement that I would suggest is to update the courtyard artwork and seating to be more comfortable, similar to neighbor XVA B&B/cafe, which I also recommend for a delicious breakfast or lunch.

The art galleries and small museums are wonderful to meander to down the walled walkways of the Bastakiya. The Guest house is also easy walking distance to the souks, abra station, Dubai Museum and the efficient, safe and clean metro. For those seeking an authentic immersion at a very good value, I highly recommend staying at the Orient Guest House.

Room Tip: Loved Room 2A, which is off the courtyard where they do NOT serve breakfast. If you don't mind s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank activechica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights as a stopover in this Guesthouse. The rooms are very nice with big soft beds and a bathroom filled with nice soaps and shampoos. The staff is friendly and at your service 24/7.
Location wise its close to the airport, old town and metro station.
The included breakfast is big and good.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ItsSuuS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stylish, tastefully-decorated rooms and a quiet, comfortable central courtyard make this a relaxing place to start and end your day in Dubai. The Bastakiya location is perfect, unless hitting the malls is your thing. Beautiful strolls around the re-built "old town", 3 minutes to the Dubai museum, with easy walks to the creek, the souks, lots of local and south Asian/Mediterranean restaurants, and the metro. The room was clean, and, importantly, cool. The staff was helpful, if not overly attentive, and responded promptly to all of my requests. So many residences in Dubai are luxury high rise hotels...this is a welcome change of pace. Unless I have a particular business reason to stay some place else, this will be my go-to spot in Dubai, and when I visit on tourism, I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dc3chuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Creek
Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa
The Creek
Gateway Hotel
Gateway Hotel
#224 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
J5 Rimal
#34 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Sea View Hotel
#63 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 544 in Dubai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Guest House

Property: Orient Guest House
Address: Al Fahidi St | Bastakiya Heritage Area, Dubai 46500, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Orient Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Orient Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orient Guest House Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing