We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Oasis in the Desert” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manzil Downtown Dubai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manzil Downtown Dubai
Ranked #27 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Oasis in the Desert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We had 4 days in the U.A.E. before our cruise to Rome on Oceania. I wanted a place with some local character rather than one of the high rise beach hotels. The Al Manzil appeared to fill the bill, especially with their Burj View Suites. It was perfect! We sat on our balcony at night and watched the Water Show behind the Souk al Bahar at the base of the Burj Kalifa with its own light show complementing the Water Show. The Hotel was small enough to offer some personal service, too. Especially the Front Office Manager, Mr. Mohammad Khan. My wife's arm was swelling up as a result of a pneumonia vaccine she got just before we left home. Mr. Khan was very concerned and offered to either transport my wife to a doctor or call one to the hotel. Fortunately, this did not become necessary, but Mr. Khan's concern was quite comforting to both of us. The remainder of the staff, especially the concierge desk, were very helpful in booking some desert adventures and they recommended buying our Top of the World tickets to the top of the world's tallest building on the the internet, to avoid unnecessary fees. The Bar at the Hotel featured the Australia-South Africa-New Zealand Rugby Union with "down under" beers, drinks and bartenders, too. HOT TIP for the UAE: Buy your alcohol at the Airport before you head into town - outside Hotels and Restaurants, alcohol is not available to tourists in any form.

Room Tip: Pay the price for a Burj View suite - not only is the room large, the evening view of the Burj Kalif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amb_on_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan V, General Manager at Manzil Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear amb_on_MI

Thanks for taking the time to offer your feedback on your stay with us.
Our hotel certainly does boast local character and charm with careful attention paid to the Arabesque appeal and balance between contemporary and traditional.

Your suggestion on the room was spot on as the Burj View rooms usually are the most popular for guests wanting that very 'Dubai' skyline view.
I appreciate you highlighting the efforts of Mr Khan and I will be sure to pass on your gratitude and kind words. I will do the same to our concierge team who are all very passionate about their city and our hotel and go beyond the call of duty of make our guests stay unforgettable.

Good tip on the alcohol - many people query the availability and sale of it in the city and I'm sure they will appreciate your advice.

Kind regards

Stefan Viard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,517
    413
    65
    20
    8
See reviews for
278
802
205
469
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stayed at Al Manzil for 2 nights and it was great stay; I was upgraded to a Burj View room. The hotel is within a walking distance to Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa.
The room is quite big and well equipped. The two things I liked most were the open bath tub in the middle of e room (yeah a bit weird but nice) and the Nespresso machine.
I skipped breakfast but had lunch buffet and small eats and they were great.
I highly recommend this place especially if you are visiting for business around Emmar square or shopping in Dubai mall.

Room Tip: Stayed in 609 non smoking room overlooking the Burj
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoeLeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan V, General Manager at Manzil Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear MoeLeb

Thanks for taking your time to send us your feedback.

The layout of the room and open bath tub is a unique design feature and I'm glad you enjoyed that.
It's a pity that you weren't able to make it to breakfast, but all meals and nibbles are made with just as much time and attention, and our team of chefs certainly do a great job.

I hope through your recommendation we are able to welcome many of your friends and family to stay with us in the future.

Kind regards

Stefan Viard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights with a our 4 months old baby. Six months back we stayed at the same hotel and we had some comments regarding the smell in the room due to toilet ventilation and the toiletries. This time it was totally different as they really took our comments in consideration. Better ventilation system and better toiletries. I would like to thank the GM for upgrading us to the pool view and giving us a free breakfast which was very much needed.
Big thank you to all the staff.
We'll be back

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibrahim I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan V, General Manager at Manzil Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Ibrahim I

I am glad that you returned and spent time with your family on our property again. We make every effort to take note and action the requests and comments given by our guests and I'm pleased that you have noticed that.
We are constantly working on upgrading our facilities and happy to hear the pool view was well received.

I am thrilled that you will be back to stay with us.

Kind regards

Stefan Viard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

we arrived yesterday for our honeymoon and all i can say is that the experience has been overall excellent from the very moment we stepped in.we were offered 2 glasses of cold green apple juice and welcome with a smile both from staff and the manager. the staff have been really friendly and attentive. the rooms are perfect with a balcony overlooking the pool and courtyard. we are always asked if we require anything. highly recommended. location also great as we are just a short walk away from the dubai mall and burj khalifa

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muneeb a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan V, General Manager at Manzil Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear muneeb a

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your honeymoon stay. Congratulations on your wedding!

I am pleased that we were able to contribute to the joy of your wedding, and very glad to hear that you will be recommending us to friends and family.

Kind regards,

Stefan Viard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

we arrived at 6 in the morning and the staff could not have been more welcoming. their friendliness and attention to detail during our 4 day stay could not have been bettered - they were simply outstanding. room was great, courtyard great, pool great but most of all the hotel is in great location for the mall, burj kalifa, fountain and metro. a bit pricey for us but i guess thats what you pay in a mojor city.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tappers t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan V, General Manager at Manzil Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Dear tappers127

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
I am glad to know that you enjoyed our staff and hotel experience during your 4 day stay with us.
I hope that when you are next in Dubai, we are able to welcome you back as a member of the family again.

Kind regards,

Stefan Viard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Independent travellers, we have just stayed 3 nights at A Manzil, but this time it was booked through a tour company. We were delighted. We chose it for its design..more mediteranean than western, & only 8 storeys. Our room was spacious & enchanting with a bath in the middle of the room. The shower & toilet were in separate glassed cubicles. The room was very quiet on 6th floor, king bed extra comfy but firm, Breakfast was exceptional & offering many diabetic choices, something we have not seen before. Located walking distance to the dancing fountain, Dubai Mall, Burj Khalifa tower. Staff helpful & friendly. For us the frankincense in the lobby wasn't great, but went with the hotel ambiance. We would highly recommend & hope to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineB55Geelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan V, General Manager at Manzil Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Dear ChristineB55Geelong

Thanks for your review and spending time with us at Al Manzil.

I am glad you opted for our authentic design and almost specialty size hotel. Much attention and careful thought was put into the layout and design elements contained in the room and we strive to make the experiences of our guests unforgettable.
Our chef and his team work tirelessly to ensure all dietary needs are catered for and that everything served exceeds the expectations of those enjoying it. Our lobby scents change regularly, and hopefully the next time you stay with us you will find one better suited to your taste.

Kind regards,

Stefan Viard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed for two nights en route to Europe. We arrived very early morning, 1 am and re promptly checked in and given glasses of cold green apple juice, lovely touch. The room was spacious, spotless and had everything we needed.

The location was great, very close to Dubai Mall, Metro station, fountain and Burj Khalifa. All the staff at the hotel were helpful, attentive and very friendly. Breakfast was really good with plenty of healthy options and the hotel let us store our luggage as we had a 1 am flight out. Concierge staff organised a tour and other matters efficiently.

I definitely recommend this hotel if you don't want to spend a fortune and want an interesting location with great staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairem1144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan V, General Manager at Manzil Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Dear clairem1144

Thanks for choosing Al Manzil during your stopover in Dubai.

I'm glad we were able to make your arrival after a late flight comfortable and that the room met your satisfaction.
Our hotel concierge is extremely passionate about the city and our guests, and I am glad that he was able to contribute to your experience in Dubai.

We are thrilled that you would recommend us and look forward to welcoming you or one of your friends or family to stay with us soon.

Kind regards,

Stefan Viard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Downtown Dubai
Vida Downtown Dubai
Vida Downtown Dubai
#28 of 545 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Downtown Dubai
The Palace Downtown Dubai
Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
#69 of 545 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Dubai
#10 of 545 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Downtown Dubai
The Address Downtown Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manzil Downtown Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manzil Downtown Dubai

Property: Manzil Downtown Dubai
Address: Mohamed Bin Rashid Boulevard | The Old Town, Downtown Dubai, Dubai 114822, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Al Manzil Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > Downtown Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dubai
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#27 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#40 Family Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manzil Downtown Dubai 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manzil Downtown Dubai is an upscale boutique hotel managed by Vida Hotels and Resorts with a contemporary Arabesque design offering engaging service based on Arabic hospitality. Centrally located on Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, the gourmet dining district of downtown Dubai, Manzil is within walking distance of The Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa. The hotel provides a stylised hub for today's social explorers, energised by being at the heart of things, combined with a unique and efficient meeting space for business guests looking to make an impression. Technology is embraced throughout the hotel to facilitate the efficiency, convenience and opportunities demanded by an active, modern life. Please note that all rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Manzil Downtown Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Manzil Dubai
Al Manzil Hotel Dubai
Hotel Al Manzil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing