We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Manzil Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Manzil Downtown
Ranked #25 of 556 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2009

everything about this hotel is great the location is excellent next to 2 malls and the tallest tower in the world. the staff are very friendly , the rooms are very clean everything is like brand new, the rooms are well designed and equipped,there several coffee shop at the hotel territory including Starbucks, a supermarket ,several shops, 2 swimming pool and free internet in the room ..... i hope i didn't forget anything.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faiq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,759 - 1,765 of 2,284 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2009

I've stayed at Al Manzil a couple of times over the last two-three years since it opened, and I have never been dissappointed. John de Canha and his team run a world-class operation here and the mix for a business traveller is perfect: quick and easy check-in at 03:30 AM, comfortable, well designed and equipped rooms, free internet in the rooms, good room service, great pub, a surprisingly good breakfast (the dreaded buffet), great well-trained staff and a convenient location. Don't bother spending extra money staying at "smarter" hotels nearby - stay at Al Manzil or the sister property (Qamardeen) - I will.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itinerant_Erdna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We decided to book the Al Manzil after reading other reviews on tripadvisor - and I'm so happy we did! This is a great hotel with lovely rooms and very attentive staff. The staff really deserve a speical mention and were a pleasure to deal with throughout our stay.

As many others have noted; the bath tub is in the middle of the room! So probably not the best if you are travelling with parents etc. but great if you're away with your partner... we really liked the layout of the room ourselves.

If you're looking for some middle-ground in Dubai then this is the place to stay. You will have a special experience at the Al Manzil without breaking the bank! I will certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKBuzTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

A very good 4-star hotel, meaning that I didn't pay for the stuff I didn't need that a true 5-star would offer. I got a good rate through lastminute.com (USD 133 for bed and breakfast).

The hotel - bedrooms and public areas - are all clean, well-maintained (I think the hotel is about two years old) and with comfortable furnishings.

Sure, the bedroom lay-out is a bit unusual and, yes, it might be a bit uncomfortable if two friends are sharing a room and one wants to take a bath while the other is sat on the bed watching TV - or watching her/his friend taking a bath through the sheet glass! The shower cubicle and the toilet are both fully surrounded in well frosted glass so privacy should not be an issue there.

As others have noted, the breakfast buffet is pretty impressive in its variety and quality. That said, I did have a problem with a confused chef from whom I had requested two poached eggs. He seemed bemused that the eggs broke apart and would not cook, even when I pointed out that his water was barely hot, let alone simmering! He also had no clue how to prepare an omelette. Thankfully, the restaurant manager handled the issue well and the eggs appeared ten minutes later from behind the scenes.

The pool is big enough but not spectacular. I used it once, early evening, with only two other guests.

Finally a word on location. Dubai is a widely spread out city. As a tourist, no one hotel is going to be very close to any more than a handful of the sites you will want to visit. You need a car to get around or, as I did, to make use of the excellent, cheap, clean, modern, metered taxis. All that said, the hotel is just across the road from the vast shopping, restaurant, lakeside, hotel and office development centred on the very-nearly-completed Burj Dubai tower (don't miss the free evening light/sound/music shows on the water) and attached Dubai Mall. I cannot think of any better location to be, unless you really want the full beach-resort set-up.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gemakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We had 24 hours in Dubai breaking up our trip home to Australia from Paris, and booked the Al Manzil based on the reviews on trip advisor. Our standard room was just beautiful and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in. The pool area was also nice for a morning swim.

We arrived at about 10:30pm and were greeted by very helpful staff and a welcome drink at reception. We asked about the restaurants and decided on the courtyard then headed upstairs to freshen up, having been told it was open until 2am. When we came down about 11pm we were then told there was at least a 30min wait for a table, and guests were not being given any priority. Apparently they are very popular with locals and expats. We waited as we really wanted to be outside for some fresh air after being on a plane all day (no interest in room service) but were a bit surprised that we weren't told there would be a wait when we checked in. If we were warned we could have put our name down before freshening up and it would have made the evening much more pleasant. By the time we had got our table and had dinner we were exhaused and slept well in the fantastic bed. The room service breakfast was great and promptly at the time chosen.

It was a bit of shopping and sightseeing the next day then back to the airport and home. We would love to come back and would happily stay at the Al Manzil again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gingermegs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

I only had a one night stay at the Al Manzil but would definately go back.
The room was fine though unless you kept the blind down was overlooked by apartments opposite. It was comfortable and clean and having the tea/coffee making facilities was great.

Though I didn't use it, the pool - though small looked nice (and clean) and there was also the opportunity to use one at a club nearby. There is a bar downstairs - and a courtyard which fills up quickly.

The staff, though, are what made my short break - they were professional yet so friendly I felt a lot more than 'just another guest'. Thanks guys!!

Location wise - it is right opposite Souk Al Bahar (a 'traditional UAE souk) and a short walk to The Dubai Mall. If you dont want to walk they'll drive you round or you can get the free shuttle bus offered by the Mall itself.

If you're a smoker, you should be aware that the inside of the building is non-smoking - though think there might be smoking bedrooms available. It does mean that you can't smoke in the bar and have to go outside. One more word of advice - don't keep your room card next to your mobile, I had to get mine changed which wasn't a hassle I wanted after an frantic afternoon shopping.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katscamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

Great value for money! There is a wicked courtgard in the center of the buliding, if you're staying over the weekend you need to book as gets very busy with the local's!
The area is very safe, they biggest shopping mall in the world is just over the road about 5 mins walk and also the water fountains which run for 15 mins every 30mins until 12 mid night! The standard rooms are amazing, you have everything you would ever need and more. The rooms are designed very well and the space used to its best, you have a bath in the middle of the room, separate shower room and a massive bed with the most amazing pillows that you're head sinks into it!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen1page
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Downtown Dubai
Vida Downtown
Vida Downtown
#57 of 556 in Dubai
2,168 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
#66 of 556 in Dubai
2,339 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Palace Downtown
Palace Downtown
#42 of 556 in Dubai
2,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dubai
Address Dubai Mall
Address Dubai Mall
#81 of 556 in Dubai
2,169 reviews
Taj Dubai
#11 of 556 in Dubai
1,663 reviews
Downtown Dubai
DAMAC Maison Dubai Mall Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manzil Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manzil Downtown

Address: Mohamed Bin Rashid Boulevard | The Old Town, Downtown Dubai, Dubai 114822, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Al Manzil Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > Downtown Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dubai
#23 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#40 Family Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: £170 - £466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manzil Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manzil Downtown is an upscale boutique hotel with a contemporary Arabesque design offering engaging service based on Arabic hospitality. Centrally located on Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, the gourmet dining district of downtown Dubai, Manzil Downtown is within walking distance of The Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa. The hotel provides a stylised hub for today's social explorers, energised by being at the heart of things, combined with a unique and efficient meeting space for business guests looking to make an impression. Technology is embraced throughout the hotel to facilitate the efficiency, convenience and opportunities demanded by an active, modern life. Please note that all rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Manzil Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Manzil Dubai
Al Manzil Hotel Dubai
Hotel Al Manzil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing