We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“four star rating completely exaggerated”
Review of Grand Moov Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Moov Hotel
Ranked #384 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed 11 March 2010

The hotel has three night clubs which operate daily until 3 in the morning, there is only one floor which is relatively quiet which is the sixth, it is impossible to get any sleep, the buffet breakfast service is appalling, and generally the hotel is very shabby and not very clean, never again

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasveer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2010

More than satisfactory for a short stay with great pricing and a roof top pool. Food was very nice also - Sri lankan food a speciality.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

We stayed at Grand Moov for 1 week. We found the place nice, clean and tidy. The room was clean and comfortable. The air-condition unit was effective. The reception staff was polite, pleasant and helpful. The porters were always willing to help. The security guards were always there on the doors and near the lifts. The hotel guide was well informed and helpful. The breakfast room was small and crowded but the quality of food was good. The shuttle service to shopping malls was a good ideas, although we did not use it. The shuttle service to airport was very handy. The only thing i was not pleased with was the noise from the club at night which went on till 2 am every morning. All in all a good place to stay, which is situated close to main attractions with a metro station only few hundred yards from it. I do not have much hesitation in recommending the place to my family and friends. N A QURESHI

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NNN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

The hotel never replied to our emails about airport shuttle service or early check-in.
By luck we found the hotel shuttle. On check-in we were told of the extra charge for early check-in. Not many taxis could find the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2009

Generally grubby condition. Staff, apart from concierge, surly and unhelpful. Room was not clean. I have seen cleaner carpets on trains and the bed linen had old blood spots and other stains which made the place seem more like a second rate B and B. My room was near the top of the building and they have a restaurant on the roof which closes at 3.00am and plays VERY loud music every night until then.

They advertise three 'dining experiences' on posters and leaflets in the reception, in the lift and on advertising in the rooms. Don't believe it. The North African restaurant doesn't exist and neither does the Thai. What did exist was a fairly presentable Indian buffet, spoiled by them being interested only in trying to sell you booze at high prices even by Dubai standards.

In short, try to avoid at all costs - spend a little extra and get a full nights sleep in a bed that doesn't look like it came from a drop-in centre

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tellygoonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Duration: 27th October 2008 – 30th October 2008

The Grand Moov is in the Diera district of Dubai, ... down town Dubai basically. It's miles away from the main attractions and is about 30 minutes away from the airport. To get the interesting places e.g. Burj al Arab, Mall of the Emirates one had to jump in a taxi and suffer the intolerable traffic jams of Dubai.

The view from the window was high-rise buildings – not particularly appealing. The area isn’t appealing either … horrible in fact.

Upon arrival the rooms we booked were not ready – bearing in mind we arrived at about 12:30AM (half past midnight). There was not a room available for me upon arrival so I was put in an executive suite and told that I would have to change rooms the next day – the cheek! Suffice it to say they left me alone and didn’t move me. The executive suite was nothing to shout about …. It was old and circa 1985 décor with nothing available in the fridges not tea/coffee making facilities.

The disco in the hotel wasn’t distracting, but I didn’t go.

The food was not included in our plan apparently … luckily for us. So we ate elsewhere.

The staff were unfriendly and very unhelpful. Upon check-out they even tried to charge me for phone calls I didn't make and food I hadn't ordered.

Dubai for me was expensive and overrated however I don’t regret going. I may go again when the infrastructure (road / rail system complete) is better.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chachachingching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

If you're looking for unhelpful reception staff, linen that smells of tobacco, rooms that aren't made up properly (no mini bar, towels or toilet paper) and if you find glass in the pool due to a late night event they hold (they hold a few of these aparently) and that glass happens to cut your finger and you need 4 stiches and spend over 6 1/2 hours in hospitals with no help from the hotel.. if this is what you are looking for then the Grand Moov is for you.
Oh and please look out for a "ND MOOV" on the side of the building - it seems to have lost it's "GRA" .. says it all really.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbarellaNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
15.6 mi away
Atlantis, The Palm
Atlantis, The Palm
#116 of 561 in Dubai
17,546 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dubai Airport
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Hotel
Comfort Inn Hotel
#288 of 561 in Dubai
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Al Rigga
Ibis Al Rigga
#131 of 561 in Dubai
1,318 reviews
4.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
#16 of 561 in Dubai
703 reviews
5.1 mi away
Roda Al Murooj
Roda Al Murooj
#106 of 561 in Dubai
2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Moov Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Moov Hotel

Address: Al Rigga Rd | P.O. Box: 14441, Dubai 14441, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #384 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range: £43 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Grand Moov Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Moov Dubai
Hotel Grand Moov
Grand Moov Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing