We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely oasis in Dubai”
Review of Desert Palm Dubai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Desert Palm Dubai
Ranked #209 of 554 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We recently stayed 3 nights as a stop over and chose Desert Palm as we wanted to shy away from the huge hotels that Dubai has become famous for. A lot of the bigger hotels we reviewed seemed to have out dated decor and simply want to impress with size alone; DP offered lovely, modern surrounds without the crowds.

Our room was in the main hotel, above Rare (restaurant) and overlooked the bar area and polo field. The room itself was huge and certainly met our expectations with modern, clean furnishings and importantly a great shower/bath. We did find the location noisy for one night (Friday) as guests were in the bar area until very late however there seemed to be a function on so this may not always be the case. We had no other issues with the room or location.

The hotel location is out of the main centre of Dubai but then so are a lot of hotels. We were surprised with how big and spread out Dubai actually is so be aware of this when booking somewhere. It takes time to get anywhere. One advantage of the DP was the free shuttle service at 1100 and 1700 (one way). And by shuttle they don't mean a mini bus - we were put in a posh Lexus sedan by ourselves which was quite a luxurious bonus. Not to mention a nice way to travel! The shuttle takes you to the Dubai Mall which is a sight to see as well. Taxi's in Dubai are inexpensive so the cost of these to get to back to DP weren't an issue.

We ate breakfast each day by the pool and enjoyed this though as some other reviews have stated, the service isn't fast. We had lunch one day by the pool which was great and throughout the day we received water and smoothies free of charge. Dinner at Rare was nice and not as expensive as we thought. The service was very attentive and the food as nice as you'd get in a decent London restaurant. The bar area overlooking the polo field was a favourite spot of ours to relax and if the polo is on it's even better. Ask when they play so you don't miss a game as it's worth seeing whilst enjoying an ice cold beverage!

The pool is 'small' if you compare it to the maxi-hotels like Atlantis but it was more than adequate and it was never over crowded. In fact the hotel never feels crowded which is a great thing.

Over all we definitely recommend this hotel for a mini-break if you want to relax and not feel like you have to rush or fight to get a good spot by the pool, in the bar etc. It will be our choice again if we return.

Tips on Dubai:
- see the fountain at Dubai Mall in the evening as the day show was quite poor
- if you want to visit Burj Al Arab then you need to book at a restaurant otherwise you wont get past the main gate. We did afternoon tea in the Skybar which is great.
- definitely see the old area on the creek and catch the boats - very cheap and a great way to travel
- be aware that the Souks open in the morning and then again in the late afternoon so between 1200-1600 most are shut
- Dubai Museum is worth a visit and very cheap for a slice of history

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thejourneysofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Desert Palm Dubai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

I have visited this resort for two night, I have booked the pool villa they gave me pool residence.
The pool was not clean.
The food service not cool.
-- there are many hotels better than this resort.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idinonbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We live in Dubai so it is always nice to get away from all the hustle and
And bustle. It was our second time here and we really liked it. The new polo suites are lovely and spacious, and the amenities are all top class. The robes were the only disappointment in the room, but that was no big deal, they just didn't match the lovely nespresso machine and fisher and Patel fridge! It was a bit quiet while we were there, despite being fully booked, which is great for some, but we like it to be a bit more buzzy. We ate at Rare on the first night and then went out the next. I do thinks they could do more at Epicure in the evenings to make it more attractive for dinner. It feels like a breakfast restaurant that CAN serve dinner. I think they are missing a big opportunity to make it a lovely warm, mediterranean restaurant with a different menu from the lunch offerings.
All in all, for a few days, perfect to unwind, the beer is cold, when you can get the waitress at epicure to remember you. The poolside service is excellent with free juices and water handed out on a very regular basis.

Room Tip: Polo suites are as nice as the pool villas and half the price
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCinDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Stayed here last week for five days, and thought it was a fabulous hotel. We have been to dubai twice before, and stayed at the westin the first time, and the one and only the second time, both on jumeirah beach. Whilst this hotel is a long way out, this does make it an incredibly relaxing sanctuary, and a cab down to jumeirah only cost about 70D (c.£12) and took about half an hour tops. The distance didn't bother us at all, and didn't stop us enjoying the dubai nightlife and finding cabs to take us back there in the small hours wasn't a problem at all. The staff were amazing (I honestly can't remember such a lovely welcome to a hotel) and the rooms are just beautiful. I went with a friend and had a room overlooking the polo field - the bathroom situation was a little awkward for friends as there is no door, but we overcame this by just staying on the other half of the room while the bathroom was being used! We had another friend who needed to stay with us for one night, and the hotel kindly gave us an additional bed in the room for no extra money - this is typical of the helpful attitude of the staff.
In short, don't be put off by the distance, and if you fancy some relaxing time as well as seeing the sights of dubai this would make an excellent choice over some of the large hotels on jumeirah beach.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katiepep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Desert Palm as a stopover. The room was large, well equipped and beautifully furnished. The staff cannot do enough for you. We ate our meals in the Epicure restaurant which is reasonably priced. Even fussy vegetarians like us were impressed.

It's a very quiet scluded hotel and you don't hear the planes from the airport.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view of the polo field are best but all of them have a pleasant view
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

we Stayed for a day at the Desert resort for the Spa and the use of the facilities, there were no staff and it is no as exclusive as showcased. there were no lifeguards monitoring thre pool as they were waiting tables!, the pool was very dirty and the waiter bought us olive oil with mouldy bits of food in it, YUK! we were a little shocked....
The Spa is lovely apart from there are no staff, the same lady hosted reception and carried out the beauty treatments whilst we were waiting for her to return from HR, the phone rang off the hook twice...Really 5 star! I dont think so.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Desert Palm at the end of our trip to Dubai and were really impressed with the accommodation. We had a room overlooking the polo field, and the combination of the huge windows letting in lots of light, the high ceilings, and the sheer spaciousness of the place made us go 'wow' when we first walked in. The bathroom was also fantastic, with natural light coming in from the skylights and a beautiful bath.

We were warmly greeted upon arrival, were seated and served a drink while the formalities were taken care of. We didn't experience this sort of service in the other hotels we stayed in during this trip!

The little touches in the room were appreciated e.g. the nepresso machine, the macaroons, the 'maxi bar' - they seemed to have thought of everything. However, we did still have a couple of little niggles e.g. on the first night we ran out of hot water and one of the sinks became blocked, another day one of our towels was full of holes. Not what you expect from a premium resort!

The pool area was small but lovely; we always managed to get a lounger in the sun and the poolside service was good. Unfortunately we were very underwhelmed with the food and service at Epicure, where we ended up having a dinner, a lunch and a couple of breakfasts. The service was regularly very slow and the food was regularly cold by the time it arrived, which, again, is unacceptable for a resort of this type and also considering the price. The food also didn't always match the description in the menu, which was a bit of a letdown. They really should be able to improve this. Our experience at Rare was much better - the food was really excellent and the service attentive; we really enjoyed the evening meal we had there followed by drinks on the terrace.

Whilst we enjoyed a massage at the spa, we found both the spa and the gym facilities very limited - not really on the sort of level we would have expected for a hotel of this class. For example, there weren't that many machines in the gym and some of them didn't even work, which is substandard. As for the spa: the steam room and sauna were fine, and the heated chairs were lovely, but the area was really tiny, such that it became quite awkward if there was anyone else using it at the same time.

Another slight imperfection was the noise - by day, there was building noise (they must be building extra rooms or something) and on one occasion at night, there was also a great deal of noise (not quite sure what it was, but it woke us up and we heard other guests complaining about it the next day too).

All the imperfections aside, we did really enjoy our stay - the stylish minimalist decor and spacious room with a view really exceeded our expectations. It was great to be out of the city but not too far out, to be able to see the skyline without the hustle and bustle. All in all, a positive experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrufflesSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
19.0 mi away
Arjaan by Rotana
Arjaan by Rotana
#172 of 554 in Dubai
579 reviews
18.6 mi away
Anantara The Palm Dubai Resort
21.4 mi away
Kempinski Hotel & Residences Palm Jumeirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
One&Only The Palm Dubai
19.2 mi away
FIVE Palm Jumeirah Dubai
FIVE Palm Jumeirah Dubai
#135 of 554 in Dubai
526 reviews
12.0 mi away
La Ville Hotel & Suites CITY WALK, Dubai, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palm Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palm Dubai

Address: Al Awir Rd, Dubai 119171, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#108 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#177 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: £113 - £718 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Desert Palm Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desert Palm Dubai is a boutique retreat with 38 rooms, suites and private pool villas. Set on a private polo estate the property offers two award winning restaurants - RARE and Epicure, an internationally acclaimed LIME Spa and an inviting bar which overlooks one of the four championship sized polo fields and Dubai skyline beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Desert Palm Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palm Hotel Dubai
Desert Palm Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing