We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great alternative to the bussle of Dubai”
Review of Desert Palm Dubai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Desert Palm Dubai
Ranked #207 of 546 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great alternative to the bussle of Dubai”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We loved this hotel - it's small, tranquil (a bit of road noise but I imagine that's hard to escape anywhere in Dubai), and relaxing. We stayed for 1 night when we first arrived in Dubai, then returned for 2 more nights later the same week after a trip to Abu Dhabi and before returning home. The first night we were upgraded to a 3 bed villa with private pool (we were travelling as a family of 5) which was very nice, but we preferred the 2 rooms we had in the main hotel building when we returned for the second stay. The hotel rooms were very large and well equipped - great bathrooms, and every possible amenity. The public spaces and pool are lovely - very relaxing. We couldn't fault the service either, it was excellent, especially at the pool side restaurant and also at reception.

It is a bit out of town but we liked that - it's only 15 minutes by taxi to downtown (Dubai Mall etc), and 10/15 minutes to the airport. For us we much preferred this smaller, more low-key but luxurious and intimate hotel than the bright lights and glitz of the big hotels in town.

The spa was also excellent and watching the polo with a G&T whilst the sun goes down rounded the day off nicely.

Room Tip: We preferred the hotel rooms to the villas, but both were very nice. Room 10 was good with a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    61
    19
    13
    7
See reviews for
51
161
17
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My partner and I have just returned home from a 6 night stay in a pool villa at The Desert Palm Resort.
We have likened our holiday to a 'honeymoon', and would recommend a stay here on many levels. They are a few points to mention which might frustrate the more particular traveller who is looking for a faultless 5* experience, however this place does get very close to that, and if you are happy to 'go with the flow', you won’t be disappointed.

15 minutes from Dubai airport, the resort is a beautiful oasis of green amidst the dusty hot desert surround. The attention to small detail and the styling of the hotel are both worthy of mention. Understated style, clean lines, soft marble and dark woods create warm ambiance. The communal eating, drinking and pool areas look out onto pristine polo pitches and beyond that the backdrop of the impressive city skyline. Burj Kalifa in clear view. There is a little bit of traffic noise on the Epicure side of the hotel - request a room on the other side.

The hotel is situated away from the main attractions that Dubai has on offer. This means between a 20-30 minute cab journey (45-100 Diram) to reach Downtown and The Palm respectively. Although many have pointed this out as a negative point, we actually enjoyed the ride into Dubai as the Skyline never fails to impress. And, given that Dubai itself is so incredibly manic, it was a relief to drive back to the calm of the resort.

Without exception, the staff at the hotel are courteous, helpful and friendly. Not all have perfect English, however, this did not impede service.

If you want to exercise, you can run around the grounds, take swim in the 30 meter pool, work out in the exceptionally equipped gym (or take one of the classes on offer), or even go riding!!

Food: Restaurants - Epicure & Rare. Both are outstanding. Both a la carte. Both have inside & outside seating. (Don’t miss out on the incredible juices).

If we go back to Dubai, we will stay here again. It is a great romantic get-away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheSwedishRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

The Desert Palm is a cool location close to a POLO Area. The rooms in the main building are great! I can't imagine how the villas looks like...
The restaurants are not cheap but very good. A lot of locals there in the evening. I think the are living in the villas.
The hotel is about 30 minutes taxi drive from down town. Furthermore the hotel offers a shuttle service to Dubai Mall.
The only negative point is that the hotel is close at the highway....

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiHaoTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I attended a conference at Desert Palm by end of January and during the 5 nights there, the service was good, albeit they were not able to find my reserve at my check in at 2:00am after long trip from London.

The rooms are huge and the Polo Villa with a private pool is great even during Dubai's "winter".

The restaurant is nice, with a very good service and great view to Polo course; you can find a good meat with a decent wine selection

The problem is he distance from everything, i.e., airport, Bur Dubai, shopping, and other attractions.

Room Tip: Polo Villa accommodate a family due to the size
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luizUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

If you are looking for a hotel that is away from the hussle and bussle of Jumeriah then this is the hotel for you. It is about 40 minutes by taxi from the centre of Dubai approximate cost 85 AED. The hotel staff are pleasant and courteous and nothing is too much trouble for them it is refreshing to see lovely green grass in such an arid country. There are a few flies, I think because of the horses, but they were not in any of the restaurants.
To eat a main course for two of sirloin steak, fries with two side orders of vegetables, followed by deserts and a carafe of wine and a coke was £76.00.
There are several quiet areas both during the day and in the evening where you can chill out and have a quiet drink. In the evening patio heaters are available.
The rooms are well equipped with a fully stocked bar.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the polo course are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanBJZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Totally fab few days at this resort, chilling and getting some much needed down time and some uv light! Staff were un-faultable. Best bit was early morning walks around the polo estate before breakfast, truly awesome. Managed to find another glorious lap pool that no one appears to use! Hotel appeared to be know my favourite type of music, CDs in the room were by my favourite DJ. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xerxes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Our first time to Dubai and we also booked last minute. We found this hotel from Mr and Mrs Smith website, so we know it must be a good hotel. We booked straight from the hotel website because they had a great offer at that time - 4 nights stay including airport transfers, breakfast, 3 course dinner and full body massage for 2 people.

The property was situated quite far from Dubai main attraction but we were glad that we chose this hotel. It's quite serene and very relaxing. The weather was perfect for us, sunny 27C and dry. The staff was very polite and friendly. We stayed in the Palm Suite, very big with sufficient amenities, bed was very comfortable.

The pool area was quite small, breakfast was adequate. The 3 course dinner at the main restaurant was amazing.

On Christmas day, we had a surprise in our a room. A bottle of Bollinger champagne complimentary from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiaMew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
19.0 mi away
Arjaan by Rotana
Arjaan by Rotana
#156 of 546 in Dubai
542 reviews
18.6 mi away
Anantara The Palm Dubai Resort
21.4 mi away
Kempinski Hotel & Residences Palm Jumeirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Nikki Beach Resort & Spa Dubai
19.8 mi away
Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa
7.7 mi away
Palazzo Versace Dubai
Palazzo Versace Dubai
#27 of 546 in Dubai
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palm Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palm Dubai

Property: Desert Palm Dubai
Address: Al Awir Rd, Dubai 119171, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#108 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#175 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Desert Palm Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desert Palm Dubai is a boutique retreat with 38 rooms, suites and private pool villas. Set on a private polo estate the property offers two award winning restaurants - RARE and Epicure, an internationally acclaimed LIME Spa and an inviting bar which overlooks one of the four championship sized polo fields and Dubai skyline beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, Destinology, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Desert Palm Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palm Resort And Spa
Desert Palm Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing