We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mutton dressed as lamb”
Review of Desert Palm Dubai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Desert Palm Dubai
Ranked #208 of 565 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The resort promises exclusive seclusion and 5 star luxury but everything is a little jaded the first disappointment when the duty manager informed me that the restaurant was closed due to a minor fire before we even arrived I should have known that attention to detail was a false promise.
The most outrageous moment was to be told as a resident I had to wait for a lounger until the day trip coupon holders had finished, the management need to get their priorities right. Oh yes and remember don't dare to ask for a fresh towel after 8pm as the staff finish then
Ok but definitely not special

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

Friday and Saturday nights at Desert Palm Resort in Dubai. Very good hotel and the Polo Suite (no 50) we stayed in was suberb, big, very well laid out and great view of the polo field and Dubai skyline in the distance. We arrived in the middle of brunch which looked fun but was fully booked. I would suggest when you make a reservation including a Friday you should be offered the chance to have brunch!! However we went to Red bar which was nice with great terrace. Epicure, the cafe/restaurant is good and the staff there were brilliant. We ate in RARE on the Saturday night where the food was good but the atmosphere terrible as we were the only people there. The food was also rushed. Overall the F&B and pool area, rooms and view were very good. The only downside was the amount of rubbish in the hedgerows, grounds, under balcanies and by the pool. It needs regular clearing up. The prices are a little high too. But I would reccomend a weekend here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FatGingerNeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I have to say the Desert Palm is my favourite hotel in the whole world! It is a true personal service boutique hotel. The setting is gorgeous surrounded by polo fields and palm trees. You are not overlooked by buildings. The ambiance is of equestrianism but you don't have to be a horse lover to love this hotel. If you like beautiful surroundings, excellent service, fabulous food and a smaller number of guests this is for you.

They have a shuttle to the Emirates Mall. Or there is polo to watch with afternoon tea. Or swim in the clear blue pool watching horses -my favourite! Or book a desert safari by jeep - the hotel reception are your concierge to help you with your trips out.

For those who require privacy this hotel is discreet. There are villas with private pools. We stayed in the Polo Villa which is unbelievably well appointed in every way.

Many of the staff were the same from our first visit 3 years ago. They even remembered us.

In the evening local families come to eat in the restaurant Red. This is a good sign.

This hotel is a credit to Dubai and its owner and management. An authentic and genuine welcome. Every time a winner!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottishallens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Smart looking hotel with laid back atmosphere, very friendly but non intrusive service, great pool lovely setting with treats all day long including green goddess smoothies. Red restaurant amazing service and excellent chef tasting dishes. Afternoon tea in jewel delicious. Spa lovely, rooms trendy spacious and modern bathrooms amazing !

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

If we could recommend one 'totally different yet exquisite boutique hotel in the UAE' this would be it. Having stayed in many hotels in Dubai, this is one hotel, that stands out in terms of tranquility, style, little touches & details and the personal touch to comfort. Even the toilets are well thought about with a lovely sun roof!
Cosily hidden a few minutes drive from the road it is a hidden treasure. Meals on the terrace overlooking an impeccable polo pitch with the sounds of numerous birds in the background is perfect specially as the meals are served with a special touch to each course.
Our room (as am sure all rooms) were fitted with out with the state of the art sound system and also had a Nespresso machine with a complimentary assortment of capsules.
Our stay was too short and we very much look forward to be backing some day soon!
As the Hotel is a short drive away from town it would be best to have a car at one's disposal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aplonia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This place is another alternative to vacation in Dubai.
I have been traveling to Emirates for the last 11 years and this time wanted something calm and different. Desert Palm is right outside Dubai heading to Hatta. The resort is amazing. So green, so beautiful, a joy for the eyes. The villa we were in was very lovely and with a beautiful private swimming pool and plants, a big palm, flowers.
The structure of the hotel is really classy.
There are 3 polo fields, horses, stables, birds of all kind, green and bougainvillea everywhere. You can also take riding classes.
The staff is very kind.
A total relax.

The hotel hosts a first class restaurant called Rare. The food is amazing, great service from customers to managers, great selection of meats and well prepared waiters. Top class. Rare has also outside tables on the terrace right in front of the polo field. Green surrounds you everywhere.

To reach Dubai from the resort does not take much. Highways are so good that in 20/25 minutes you reach Dubai Mall it would take you more from downtown Dubai. So don't think you are away from everything. Dubai has a good road system (exactly the opposite of Doha).

I have one negative comment to make for his hotel though and it's about the other restaurants, apart from Rare, which is a gem, the other one has poor service and there is only the terrace bar with a mediocre menu and not good service as well. They need to improve both of them for their own good.
This apart, everything else is a thumb up.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank basbusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We loved this hotel - it's small, tranquil (a bit of road noise but I imagine that's hard to escape anywhere in Dubai), and relaxing. We stayed for 1 night when we first arrived in Dubai, then returned for 2 more nights later the same week after a trip to Abu Dhabi and before returning home. The first night we were upgraded to a 3 bed villa with private pool (we were travelling as a family of 5) which was very nice, but we preferred the 2 rooms we had in the main hotel building when we returned for the second stay. The hotel rooms were very large and well equipped - great bathrooms, and every possible amenity. The public spaces and pool are lovely - very relaxing. We couldn't fault the service either, it was excellent, especially at the pool side restaurant and also at reception.

It is a bit out of town but we liked that - it's only 15 minutes by taxi to downtown (Dubai Mall etc), and 10/15 minutes to the airport. For us we much preferred this smaller, more low-key but luxurious and intimate hotel than the bright lights and glitz of the big hotels in town.

The spa was also excellent and watching the polo with a G&T whilst the sun goes down rounded the day off nicely.

Room Tip: We preferred the hotel rooms to the villas, but both were very nice. Room 10 was good with a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
7.9 mi away
The St. Regis Dubai, Al Habtoor Polo Resort & Club
18.6 mi away
Anantara The Palm Dubai Resort
19 mi away
Address Montgomerie
Address Montgomerie
#34 of 565 in Dubai
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Arabian Ranches Golf Club Hotel
21.4 mi away
Kempinski Hotel & Residences Palm Jumeirah
19.2 mi away
FIVE Palm Jumeirah Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palm Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palm Dubai

Address: Al Awir Al Awir Rd, Dubai 119171, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#109 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#179 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: £152 - £727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Desert Palm Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desert Palm Dubai is a boutique retreat with 38 rooms, suites and private pool villas. Set on a private polo estate the property offers two award winning restaurants - RARE and Epicure, an internationally acclaimed LIME Spa and an inviting bar which overlooks one of the four championship sized polo fields and Dubai skyline beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Palm Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palm Resort And Spa
Desert Palm Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing