We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, Classy, Perfect Boutique Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Desert Palm PER AQUUM
Ranked #192 of 541 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, Classy, Perfect Boutique Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

Thanks to all the other reviewers we booked this hotel and did not regret it for one moment. This hotel is perfect if you want to visit Dubai whist wanting to relax and stay away from the hustle, bustle and skyscrapers in the city. The bedrooms were amazing, stylish, classy and in excellent repair. The service was impeccible without exception, nothing was too much trouble for anyone. The views, ambience and attention to detail were spot on. The services were excellent - 2 fantastic restaurants and bars, an excellent health spa, perfect infinity pool, you can even walk the polo grounds! Best of all, this Hotel is as stylish as they get, but relaxing, inviting and in no way pretentious, and small enough to be personal. We explored Dubai using this as our base enabling us to escape back to tranquility when we chose to. A taxi ride is around 30 mins to Dubai Marina (the furthest city point) costing approx £20 out of rush hour. We were made to feel very special and the staff deserve every credit for making our holiday so exceptional. Difficult to think of anything negative, but if forced, we found the wine list to be very pricy, although they do have offers making some of it more affordable. Champagne was priced at £250 per bottle, so well worth buying from Duty Free on the way out if this is your tipple. There were also building works which on occassions were (understandably) noisy, but of course this is a temporary thing. We challenge anyone not to fall in love with Desert Palm just as we did, its our perfect boutique retreat and we shall definitely book again if we return to Dubai.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hedmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    59
    19
    11
    6
See reviews for
49
157
16
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

I was treated to a fabulouse long weekend here, it was about 20 minutes outside of Dubai but set in about 150 acres. One afternoon we sat on the veranda and watched a game of polo in the wonderful sunshine. This was Idyllic and one of the most wonderful places I ahve been too.. The service was superb and nothing was too much trouble, the food was just glorious and I would not hesitate to go back. We stayed in a pool villa which has a lovely small but fully heated pool. The room was clean and contemporery with everything we needed. The Bathroom was spot on with a big bath and huge separete shower and a rainwater shower outside. I would 100% recommend this retreat for a relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jue2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

This is our 2nd visit to the Desert Palm and once again it has met and exceeded all our expectations!

The staff are exceptional and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is away from Dubai but a simple £12 taxi fare will take you there. Food is good and the choice could be limited if you stay longer than a few days but it is the perfect place for a short getaway.

There is no 'riff raff' here and you prefer a break with the chavs then dont stay here.....it really is a desert paradise.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrchrisjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinner
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

We stayed at this beautiful hotel during September for few nights. Amazing get away from the hussle and bussle of the city. This could be the best boutique luxury city hotel in Dubai. Small quiet, amazing rooms and villas. Very green with polo fields...etc.
Food.. breakfast is very good... made to order...quick and efficient service... food very good quality. Rare restaurant.... good... Not sure if the quality justifies the price...
Pool area good...overlooked by the restaurant....not the way we like it
Spa - Amazing...

This is a resort for people who are looking for a quiet relaxing break. Great for honeymooners and couples. Might not be a place for the kids. The city is about 15-20 minutes away ( 60-70 dirams for a taxi to the city ). There isnt a huge choice of restaurants... one ala carte and one fine dining. The food prices are high...but the quality of food is good. Room service could be pricey as they charge a tray charge of 25 dirhams per person.

All in all a beautiful resort ideal for a relaxing luxury break...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

Apparently one of the smallest hotels in Dubai. It took a while to find by car but it was well worth it, even though it’s a 10-15min drive to the city centre. We loved every minute we stayed there. Breakfast by the pool was fantastic, the service impeccable and the hotel rooms stylish and equipped with iPod and Nespresso coffee machines. We can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuritraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

If you are looking for pure induldence and pampering the Dessert Palm hotel is the place. Class in every sense. Wonderful location with very attentive staff. The Rare Restaurant is brilliant and the Spa is sublime. Not cheap, but you get what you pay for. Well done

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ripcurl0770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

I noticed some references to the smells of sewage in some recent reviews, but we didn't notice that during our stay. I think one of the sewage treatment centres is situated down the road form Desert Palm as I remember seeing the tankers queuing up whenever we left the hotel by taxi.

We arrived tired from England and fell asleep straight away, failing to notice the location of our room that was overlooking the car park, rather than the beautiful polo fields that we had requested. It was also next to the service area and lift. We spoke to the hotel and they moved us the next day to a room that was overlooking the polo fields - it was far superior and a great room with a spectacular bathroom.

The food is OK, although despite the setting, breakfast was rather disappointing. The infinity pool is lovely and the pool scene is lovely - the main problem they have is the abundance of flies - I suspected they were from the stables, but after reading the more recent posts, perhaps they are are related to the sewage....

When we booked the hotel, it was on a half board basis. However, every single member of staff's interpretation of what this meant was completely different and this demonstrates a lack of awareness and management. When we checked out and the final bill was presented to us, it was severely inflated. Apart from being charged for another guest's enjoyment (champagne, oysters, etc), they had charged us for all the food that was meant to be included as part of the HB package - this took a while to reconcile and resolve and ended up involving the Manager - not a great end to the stay and it left us with a bitter taste in our mouths and demonstrated sheer incompetence - it wasn't dealt with professionally and it felt like we had to fight the staff to ensure our bill was correct!

I would return for the room and the views, but nothing else. The location is good as Dubai is pretty ghastly, and this feels more civilised.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longjohnsilverLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
18.6 mi away
Anantara The Palm Dubai Resort
19.0 mi away
Arjaan by Rotana
Arjaan by Rotana
#172 of 541 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
19.8 mi away
Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
#44 of 541 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,872 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Meydan Hotel
The Meydan Hotel
#62 of 541 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
19.0 mi away
Address Montgomerie
Address Montgomerie
#20 of 541 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palm PER AQUUM? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palm PER AQUUM

Property: Desert Palm PER AQUUM
Address: Al Awir Rd | PO Box 119171, Dubai 119171, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#100 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#165 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Desert Palm PER AQUUM 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DESERT PALM PER AQUUM is a boutique retreat with just 38 rooms, suites and private pool villas. Set on a private polo estate the property offers two award winning restaurants - Rare and Epicure, an internationally acclaimed LIME Spa and an inviting bar which overlooks one of the four championship sized polo fields and Dubai skyline beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Destinology, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Palm PER AQUUM reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palm Resort And Spa
Desert Palm Hotel Dubai
Desert Palm Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing