We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An very conservative muslim establishment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flora Park Deluxe Hotel Apartments
Ranked #167 of 546 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An very conservative muslim establishment”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Flora Park, although quite dated, is conveniently located for the amenities of Deira City Centre and offers large apartments that are very well equipped. However, this is essentially a muslim hotel targeted to arabic families, something that is not made clear on the online booking agents or the hotel's own website. I am not sure how frequently they receive western visitors but my own group was treated with suspicion and hostility, to the extent that we left after the first night instead of staying for five, as originally planned.

I went to Dubai for a wedding with a number of university friends from all corners of the globe. Upon arrival, I checked into Flora Park with a female friend of Caribbean origin, who happens to have very short hair, and we were later joined by a Chinese girl who came over to see us before going out for dinner. A member of staff came up to the apartment to unlock our balcony doors and, five minutes later, we received a phone call from the reception, advising us that we are not allowed male visitors and that any males must vacate the premises otherwise we will have to leave.

Our initial reaction was of complete shock, until we realised that the "male" was the Caribbean girl; and myself and the Chinese girl were the "entertainers". I ran down to the reception to explain the situation but the reception manager on duty was very unsympathetic, insisted on checking everyone's passports and was in the middle of giving me a lecture on local morals when the prospective bride showed up with the groom and best man to take us out for dinner. The groom and best man - being real males - were refused entry and a group argument commenced in a mix of arabic and english; with the conclusion that we would be leaving the next day.

The next morning, we went down to check out and found the friendly reception staff who had checked us in the previous day. They were very surprised to see us leave and, after we explained what had happened the night before they apologised and tried their best to convince us to stay - but by this stage the damage was already done. We moved to a room in the Sheraton which, although smaller and shabbier, allowed us to feel a lot more comfortable than we did in Flora Park.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anonymous122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herve P, General Manager at Flora Park Deluxe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Anonymous122,

I want to thank you for sharing your valuable feedback and I sincerely apologize to you and to your friends for your dire experience while staying with us.

With regards of the misunderstanding with our Reception Supervisor on Duty, please note that your comments have been addressed internally and we will reinforce training to our teams for the proper communication of the UAE's protocols.
Again, I am truly sorry your stay with us was not up to the expected level, rest assured that this was an exception rather than a rule.

I will be delighted to assist you with your reservation for your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    295
    63
    18
    21
See reviews for
462
106
19
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Please note that this group has two properties in this area, the other one is flora creek.

Upon getting here at 1:30 we were told that our room will be ready by half an hour, so we went to day2day center which is across the street while city center is also walking distance and metro is stone throw away.

The male staff at the reception are very co-operative while Filipino lady staff at reception acts like a robot without any expressions or smile.

Staff was always present at lifts welcoming guests and opening doors from them while bellboy staff were also great.

The 2 bedroom apartment which we had booked was great with living area and 2 rooms along with fully equipped kitchen, there were 2 attached baths and one common washroom. The microwave seemed overused and all its markings for instructions were vanished so it was hard to operate it.

The bathrooms and showers were all great. We were on the 12th floor and view from our room was great as well.

Room Tip: were were a family of 4 adult and 2 child. If you have such group then go for 2 bedroom apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amadeus52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I stayed at Flora Park Apartment Hotel for 1 week. The apartment exceeded my expectations, especially given the low rate: rooms are spacious, well-equipped, very clean and good service, friendly staff. The apartment has a large living and dinner room, big and fully-equipped kitchen, walk-n closet, bathroom with separate bath and shower, and spacious bedroom with 2nd TV. Location is excellent, close to Deira City mall and the metro station. Next time I'll bring my family, no extra costs apparently.

Room Tip: book online in advance to get best rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoostdenDraaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The hotel was located very close to a Metro station and have plenty parking bays

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugenio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed in a 3 bed appt towards the middle of feb and found our experience great. We were a family of 7 and had two children with us aged 7 & 4. For our 4 year daughter an extra bed was bought into the master bedroom at no extra charge.
The appt was very clean, big and excellently located right opposite the metro stop and Deira shopping mall which was great as for £3 you could get an all day pass for the metro.
Breakfast was buffet style with plently of choice which I was so glad about having a very fussy 7 year old!
The staff were very friendly and effcient and I wanted to say a big thankyou as on our first night we had just flown in from India. My daughter was feeling very unwell and was sick in her bed at 12 in the night. We rang doen to reception and within minutes housekeeping were there to change her bedding. An hour late the same thing happened as my daughter was suffering from `delhi belly`. Again the staff were so fast in responding to the situation and as a parent I`m so grateful beacuse travelling with young children can be hard work and to stay in a hotel where the service was excellent was very good indeed

Will definantely recommended this hotel for the luxury element, size of rooms, location, food and general service!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonlalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2012

size of room is just right for four adults and a kid of 1 year. my kid enjoyed pool (temperature -controlled) and my mom liked the foot spa.

location is not hard to find - just accross deira city center, so taxis won't miss it. plus i liked that there were a lot of choices in the breakfast buffet.

negatives - no valet parking, booking should specifically mention bringing original passports, and some staff were kinda cold and aloof, tv channels are few, baby cot was ok but need some stitching

will stay here again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anya_kit_din
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
الكويت
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

it's excellent hotel i like but the breakfast was good i hope to be better next time

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saad_alwawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.2 mi away
Flora Creek Deluxe Hotel Apartments
0.8 mi away
Flora Grand Hotel
Flora Grand Hotel
#112 of 546 in Dubai
2,133 reviews
1.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Villa Rotana - Dubai
Villa Rotana - Dubai
#80 of 546 in Dubai
869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Dubai Creek
1.2 mi away
Al Ghurair Rayhaan Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flora Park Deluxe Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flora Park Deluxe Hotel Apartments

Property: Flora Park Deluxe Hotel Apartments
Address: Academic City Rd | 26a Street, 1, Dubai 114166, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Dubai
#71 Business Hotel in Dubai
#83 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#149 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Flora Park Deluxe Hotel Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flora Park Hotel Apartment is a classified deluxe hotel apartment located in close proximity to the serene Dubai creek, only 100 meters away from the Deira city centre which is less than a 5 minute walk. It is 2km from the Dubai international airport and an ideal place for business travelers and holiday makers alike. These prestigious fully furnished 118 apartments offer 1, 2 and 3 bedrooms and amenities include fully equipped kitchen, en-suite bathroom for each bedroom, IDD facility and voice mail, Free High speed and wireless internet connectivity, in-room safety deposit box and satellite television. In addition to that 24 hour room service, express laundry and dry cleaning service, all day dining restaurant provides the comfort and convenience of home while allowing you to enjoy the amenities and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Flora Park Deluxe Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Park Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing