We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 3 night stopover”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #377 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed 29 January 2013

My stay at Astoria Hotel, Bur Dubai - UAE November 22nd to Nov 24th inclusive.

Returning from India arranged through Asia rooms.com booked a 3 night stop-over at the Astoria Hotel. This is probably one of the oldest hotels in Dubai & the location on Al Fahidi street couldn't have been better. Right in the heart of Bur Dubai shopping with abundance of restaurants, fast food chains etc. Just a few minutes walk and your at the quayside where every few minutes an Abra will take you across to the other side of the Creek known as Deira for just 1 dirham. This is where you will find the famous gold Souq, there are also thousands of shops.

The Astoria Hotel - The front desk Assistant Manager Mr Allankar Borkar and his staff will take care of all your requirements and are extremely helpful nothing seems too much trouble and will make sure your stay is a memorable one. There is a nightclub on the ground floor where loud music propels late into the early hours of the morning. But to be fair my room was on the 3rd floor and I was never disturbed.

The room is simply furnished with a 32" flat screen tv satellite channels in English are limited there are many foreign stations especially Indian. The double bed was rather hard as are the pillows! Bathroom is quite small with an excellent shower.

I was not wrong finding out that most of the guests were from a part of India known as Gujarat. This is most apparent when you arrive for breakfast each morning. The menu is mostly Indian as they have many tour groups from Gujarat. I found them badly behaved & inconsiderate to other guests, not to say they were young tourists but middle to retired age. The small dining room became very noisy with this behaviour & much confusion even the poor waiters seemed overwhelmed but the constant noise shouting etc. Nevertheless to be fair other foreigners were soon segregated by the waiters and given personal service and anything you wanted for breakfast was brought to your table including tea, coffee or fruit juices. They also advised us to arrive for breakfast after 9.15 if at all possible where the tour groups had almost left. This seemed the perfect solution and after that all was fine.

All in all would I stay again at Astoria....... Given the excellent location, the welcome by reception and Allankar Borkar, the kind attention by the waiters and restaurant manager, the spacious clean room....a definite yes! But if you can't sleep on a hard pillow then bring one with you I will next visit!

So to Mr Allankar Borkar and staff many thanks I throughly enjoyed my 3 night stay!

Room Tip: Request one on the 3rd floor or higher to avoid notice from the ground floor disco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank United327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2012

The location of the hotel was good, metro station was at walking distance and so is meena bazaar a shopping hub. Yes near the lobby is TGIT where hookers wait for their guests, but do not bother other people walking around. The staff is good, helpful and polite. Overall i never had any complaints during my stay in the hotel. An average 3 star property.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nicktravelss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Only good point is its location. You can shop a lot as sheraf dJ and carrefour are very nearby. The boys from sheraf DJ will carry the tvs if any purchased to the hotel lobby itself. The food is good as it has indian cuisine. The rooms are very average but neat. The bad thing for families is it has 3 bars in the hotel itself and in that 2 are pickup points. The musics are running all the night and so one cannot enjoy the sleep quality. Bachelors its ok but family will definitely have bad experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KarthikTouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

After going through some mixed reviews, we opted it because of its location.

The location is perfect for individual, couples, families as well as business persons.
We didn't visit its bar and didn't have any unpleasant experience as mentioned by others.
It is very close to Meena Bazaar and five minutes walk to supermarket - Carrefour.
There are lots of good vegetarian restaurants and shopping options nearby. We got good deals in quality electronics, perfumes, chocolates and saffron around the hotel area.

The hotel is a decent 3*. There's no swimming pool. But it really doesn't matter as there are several things to do in Dubai.
We requested the room on the 3rd floor. Rooms were clean and comfortable. We didn't hear any loud noise of the bar and could sleep very peacefully and comfortably.

It is ideal for Indians. Everyday breakfast includes veg Indian food like chhole-puri, idli-sambhar, puri-bhaji etc and one egg/non-veg item.

Desert safari with dinner, dhow cruise with dinner and half day city tour with lunch were included in our package and were organized perfectly.

Staff was really good and helped us with our queries and allowed us early check-in and late check-out.

Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pranavpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Situated in a very very busy locality this hotel is below average. I was never expecting such non sense in Dubai. All around the place in the evening u find pimps and girls finding customers. There is a bar in the hotel which plays very loud music which is actually disturbing. Staff and cuisine is ok. Mostly Indian food is served.
If u are a budgeted traveler u might like the place as there is a big and very cheap shopping area around the hotel. But if you dnt like cheap places you dnt even need to keep this hotel in options.
Dubai Water boat is very near to the hotel (at a walking distance) and also there is a museum nearby. Overall i didnt like the place and changed the hotel during my stay..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Vdawar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The staff is good, an average hotel, the location is really good, there is night clubs in the Hotel and around, lots of Night girls too , the noise of the Night club is terrible, I hated the food, there is a nice restaurant behind the hotel, but i had food in most local hotels coz I love to get the feeling of the country, had great biriyani, nan, Chi-ken tikka etc

Room Tip: Get a room far from the club, recommend the third floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crishanthe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

My husband and I just returned today from Dubai, we stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. Frankly, the hotel room and services provided by the reception staffs, housekeepers including the parking attendant were reasonably good. The furniture fittings are not new, but definitely not in a poor condition either, the toilets are clean. Now, the hotel atmosphere and its surrounding is debatable. It is located in the midst of rows and rows of retail shops, restaurants, banks & nearby a metro & bus station, which is a plus point. This hotel has a bar - i guess more than 1, we stayed on the 4th floor - the highest, yet we could still hear the loud thud of the music pass midnight.We managed to doze off still undisturbed, extremely tired & exhausted. If you returned to the hotel during the peak hours of clubbing timing, you will brush shoulders with many unpleasant 'personalities'. We rented a car during our trip there, so we had a challenge finding a parking space, in fact even to enter the hotel compound, but there is a solution, you need to alert the security guard on duty and in a jiff, he will vacate a lot for you. Now my most least favourite part of my stay, this is probably because last 3 days were Eid festival celebration & long weekend in Dubai, so there were too many people crowding this area. Every night, at the entrance of the compound gate, a big group of men mostly hangout, there were a few ladies not properly dressed,(I am surprised, this is happening in Islamic country), lobbying for customers. Apart from all the above drawbacks, the hotel is still good deal for your cash. Wish the bed is slightly larger though. Breakfast is served in a beautiful Indian restaurant, you can actually request for western breakfast as normally they serve Indian breakfast. The access road out from the hotel area is also relatively easy. Parking is crazy in Dubai overall, so have patient. Check out the hotel for your own personal experience, can try!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JKNOMADS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Creek
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#364 of 561 in Dubai
113 reviews
The Creek
York International Hotel
York International Hotel
#471 of 561 in Dubai
254 reviews
The Creek
Sun City International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Creek
Gateway Hotel
Gateway Hotel
#234 of 561 in Dubai
377 reviews
Panorama Hotel Bur Dubai
#450 of 561 in Dubai
127 reviews
Panorama Grand Hotel
#322 of 561 in Dubai
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: Al Fahidi St | Al Souq; 26 Street, 17, Dubai 457, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#157 Business Hotel in Dubai
#160 Spa Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: £43 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a 2-minute walk from Dubai Creek, Astoria Hotel offers air-conditioned rooms and 4 restaurants. It is within 5 minutes' drive of Bur Juman Mall. Free private parking is available. The rooms at Astoria Hotel are equipped with a work desk and cable TV. Each has a mini-fridge and a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Ironing facilities are provided. Tex Mex cuisine and live entertainment can be enjoyed at the Pancho's Villa restaurant and night club. There is also an Indian eatery and an American-style restaurant with a 3-course menu. Astoria can organise shopping excursions to the local malls and souqs. Desert safaris and creek cruises can also be arranged. Dubai International Airport is 20 minutes' drive away. Bur Dubai is highly rated by guests for: history, hiking, excursions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing