We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astoria Hotel”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #328 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
421 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Astoria Hotel”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Astoria Hotel. All the staff at the hotel were very helpful and polite. I felt very much at home at this Hotel. Christopher and Niel at the Receiption were really very helpful in anything that you asked. In the receiption there were a few massage chairs. We happily sat on them for a 3 minute massage of 1 AED. The rooms were neat and clean and the bell boys were very good too. Any time in the night we could go shopping to the near by shops at Meena Bazar. Being an Indian I enjoyed their breakfast specially the masala tea. On Thursday and Friday nights be prepared to listen to loud music blasting away till the wee hours in the early morning.

Room Tip: My room was facing the road. I think most of the rooms face the road but with the curtains drawn it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zarin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    46
    60
    15
    16
See reviews for
41
25
24
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Upon my arrival in the UAE, We were picked up from the airport by a smartly dressed driver of the hotel. Then we reached the hotel and at first glimpse we were assured that we are going to see the real Dubai!
The reception and services were well equipped, the children were well looked after by the concierge. We got a chance to choose our rooms and then we were guided to them by our concierge.
The room services were handy and punctual, they were very tidy and knew how to do their job well.
The rooms itself were quite well regardless the fact that they were a bit old fashioned. The beds were comfy and the wifi service was good. The toilets were spacious and were up to standards.
The location of the hotel is what matters the most, its in the heart of the city, in front is a big bazaar called Meena bazaar, behind is the bur Dubai bus station, nearby is a big Carrefour hyper market... (For Bollywood fans, this is the place where a scene from Fool & Final and many others were shot) and there is a abara station nearby. (Abara is a boat used in Dubai to cross the creek).
In brief, this hotel is for the families who want to experience the daily life of Dubai and i will suggest you to stay in this hotel for a few days if you are planning to move into Dubai.
Very well, all is said.
Cheers and enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Ask the concierge! They know it better than the reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Creator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rome
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

I book a room for 4 nights starting 21st Nov 2013. I was offered complimentary pick up and drop from the hotel. The reception staff were brilliant worked professionally under the front desk manager Mr Alankar Bokar. There was always a friendly smile and assistance offered and nothing was too much trouble. The reception staff is always helpful.My room was situated on the 2nd floor,just front of the lift. There was a fridge , TV and hot water running 24*7 . The room was very clean and room service was excellent. The room was cleaned dally mostly while I was out and I left an assortment of items in the room none was ever touched. The staff at this hotel are very honest so nothing to worry about. Breakfast was good either not so much varitey but quality is good.i want to thanks to mr sandeep,the manager of restaurant. The locality of Astoria was great.many restaurants, shops and very close to the Abra & Metro stations. The large supermarket Carrefour was just a few minutes walk away.I would like to thanks Mr Alankar and his team mates for such a wonderful experience.next time sure come with my family......

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank rajeev123rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, Kent
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I have previously stayed at Astoria last November 2012 and had no hesitation to book a room for 4 nights 21st Nov 2013. I was offered complimentary pick up and drop but declined as I was travelling business class with Emirates and so had Chauffeur service.

The reception staff were brilliant worked professionally under the front desk manager Mr Alankar Bokar. There was always a friendly smile and assistance offered and nothing was too much trouble. The reception will arrange tours throughout the UAE at competitive prices and are reliable.

My room was situated on the 3rd floor was adequately furnished with a decent size bathroom running hot water 24x7. There was a fridge and TV and a multitude of sockets scattered around the room. The room was immaculately clean and room service was excellent. The room was cleaned dally mostly while I was out and I left an assortment of items in the room none was ever touched. The staff at this hotel are very honest so nothing to worry about.

Breakfast was much improved since my last stay, for example orange and other juices offered were original and not watered down squash! There were a few choices to satisfy most guests and I noticed if you enjoyed Indian food this was also on display. American breakfast, tea and coffee and fresh fruit offered daily.

The locality of Astoria was ideal in the midst of restaurants, shops and very close to the Abra & Metro stations. The large supermarket Carrefour was just a few minutes walk away.

All in all a very well located hotel with excellent service all round. I would ask anyone reading some of the reviews to ignore the negative and nasty suggestions and come and see for yourself with an open mind.

I feel that this hotel is very suitable for family's and I would not hesitate to bring my family here which they would enjoy.

I would like to thank Mr Alankar and his team for their help and assistance and have booked a room for march 2014 which will be my next stay at Astoria.

Room Tip: Come with an open mind and you will be pleasantly surprised. Talk to reception who will be happy to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank United327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We found this hotel centrally located in bur dubai. The room is very good and the breakfast is indian one so i liked it. The restaurant manager is old guy and very friendly. They provide us air port transfer from Sarjah international airport.The shopping area ( meena bazar) was very near and also old souq station ( for ferry) to go gold souq market is only few minutes by walking.The nepali restaurant Yak and Yeti is very good one for dinner. KFC is also very near to hotel..
Overall, the hotel is very good .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Reema C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Beau Vallon, Seychelles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Astoria hotel has a very good restaurant on the 1st floor cannot remember the name. We went for dinner a couple of times and once for breakfast, the food is great very spicy and tasty and you get a different salutation when you are a repeater the waiter and waitress are very helpful and attentive. Next visit we will stay at this hotel. Hope to see you guys soon!!!!

Room Tip: Please take the chicken chili noodles
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

If you are expecting a high quality hotel with top class facilities then stay away from this hotel. But this is definitely an average hotel, a nice and comfortable one at that. Very close to the Meena Bazar, you get all second copies at cheap prices. The disco at the first floor makes a lot of noise and definitely not safe to wander about at night. A no-no with families.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aayush_Bagla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Creek
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#353 of 545 in Dubai
111 reviews
The Creek
St. George Hotel Dubai
St. George Hotel Dubai
#327 of 545 in Dubai
99 reviews
The Creek
York International Hotel
York International Hotel
#442 of 545 in Dubai
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palm Beach Hotel
#334 of 545 in Dubai
119 reviews
The Creek
Dolphin Hotel Apartments
Dolphin Hotel Apartments
#317 of 545 in Dubai
88 reviews
Panorama Hotel Bur Dubai
#455 of 545 in Dubai
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: 34 St | Al Souq; 26 Street, 17, Dubai 457, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#140 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#157 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a 2-minute walk from Dubai Creek, Astoria Hotel offers air-conditioned rooms and 4 restaurants. It is within 5 minutes' drive of Bur Juman Mall. Free private parking is available. The rooms at Astoria Hotel are equipped with a work desk and cable TV. Each has a mini-fridge and a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Ironing facilities are provided. Tex Mex cuisine and live entertainment can be enjoyed at the Pancho's Villa restaurant and night club. There is also an Indian eatery and an American-style restaurant with a 3-course menu. Astoria can organise shopping excursions to the local malls and souqs. Desert safaris and creek cruises can also be arranged. Dubai International Airport is 20 minutes' drive away. Bur Dubai is highly rated by guests for: history, hiking, excursions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing