We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet place and suitable for family & group”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abidos Hotel Apartment - Al Barsha
Ranked #241 of 550 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet place and suitable for family & group”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This apartment is located at quiet place, just 10 mins to the Mall of Emirates by walk. Most of the taxi driver know how to go there, 30 minutes could be reached there from the airport. There is a mini local supermarket opposite the apartment, but also there is a largest supermarket in the Mall.

Staff are friendly and helpful, especially the security guard in front of the entrance, he's really nice and help us on everything we need.

We stayed at 2 bedroom for 3 nights, big room with a spacious living room, air condition is great! They provide free wifi but the speed is only 256kps, you could pay to get a faster plan but not cheap.

However, there are some place need to be improved in the room, sofa is made of fabric, i am not sure whether they would clean regular, me and my friends felt itchy when sitting on it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kahom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    200
    51
    24
    25
See reviews for
201
138
20
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We have arrived at the hotel at about midnight(no problem for taxi driver - lady taxi from airport), check in was very quick.
Very strange was that about 8 in the morning there was a ring to door bell from room cleaning service - if he must clean room ?? ( we were there only few hours )
The apartment was very large and completely suits us , since we were traveling with an infant . Sofa in the living area was too soft , but the bed in the bedroom was great .
The bathroom and toilet - all worked well, the problem was just the odor of cigarettes in these rooms, several times during our stay . Air conditioning we did not apply but it was working. The total value - higher standard accommodation .
Breakfast tasted us , every day there was a small change in the buffet menu. There was nice stuff. especially a young man from the Philippines - he was really nice to us and our baby.
Still, returned to the room service - the room we did clean every two days , we did not need more often , job well done , and with small tip it is better:) (only small personal problem for me, what is small tip, and what is big, in different countries, but that is only retoric question...)
Room was on 9th floors, 4 lifts worked well , we had no problem with them.
Rooftop pool was small , the same area with sun beds, but could understand it , at full occupancy it is certainly no chance to have a good place , but for the refreshment is it enough.
At the end of our stay there was a little negative surprise at the reception - wishing charge about 20 € per towel, a bit colored from hair from my wife , but after mutual discussion they resigned from intentions .
Hotel location is excellent, close to Mall of Emirates, which is connected to the metro.
Except for minor deficiencies, hotel is recommended at any time and we will return here with no problem.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MirosIav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Our stay at the Abidos hotel/apartment did not get off to the best start, although the hotel is centrally located in Al Barsha and 5minutes away from Mall of the Emirates our taxi driver could not find the hotel and had never heard of it. Turns out it had just changed hands (formerly Corp Executive) **make sure you pick up a hotel business card at reception to give to taxi drivers-it has directions on it**

We then arrived at Reception to be told we had to pay for the accommodation up front even though we had booked through booking.com on a flexible rate. Usually this means you pay on departure and just have to provide a c/c for incidentals and as a guarantee. I explained that this was never indicated to us but he wasn't interested and demanded the money upfront. To cut a long story short we ended up having to give a hefty deposit in £££ before we could go and get our money exchanged into dirhams the next day (this was at 2am not ideal after a 6hr flight!!)

The apartment was a nice size for 2 though bathroom a bit small.however the apartment is in desperate need of an overhaul. The rug for starters should never have been there it was bogging. I was initially wary when we first arrived of how clean the place was (especially after seeing the rug) but hsking came every day and the young man that came was always very pleasant and had a big beaming smile.

We didn't use the kitchen as always eat out in Dubai however I did have to wash some glasses again and it looked like there was not much in the way of cutlery or plates. It was nice to have the fridge and there's a convenience store next to the pizza parlour across the road.

Reception were quite poker faced and always looked busy and uninterested. Doorman however was polite and always helped us get a taxi.

Gym was basic but ok, you need to sign in and out to use the leisure facilities but wasn't always someone on reception.

The pool is ok but nowhere near enough sun loungers for number of guests and they are all squashed together, if you are wanting to use the pool I suggest you get there early (8amish) to get a longer and literally don't move from it if you want to keep it. We even witnessed a fight over one-ridiculous! There is a pool bar/cafe and some covered decking however you are only allowed to sit there if you order something.

The hotel is in a great location (once you find it!) next to the Mall and the Metro is a cheap and effective way rather than forking out for a taxi especially when Dubai traffic is a nightmare.

After our initial shock upon arriving (the photos of the hotel on its website are not a clear guide of what it looks like now, possibly taken when brand new!) the hotel did grow on us and as we were hardly ever in it anyway suited us for what we needed.

However I did feel it is overpriced for what it was and there are other nicer hotels for the same amount if not a little more.

We are going back to Dubai later this year however will not be returning to the Abidos as it is a special occasion and would rather somewhere nicer.

Room Tip: Tbh I think they all need refurbed. However some are nicer as in they have balconies
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrsL1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights for our wedding anniversary. Rooms are very spacious and could not fault anything about them. All the staff are very friendly. The only negative I had was I slipped over when getting out of he swimming pool and cut my arm.. So be careful as the floor is slippy...
Would recommend.....only other problem was it appears that none of the taxi drivers know where this hotel is....

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank banwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Hotel was very good, rooms are nice, cleaning service is great. Security guards, cleaners, and restaurant people are very friendly but receptionist are rude, not so helpful and need training in cust service.

Room Tip: This was my second trip in one year and despite rooms are nice and location is good, I'll never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hamzabilal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

I just returned home from a family vacation in Dubai with a 7 night stay at Abidos Hotel Al Barsha. Overall, this is a great place to stay for a family vacation.
Pros:
1. Large room is great. Nice to have 2 bathrooms, kitchen, washing machine, and separate bedroom and living room. Great to have a kitchen since there is a small market across the street and the giant LuLu Hypermarket within a 5 minute walk (lots of prepared hot food to bring back to the hotel if you are tired of eating out).
2. Great convenient location. Really nice to be so close to the Mall of the Emirates (Ski Dubai, many restaurants, metro station). Lots of restaurants and mini markets within walking distance of the hotel. Easy to get a taxi any time in front of the hotel...never more than a 1 minute wait for a taxi. Short taxi ride to the marina, palm island, Wild Wadi waterpark, Burj Kalifa, etc. Area felt very safe.
3. Friendly and helpful staff. Front desk staff, porters, housekeeping, and restaurant staff always were polite and went out of their way to help us.
4. Price. Great value for price paid. Because this hotel isn't in the heart of the marina, the beach area, or downtown, it is less expensive.

Cons:
1. Hotel rooms are a bit dated...could use some updating. That being said, if you want to stay at the Burj Al Arab or Atlantis Palm, be prepared to pay 5x as much as the Abidos. Great value for the price here.
2. Loud construction next door beginning at around 6 am. Not a huge deal considering that this hotel is located in the city (not a beach resort) and I wasn't expecting silence. I did get up every morning at around 6 to close the bedroom window but the closed window provided enough sound insulation for me to go back to sleep for another hour or two.

Overall, great place to stay for a family vacation.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed in these apartments for one week with my mother and brother. We stayed in one of the large apartment on the top floor.
The apartment was spacious and very very clean. The room was cleaned every single day and when I asked for more towels the staff were more than happy to oblige.
There is a pool, jacuzzi, gym, sauna and steam room on the top floor.
The apartments are very close to mall of Emirates ( walking distance) and there is a supermarket just across the road which came in very handy.
I was extremely pleased with my stay and I will definitely be returning!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desmond23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.1 mi away
Al Waleed Palace Hotel Apartments Al Barsha
0.2 mi away
Ivory Grand Hotel Apartments
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubai Mall Of The Emirates
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dunes Hotel Apartments Barsha
0.7 mi away
Al Khoory Hotel Apartments
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Residences Dubai - Al Barsha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abidos Hotel Apartment - Al Barsha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abidos Hotel Apartment - Al Barsha

Property: Abidos Hotel Apartment - Al Barsha
Address: Al Barsha, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 550 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abidos Hotel Apartment - Al Barsha 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located within walking distance to the Mall of the Emirates, Ski Dubai and the Metro. The hotel offers 142 fully furnished spacious one and two bedroom apartments ideally suited for both corporate clients and discerning leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Abidos Hotel Apartment - Al Barsha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing