We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true Palace, with the best staff ever”
Review of Palace Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palace Downtown
Ranked #37 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A true Palace, with the best staff ever”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I have been to the Palace hotel downtown several times, and I have decided that I will only stay in that hotel. Everything from location to emaculate rooms to perfect meeting facilities to great food makes you feel treated as a king.
However this is not all, the true jewel of this hotel is its staff, I'm always greeted with a smile by all employees, it is a hotel where the duty manager welcomes you right at the door, Mustapha is one of the best professionals I have met in the hotel industry (and I travelled a lot around the world), his staff are also as professional.
What makes this hotel so special is that I feel I'm at home eventhough I'm away from home; you can stay at the most luxurious hotels but you always have that feeling of being a guest!! but at the palace you feel home.
As I said food also is out of this world, try the Thai restaurant and ask for a table outside overlooking the Dubai fountain, it is an experience not to be missed; and for the meat lovers dpon't go anywhere else apart from Asado the Argentinian restaurant (it is rated one of the best in Dubai).
I can go on and on about this hotel (rather a Palace) and the fact that I only go there says it all.

Room Tip: book a room overlooking the Dubai fountain and you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yassine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to many more. All the team will be inspired by your words about their service which is the main asset that always makes the difference.

I am also glad that you enjoyed our restaurants both Argentinian and Thai.

Thank you again for your review we look forward to welcoming you back at The Palace “your home away from home”.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,026
    355
    99
    59
    40
See reviews for
522
1,141
135
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This is a very nice hotel right on the edge of the fountain lake. Nice pool area, lovely food and top rate service. I would recommend this hotel no problem. We had a suite which was very spacious and very nice.

Room Tip: Fountain view doesn't see all the fountain but its better viewed from out of the hotel anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are very glad to know that you enjoyed our location with the beautiful views as well as the food, pool area and the service from our associates.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Was in Dubai for a business trip and stayed at the Palace. The service was satisfactory. However the room allocation,despite requests, was not good. I did not have much of a view from my room. The lobby is cramped and in fact not much of a lobby. The breakfast was so so but the Indian food at breakfast was the worst I ever tasted. The room was average size and clean and well maintained.
An average experience

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidharath_Kapur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate you took the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us.

I am glad to know that you were pleased with the room cleanliness and the service. At the same time it is very regretful to see that the breakfast selection of Indian dishes was not up to your expectation for which I apologize. We are sorry to read that the lobby did not appeal however we respect your views.

Thank you again for your constructive feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the very near future

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

After a long flight we arrived very early in the morning and were immediately given a room which was an upgrade to what we had booked as none of these were available. It was a great start and very much appreciated. The suite we were given was spotlessly clean and was very spacious, beautifully furnished and well equipped.
We chose the hotel because of its location and we were only staying for a short time enroute home from Australia.Now we wouldn't hesitate to choose it because of the excellent service, great facilities and yes it is brilliantly located with so much in walking distance.
All the staff we met were courteous, smiling and helpful. the concierge did our online boarding passes for us and gave lots of valuable advice to make our short stay really enjoyable. Breakfast was very good with an excellent choice and always refreshed regularly and monitored by the chef. We did have one meal in the hotel and it was again really excellent with great choice of wines from sensible prices to the unaffordable (for us anyway).
The swimming pool area was very well maintained with a good food and drinks service, no waiting for ages as in many hotels. The hotel is beautifully decorated and maintained giving an air of quality arabic design with every modern facility on hand. The viewing area is a fabulous location to see the amazing Burj Khalifa and the stunning fountain shows every half hour in the lakes below at night.
This is a classy hotel that offers first class service but is not pretentious or pompous and focuses on all its guests as if each was special. I would not hesitate to recommend it and will certainly be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mikem28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your extensive and very positive feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay with us.

It is our absolute pleasure to learn that you had a wonderful experience with us while enjoying our facilities. Our Chef will be very glad to read your kind comments about the food as well as the entire rest of the team who can only be even more inspired to excel by your excellent review.

Thank you again and we hope that we would be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

we stayed here for one night en route to Sri Lanka and found it to be spot on. We had a warm and efficient welcome, our room terrace was right on the lake where the fountaims are - stunning views of them and the Burj Kalifa. Food was great, in particular, the thai restaurant. The staff were very happy for us to use the facilities after checkout as we had a late evening flight and so wanted to go off and see the sights. Our room was spotless and had everything you could want in it. I would stay here again in a heartbeat :-)

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank aliballie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are truly delighted to know that you had such a pleasant experience here at The Palace. I am very glad that you had the time in your short stay to try out Thai restaurant which has wonderful views of the fountain that make a memorable experience. Thank you for the kind comments about the room cleanliness and service from our associates.

We are very happy to know that you are looking to come back which will only be an absolute pleasure for our entire team.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The hotel is one of the best & it's just that when we came we had to wait to reach the lobby as there the driveway had a long Que & it does not seem to be moving at all , the valet looked stressed & there seem to be no supervision at all. Our check-in was delayed with such lame excuses as they are cleaning the room ? why they were not prepared ?? The room carpet is stained,TV screen had wrong name mentioned on it & we were checking out they charged our card twice the staff fails to take responsibility & tells us that it is the fault of IT department ..
over all a bad experience.

Room Tip: peopele I've had a bad experience.... better to stay back in cheap beach side property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christopher d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay with us.

I truly regret to read about your experience where you had to wait for such a long time on the driveway upon your arrival and your room not being available for you to rest after your trip. I certainly understand your frustration and am very sorry that we were not able to offer you a solution up to your satisfaction during your stay. At the same time we have tried to identify your reservation with your contact details to personally reach out to you however unsuccessfully. We would appreciate if you could share with us more detailed feedback at info@thepalace-dubai.com.

In the meantime please be assured that your comments will be discussed with the team for further improvement.

I apologize once again and I hope you will honor us with an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Very nice hotel, classy ambiance, great customer service, "western" amenities, and good central location for walking to the Burj Khalifa, many good restaurants, and the Dubai Mall. Dubai attractions tend to be spread out, so this seemed like good spot since several things to do within walking distance, and one never tires of gazing upwards at the amazing Burj Khalifa--the one Must-Do attraction: "At the top" especially if it's a clear day.
We loved having a room with a view of the fountains (even better than the ones at the Bellagio in Vegas). But note that the "show" is at least once per hour from around 6 pm to 11 pm and you may hear the music.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the fountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BWords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to learn that you were delighted with your stay at The Palace while enjoying the surroundings with so many attractions just a walking distance away including the fountain with wonderful views. It is great that you enjoyed the room allocated for you and also the service from our associates who are our main asset.

Once again thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Downtown Dubai
Manzil Downtown
Manzil Downtown
#26 of 545 in Dubai
2,116 reviews
Downtown Dubai
The Address Downtown Dubai
Downtown Dubai
Vida Downtown
Vida Downtown
#58 of 545 in Dubai
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Dubai
#12 of 545 in Dubai
1,349 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
#74 of 545 in Dubai
1,945 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Armani Hotel Dubai
Armani Hotel Dubai
#32 of 545 in Dubai
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Downtown

Property: Palace Downtown
Address: Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, 29 | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > Downtown Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#11 Business Hotel in Dubai
#31 Family Hotel in Dubai
#34 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Downtown 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace, built on the edge of a lake, is a harmonious blend of the past and present of Dubai with 242 guest rooms and suites boasting a captivating Middle Eastern theme. The luxury hotel hosts an array of international restaurants featuring fine cuisine, a breathtaking luxury spa, recreational facilities, a large pool and a comprehensive business center. It is ideally located near the Dubai World Trade Center, several major business institutions, shopping malls and tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace The Old Town Hotel Dubai
The Palace Old Town
Palace The Old Town Dubai
Sofitel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing