We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantantastic stay at the Palace Dubai”
Review of Palace Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palace Downtown
Ranked #38 of 546 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Plmouth
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another fantantastic stay at the Palace Dubai”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at The Palace Downtown Dubai! This was our second stay at this hotel and once again the hotel and staff were outstanding in every aspect! We saw some familiar faces from our last visit and unbelievably were remembered by these members of staff!! Everyone we came in contact with was happy and cheerful and nothing was too much trouble for them-when we returned to the hotel from outings we were greeted by name and a smile which made us at home and very special!

We ate at Ewaan lounge on every evening and the food and service was outstanding-thank you to everyone concerned. On one evening there was an Arabic Night-with spectacular entertainment and food. We had a marvelous evening!

We would hightly recommend this hotel as it is the best in whicgh we have ever stayed and it exceeds it's 5 star rating-we will be back next year!!

Room Tip: The rooms we have had have been lovely with beautiful views-can't really see there would be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzyplymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your positive feedback on Tripadvisor!

Your comments will create more motivation and inspiration for the entire team to go an extra mile for the guest and continue to perform high standard of service we all strive to.

Thank you again for your review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Palace Downtown in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,054
    361
    99
    62
    40
See reviews for
529
1,163
139
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Lovely hotel, our first room that we were given smelt very strongly of smoke, luckily the girl that showed us to the room suggested that we try to get another room which was done with no problems. I was a little disappointed that the room was passed by house keeping as it was a very strong smell, I feel that it should have been sorted by management while the previous smoking guest was staying there, as this did not get to smell like this just with a one night stay. Location is fantastic and the staff are really good in the hotel. Just three negatives for me with the hotel. Firstly, the turn down service happens far too early between 4pm & 5pm, I think it is better for it to happen later so when you go out in the evening you come back to a nice turned down room. Secondly and this was the only occasion (apart from in Asado)on our 11 night stay was a snooty & not very helpful blond eastern European receptionist (didn't get her name). Thirdly and for me most importantly the amount of flies by the pool, for me it became really annoying and ruined the time spent at the pool (my wife was not as bothered by them) apart from the flies the pool is lovely.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirsty022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the whole team at The Palace Downtown, I would like to thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor!

I do appreciate your constructive feedback as it shows us where we can provide better service for our guests.

First of all, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you faced upon check-in in terms of smell in the room. It is pleasant that the issue was resolved immediately.

Your suggestion regarding the turndown service timing is very helpful and I will bring it to our Housekeeping Executive’s attention.

Regarding the second issue that you mention, please accept my sincere apologies for inappropriate behavior of one of our associates, this is definitely not up to our standards.

I wish to apologize also for the flies around the pool area, which I do agree needs our most focus and I would like to assure you that we are already working on resolving this problem.

Once again I appreciate your review and we do hope you will grant us another opportunity to welcome you back at The Palace Downtown!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Beautiful hotel with views of the fountains and Burj Khalifa. Convenient to the mall. Great food. Great concierge. Pool is wonderful. Couldn't ask for anything more on my first stay in Dubai. Would love to come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the positive comments on Tripadvisor!

I am delighted that you had memorable experience with us and enjoyed the facilities as well as the service.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you and your family back at the Palace Downtown!

Best regards,

Kind regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at many 5 star hotels around the world but this place is by far the very best. From the moment we entered with our young kids we were given priority and allowed an early check in at 9am as opposed to the usual 3pm. The Arabesque theme throughout the hotel and all it's staff was delightful to say the least. Made us feel like royalty. The Ewaan pool lounge is stunning and a must see when in Dubai. All in all the hotel is fabulous and location amazing right next to souk al bahar and dubai mall. Not to mention the show stopping musical fountains right outside our balcony which the kids loved. We would love to return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your positive comment about our hotel on Tripadvisor!

We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed the experience of staying at the Palace Downtown and in particular Ewaan lounge with its fantastic view to the fountains. It is a pleasure for me to hear that my team has provided you with the best service at royal level.

Thank you for the review again and looking forward to welcoming you and your children back to the Palace Downtown in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odder, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just everything was perfect...:-) we will be back, for sure. Easy to walk to the Dubai mall, lots of good restaurants around the hotel, nice rooms. Fun to watch Burj Khalifa from the bed every morning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Susanne,

Thank you sharing your review on Tripadvisor!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience of staying with us.

Together with my team I hope to see you again at the Palace Downtown in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Me & my wife stayed in the Palace due to a recommendation from a friend & we were not disappointed.

We chose to pay a bit extra to stay in a suite & we would definitely recommend upgrading. We were collected at the airport & driven to the hotel by a very courteous gentleman & upon arrival at the hotel out bags were taken directly to our suite.

The suite itself was amazing very spacious & amazing views of the burj & lagoona.

The whole trip was brilliant, until we came to check out. During check out the lady at reception advised me there was a discrepancy in our suite regarding a bottle of Bacardi neither me or my wife drank any alcohol during our entire trip to Dubai & we advised her that, she said it would probably be an error & finalised our bill.

Next day I receive an email from the hotel telling me they are charging me AED 290 for a bottle of Bacardi that we never had (especially when neither of us even like or drink Bacardi). As you can imagine to spend a decent some of money on a hotel (circa £1,000) for 2-3 nights and then be told we are charging you £50 for a bottle of Bacardi you never had clearly does not sit well.

It is unfortunate that this one off incident spoiled a great trip in a great hotel.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank DinDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor!

On the one hand we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel, in particular transfer service, your suite and location, however on the other hand I am very upset to read that one shortfall in our service has spoiled your magnificent trip.

Kindly accept my sincere apologies for this misunderstanding. I totally agree with you that it is absolutely not acceptable to charge you for anything that you did not consume and I assure you that no charges will be taken. We have already taken necessary actions to avoid repeating such cases to any of our guests.

I do appreciate your constructive comment, since it shows us where we need to improve!
You are valuable guest for us and I hope that you will grant us one more opportunity to welcome you at The Palace Downtown!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in February. I had booked a Palace room so that we had the security of collection from the airport as we arrived late at night. We were contacted by the hotel a few days before arrival with details of where we would be collected and this all went perfectly, we were whisked to the hotel in a private limo and were left to check in. Then it just got better, we were upgraded to a suite which was just perfect, could not have wished for a more comfortable room.

Everything about our stay was wonderful, the staff bent over backwards to make sure we had everything we needed. The breakfast buffet was huge and never too much of a queue for freshly cooked eggs. The pool was a nice place to be too and we spent a couple of lazy days swimming and relaxing in the sun, very welcome after a very soggy January in England.

The hotel is n the perfect location, right next door to the Dubai Mall, the Burj Khalifa and the fountains, which were awesome by the way, we have seen the fountains at the Bellagio and these beat them hands down.

I would go back to the Palace Downtown in a heartbeat, a truly wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Receiving such feedback gives so much inspiration and motivation for me personally and the whole team at the Palace Downtown!

I am really delighted and thankful to you for taking your time to give such comprehensive comments!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed and appreciate excellent service from our side: transfer arrangement, upgrade, attentiveness and friendliness of the staff, as well as breakfasts and location.

Thank you again for the feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Palace Downtown in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Downtown Dubai
The Address Downtown Dubai
Downtown Dubai
Manzil Downtown
Manzil Downtown
#28 of 546 in Dubai
2,152 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Vida Downtown
Vida Downtown
#60 of 546 in Dubai
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
#73 of 546 in Dubai
1,980 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Armani Hotel Dubai
Armani Hotel Dubai
#30 of 546 in Dubai
1,743 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Address Dubai Mall
Address Dubai Mall
#96 of 546 in Dubai
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Downtown

Property: Palace Downtown
Address: Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, 29 | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > Downtown Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#11 Business Hotel in Dubai
#31 Family Hotel in Dubai
#35 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Downtown 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace, built on the edge of a lake, is a harmonious blend of the past and present of Dubai with 242 guest rooms and suites boasting a captivating Middle Eastern theme. The luxury hotel hosts an array of international restaurants featuring fine cuisine, a breathtaking luxury spa, recreational facilities, a large pool and a comprehensive business center. It is ideally located near the Dubai World Trade Center, several major business institutions, shopping malls and tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Palace Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace The Old Town Hotel Dubai
The Palace Old Town
Palace The Old Town Dubai
Sofitel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing