We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Arabian Palace”
Review of Palace Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palace Downtown
Ranked #36 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Magical Arabian Palace”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is amazing - among all the modern buildings in the area this hotel has a most welcome old world charm. The staff are incredibly friendly and attentive, the breakfast and lunch buffets are incredible and the pool area is beautiful. The rooms are great - just missed an iphone charger/speakers. The gym is very good as well. From the hotel you have spectacular views of the Burj Khalifa. The hotel is surrounded by a lagoon which has a spectacular watershow every evening. It also has its own souk.
The location is also just fantastic next to Dubai Mall and the Burj Khalifa.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maltaswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for me and my team to read your comprehensive review about your stay at The Palace Downtown! Thank you for sharing it on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate your positive feedback on dining facilities, rooms, location and especially service provided by our staff.

Thank you again we are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Palace Downtown in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,024
    355
    98
    59
    40
See reviews for
522
1,140
135
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

The Palace Downtown Dubai is an experience to behold. Even the drive to the foyer is eye-opening. In a city that has so many amazing sights and structures - such as buildings that seem to pierce the clouds, shopping malls with aquariums and a ski field in the heart of a desert - The Palace shines its own piece of magic. All that was missing was Aladdin's lamp.
The signature restaurant and a number of the rooms are on or overlook the lagoon that features the nightly (sound and light) "singing fountains" that leave Vegas in their wake.
The pool and its surrounds are magnificent. The staff throughout the entire hotel were extremely helpful and went out of their way to make the stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPSewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for the wonderful review that you have shared on TripAdvisor with regards to your visit to The Palace Downtown!

We appreciate your inspirational and charming feedback on our hotel, restaurants, rooms and staff.

It is a great pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your experience of staying with us and hope that magical memories will be calling you to come back to your “home” in Dubai!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is a true 5 star hotel, we had a wonderful stay here. It's clean, very tastefully furnished and the staff go out of their way to help you.

Breakfast was delicious, the room very clean with all the modcons, and best of all, the hotel is right next to the Dubai Mall and souq with excellent views of the fountain.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing the experience of staying at The Palace Downtown on TripAdvisor!

We are pleased that you chose our hotel for your vocation and it brings us joy that you enjoyed your stay!

Your positive words about breakfast, the room and location are highly appreciated.

On behalf of the whole team we will be looking forward to welcoming you back at your “home” in Dubai in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We have just spent 6 nights at this wonderful hotel. The staff are so friendly and courteous while at the same time extremely efficient. The beautiful pools at the rear of the hotel and is surprisingly tranquil for being in the middle of a very busy city. You can choose from sun loungers or Arab tent styled gazebos to relax in. The pool staff are very attentive. They came round with cold face cloths, cold water, sorbets and yoghurt and honey. A wonderful backdrop to the pool is the highest building in the world, the Burj Khalifa.
There is choice of eating places within the hotel. We ate in the Argentinian Restaurant, Asado, which was very tasty but we found quite pricey for what you got. However, the buffet that is served in the main restaurant is fantastic. You can choose dishes from across the world. The breakfast buffet is equally good, again, you can try so many different foods from different nationalities.
The location of the hotel could hardly be better. It is a five minute walk to the Dubai Mall, through another modern but more traditional souk-style mall. It is built on the Khalifa Lake where every night the Dubai Fountain is played. Our beautiful room was right on the edge of the lake so we were able to sit on our terrace while watching the fountain show. And over on the other side of the lake was the Burj Khalifa. A fabulous scene.
The Palace, Downtown is a wonderful hotel staffed by some of the friendliest and courteous people.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the lake side for a view of the Fountain show.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtravellers4549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for taking time to share your review on TripAdvisor!

It is a pleasure to read your wonderful comments about our atmosphere, décor, dining facilities and pool area, as well as your appreciation of the service provided by our staff.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience of staying at the hotel and on behalf of the entire team we will be looking forward to welcoming you at The Palace Downtown in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A tranquil place to stay in Dubai, close to the Mall, restaurants and overlooking the fountains and Burj. Great room, great facilities, great food! Friendly staff, very helpful and willing to help. Swimming pool is beautiful with fans to keep you cool, iced water, sorbet and yoghurt brought around, a nice touch!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking time to share your review on TripAdvisor!

We are delighted to read that The Palace Downtown has become a place for your tranquil relaxation. Thank you for your positive comments regarding our room facilities, service and pool area.

Once again we appreciate your feedback and looking forward to welcoming you back at The Palace Downtown in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Palace Downtown is one of the best and most beautiful places for a downtown stay (combine it with a beach stay for example). Especially when you would like to visit the Mall of Dubai, The Dubai Fountain and the Burj al Khalifa - everything is within a 5 minute walk. We had a very reasonable room-rate (under $ 300 with breakfast) and we received a wonderful upgrade to an amazing Diplomatic Suite (105 m2) with a stunning view on the fountain and Burj al Khalifa. Very nice detail; they provide all the guest information on a in-room iPad, so no old fashioned thick guestbook. The staff was great and very friendly, especially the front-desk employees (special thanks to Suzanne). A diner at the Thiptara restaurant is definitely recommended; by far the best and most spectacular view on the fountain you can get (ask for outside). Definitely a romantic lifetime experience for sure! Breakfast is of a very high level - they even make very healthy smoothies on the spot.

Minor improvement are the attendants at the entrance. On our night it was quite busy with many valet cars coming in/out and people waiting for cabs. The large amount of attendants were not able to manage; they even did not ask if we needed any transportation or made a clear taxi-queue. Many people were confused, eventually we ordered an Uber (private taxi app-service).

Overall, the Palace Downtown is the best for a downtown stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GDoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It is with pleasure that I read your wonderful review on TripAdvisor!

I believe that your comments about our service, modern room amenities and dining experience will serve as additional inspiration and motivation for the entire team. Thank you for your recognition of Suzanne’s effort to provide you with the best service.

We are delighted to know that overall you enjoyed your experience with us and at the same time, we are thankful for your constructive feedback with regards to valet service. Your comments are very important for us, since they show us where we need to improve. Please rest assured that corrective measures will be done to avoid the same in future.

Thank you again for your review and we will be looking forward to welcoming you at The Palace Downtown in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MUMBAI
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Ok ok types nothing great to write about except that you can walk at will into the gigantic Dubai Mall and at all times can have an uninterrupted view of the very very tall Burj Khalifa and the foundation show at 6 pm every night.

Room Tip: Burj Khalifa view any time.. thats the main attraction apart from the foundation show in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAKARWANKAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking time to share your review on TripAdvisor!

We are delighted that you have chosen The Palace Downtown for your visit to Dubai.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the location and fountain view from our hotel.

Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Palace Downtown in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Downtown Dubai
Manzil Downtown
Manzil Downtown
#26 of 545 in Dubai
2,110 reviews
Downtown Dubai
The Address Downtown Dubai
Downtown Dubai
Vida Downtown
Vida Downtown
#60 of 545 in Dubai
2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Dubai
#12 of 545 in Dubai
1,346 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
#73 of 545 in Dubai
1,941 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Armani Hotel Dubai
Armani Hotel Dubai
#32 of 545 in Dubai
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Downtown

Property: Palace Downtown
Address: Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, 29 | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > Downtown Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#11 Business Hotel in Dubai
#31 Family Hotel in Dubai
#34 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Downtown 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace, built on the edge of a lake, is a harmonious blend of the past and present of Dubai with 242 guest rooms and suites boasting a captivating Middle Eastern theme. The luxury hotel hosts an array of international restaurants featuring fine cuisine, a breathtaking luxury spa, recreational facilities, a large pool and a comprehensive business center. It is ideally located near the Dubai World Trade Center, several major business institutions, shopping malls and tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace The Old Town Hotel Dubai
The Palace Old Town
Palace The Old Town Dubai
Sofitel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing