We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Palace Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palace Downtown
Ranked #42 of 557 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I had some freinds visiting the city and while passing down town, i taught of having an afternoon tea, having travelled a lot i was excpecting a very good level of service, but i can tell now that my guests and i really felt pampered and received the best service ever especially a lady called Garlie( hope i spelled her name correctly), she was amazing, very curtous, going the extra mile to explain all the details ( even some we did not have in mind), i would like to congratulate you of having a staff like her she is really an asset.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank khalil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to receive your review and thankful for taking time to share it on TripAdvisor!

It is a pleasure to hear about your experience while you visit to The Palace Downtown. Thank you for such a wonderful feedback about Girlie. She is a real asset for our hotel and I am thankful for your appreciation of her efforts!

We hope that the memories from your first visit will bring you back to The Palace Downtown to enjoy our facilities and service!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,343 - 1,349 of 2,757 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

It's not a very Dubai word, but this hotel is almost under-stated in it's elegance and luxury. Decorated in beautiful detailed word and arabic arches it blends modernity with tradition. Breakfast spread was outstanding, although restaurants very expensive. Service overall was friendly but not outstandingly efficient. Bed super comfy and room very pleasant (I was in the base level room). Hard to get a beer before 7pm unless you want to sit outside, which given it was 40 degrees at 6pm was a little hot, even for this Aussie......! A really nice place to stay, Palace is a fair description.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GulliverFromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

It is with pleasure that we read your wonderful review about your stay at The Palace Downtown and we are thankful for sharing it on TripAdvisor!

We are glad that you enjoyed our décor, breakfast, room amenities and service. Your positive words will serve as additional motivation for the entire team to continue providing the best experience for our valued guests!

Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Palace Downtown in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

From the moment you pull up into the entrance area you are assured perfection. Everyone is courteous, friendly and professional. Rooms spacious and spotlessly clean. All the staff are dedicated to making your stay seamless. I cannot rate this hotel high enough. Special mention to Riccardo and his team for the sumptuous breakfasts, and Katia on concierge. Both incredibly helpful and add that extra touch.

Room Tip: We had lakeside which do not get a view of the fountains but I assume would be quieter. Check non sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrRobTimaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the whole team at The Palace Downtown, I would like to thank you for your review on TripAdvisor!

Providing our guests with the best service and memorable experience is our ultimate goal and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank for your appreciation of our efforts in particular Riccardo and Katia to make your visit to The Palace Downtown a life-time event!

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back at your "home"in Dubai in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I went to this hotel to attend a workshop. From the entrance on wards the hotel take great care in making the guest feel important. The hotel decor is very pleasing. For a day workshop, the morning Coffee and spread of food is very elaborate. Again for morning tea-break, another different variety of food served. The service is very friendly. We went to lunch at Asasda the Argentinian Grill restaurant. The restaurant interior is superb. From the restaurant you could see the Burj Khalifa and the pool. The Lunch buffet had a great spread. From Salads to main course.Food was tasty. The desserts were also had a great variety. I liked their Date Cake.
Again for afternoon tea break, more food.Overall great place and service. And the location of the hotel is fantastic.

Room Tip: Room with Burj Khalifa viiew.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SivaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking time to share your review on TripAdvisor!

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our restaurants and we appreciate your positive feedback about our ambience, food and service.

We hope that you will grant us with another opportunity to welcome you back at The Palace Downtown and provide you with another memorable experience!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The facility is truly beautiful.the building takes you a Disney like feeling . I believe the management can improve on handling peak time like the time we used this hotel. The reception will benefit from friendlier staff and they should track the prep panned requirements from guests. The spa certainly require improvement in supervision. I was impressed to receive a call ahead of our trip inquiring about certain items to be requested .the pick up from the airport was nice but other requests on pillows and spa appointment were not informed to reception upon arrival, nothing serious but it gave a negative impression about the how genuine the initial inquiry was . Food was modest and will benefit from further improvement in area of quality. I would still recommend the place as the size of the building and it's atmosphere is unique and attractive and I would book it in the future. I like the calm,tranquil and quite atmosphere of the room that can be further enjoyed had the air conditioning been quieter . Overall impression is favorable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Usama M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking time to share your review on TripAdvisor!

We are delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay and appreciate our atmosphere and décor.

At the same time I am thankful for your constructive feedback. Rest assured we take it seriously and will do corrective measures to make relevant improvements and avoid the same in future. Thank you again for your comments as they show us where we can provide better service for our valued guests.

On behalf of the whole team we will be looking forward to welcoming you back at The Palace Downtown in the near future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Dubai is unique, glam, veneered, superficial, and spectacular all at the same time.
The hotel fits this description, with 'middle eastern' styled architecture but manages to be sophisticated, tasteful and a calm oasis from which to explore. Hotel staff were impeccable, from welcome drink on arrival, explanation of room, through to departure. Rooms were lovely, drinking mint tea, barefoot,with a view of the Burj Khalifa in the garden outside our bedroom quite extraordinary. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CNMItravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for taking your time to share your review on TripAdvisor!

It is with a big pleasure that we read your positive comments about our hotel and service provided to you.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that we will be granted with another opportunity to welcome you back at The Palace Downtown in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights at The Palace on our way back from Europe to Mauritius. What a good idea we had to choose this hotel. It was my first visit to Dubai, this hotel was perfectly located roght in the middle of everything, close to Dubal Mall and all its shopping, aquarium, ice skating rink etc we artived atthe tel at 2 am and were amazed to see how many staff were on duty at this time, we could have anything we asked as if it was noon in any other country! The architecture of this hotel is amazing, very adapted to the country and very western at the same time. I hate hotels in towers and was glad it was a doule storeyed building with lotsof palm trees, very well lit at night! The singing fountains were right on our doorstep just like the Burg al Arab tower, i could spend hours watching the little boats going around the manmade laguna. Taxi is easy from the hotel doorstep to other parts of Dubai, in 30 minutes you reach any other attraction. There is a huge american buffet for breakfast everyday and you have a wide choice of cheese, fruits, turkey ham, baked beans, breads, jams , pastries, asian dishes. The swimming pool is of perfect temperature even for us from Mauritius who are quite regarding on water temperature before swimming.. We're a bit spoilt and were very happy to enjoy the large pool. The concierge made our restaurants reservations everynight around Dubai.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranceMauritius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We are honored to receive such a positive review from you on TripAdvisor!

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your first time stay and so much appreciate our ambience, location, breakfast and service provided by our staff.

Thank you for your beautiful comments and we are delighted that you had memorable life-time experience with us!

On behalf of the entire team, we will be looking forward to welcoming you back at The Palace Downtown in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Downtown Dubai
Armani Hotel Dubai
Armani Hotel Dubai
#23 of 557 in Dubai
1,872 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Address Dubai Mall
Address Dubai Mall
#82 of 557 in Dubai
2,162 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
#66 of 557 in Dubai
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
#18 of 557 in Dubai
642 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Manzil Downtown
Manzil Downtown
#26 of 557 in Dubai
2,280 reviews
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 557 in Dubai
3,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Downtown

Address: Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, 29 | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > Downtown Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#11 Business Hotel in Dubai
#31 Family Hotel in Dubai
#38 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: £285 - £621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Downtown 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace, built on the edge of a lake, is a harmonious blend of the past and present of Dubai with 242 guest rooms and suites boasting a captivating Middle Eastern theme. The luxury hotel hosts an array of international restaurants featuring fine cuisine, a breathtaking luxury spa, recreational facilities, a large pool and a comprehensive business center. It is ideally located near the Dubai World Trade Center, several major business institutions, shopping malls and tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palace Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace The Old Town Hotel Dubai
The Palace Old Town
Palace The Old Town Dubai
Sofitel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing