We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous hotel close to main attractions”
Review of Palace Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palace Downtown
Ranked #39 of 556 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The accommodation could not be faulted, we occupied a suite which was very large to European standards, loved the attention to detail and cleanliness.The hotel was central with a walking distance to the Souk, Mall and Burj Khalifa. We took a taxi (good rates) to the water park on the Palm. Takes about 35-60 mins depending g on traffic. We ate in all the hotel restaurants and thoroughly enjoyed each meal. The staff are friendly and courteous and always there to help. Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freshblue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

It is with pleasure that we read your comments about your stay at The Palace Downtown on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate your kind words about our location, the room and restaurants, as well as our high standards of service.

On behalf of the entire team we will be looking forward to welcoming you back at your “home” in Dubai in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,310 - 1,316 of 2,724 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here, the pool and amenities are superb, and the location- 5 mins walk from the dubai mall and with a stunning view of the Burj Khalifa - its a fantastic experience.

A few minor grumbles re service - 3 separate calls to conceirge - nobody answered the phone after rining for 10 mins +, too few staff at reception - could have had 4 people working not just 2 as many guests are very demanding. Service in the pool cabana's was quick in daytime but dreadfully slow at night took 25 mins for 3 simple drinks to arrive.

So in summary - amazing hotel- great food, especialy argentinian restaurant - best bed and sheets, great shower and bathroom, great breakfast, shame about the service niggles.

Would go back in a flash though...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking time to share your comments on TripAdvisor!

We are delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your experience with us and appreciate our rooms, amenities and restaurants. At the same time we are thankful for your constructive feedback with regards to our service. Rest assured we will take corrective measures to ensure the same does not happen again.

Thank you again for your review and on behalf of the entire team we will be looking forward to welcoming you back to The Palace Downtown, Dubai!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Exquisite furnishings in room & public areas. Service unobtrusive but prompt & personalised. IPad in room a bonus, as was iPod Dock for music & Nespresso coffee machine. Large bathroom with separate bath, toilet & shower cubicles, more like small rooms within a room. Stayed 4 nights, will return! Bar at poolside best view in Dubai of dancing fountains & watched sunset next to tallest building in world. Some children playing in pool. But noise didn't travel into var area, rooms or restaurants, great layout. We ate 2 evening meals in hotel restaurants, excellent variety, informed staff, select wine list. Breakfast offered selections organised by preference such as Asian style, Scandinavian, English, separate area for gluten & dairy free foods. Walking distance to mall.

Room Tip: Garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth68A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for taking time to share your review on TripAdvisor!

It is with pleasure that we read your appreciation of our rooms, amenities, restaurants and service. We are inspired that you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to coming back.

Thank you again for your positive comments and we hope to welcome you back to The Palace Downtown Dubai in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed at The Palace 2 weeks ago for my birthday and it was the most brilliant experience, better than we would ever have imagined. Everyone was so professional but friendly and helpful, especially Salah and the whole team at the Ewaan restaurant who sang happy birthday to me at breakfast and made my day so special. Sorry we missed out on the Friday brunch but the food was wonderful, especially in the Thai restaurant, amazing meals in an unbelievable setting right in front of the Dubai Fountain and Burj Khalifa. Can't wait to book a second ((longer) stay

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jadelisa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking time to share your review on TripAdvisor!

We are pleased that you chose The Palace Downtown for such a wonderful occasion and appreciate your positive comments on our efforts to make your day special.

Thank you for your feedback on our restaurants and service provided by our team, especially Salah.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back to The Palace Downtown in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

First time at this hotel it was the best by far... Very very nice
I would 100% go back there...
Staff..
Food...
24hr room service
Wat ever more do u want when on holiday....
Nice for family's with children
With outdoor pool spa
Food was lush

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Susan,

I would like to thank you for taking time to share your review on TripAdvisor!

It is a great pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are delighted to hear about your desire to come again and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back to The Palace Downtown in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Impeccable in every way. Arriving early from an overnight flight from Europe, made very welcome whilst a room was identified for an early check-in with a most enjoyable complimentary morning tea in the lobby overlooking the fountains area. The upgrade to a superb, expansive suite, equipped with quality bathroom products as well as a Nespresso (well used by me!) machine was greatly appreciated.
We reserved a Fountain Room for a view of the shows, which weren't that impressive, but we were also looking at the Burj Khalifa and next door to the Dubai Mall. After ducking in and out for sightseeing and air-conditioned rests, we took the excellent afternoon tea in the lobby lounge, which dismissed any need for an evening meal.
The breakfast buffet would be one of the most attractive and extensive I'v seen anywhere in some 40 years of traveling for business and pleasure. I would certainly like to enjoy an evening meal here on my next stay.
Service, quality, serenity. Highly recommended for Dubai syopovers.

Room Tip: Don't bother with a Fountain Room, you can see the fountains from other parts of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lombard71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the whole team at The Palace Downtown, I would like to thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor!

It is with pleasure that we read your wonderful comments about your experience at our hotel. We are inspired to hear that you enjoyed our service and facilities.

We hope that nice memories after your stay will encourage you to come back for another excellent experience at The Palace Downtown!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Arrived at The Palace at 2:00am, was greeted by extremely helpful staff who also provided a cool flannel and a small glass of lemon juice and mint. We stayed for 4 nights and had a view from the balcony of the magical water fountain show. The room was huge with all mods and cons, probably could do with supplying more milk for tea and coffee. I know that if I had asked they would be supplied post haste. Bathroom was lovely although the water came from under the shower glass and soaked the floor mat each time used. Breakfast staff were fantastic and very helpful, very well catered. We were close to the Dubai Mall, just a short walk away and there were plenty of eating options in the mall or at the hotel. The hotel, furnishings and staff were all fantastic. Would highly recommend it to anyone wanting that little bit of luxury.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking time to share your review on TripAdvisor!

We highly value your appreciation of our service, facilities and staff. Your constructive comments show us the areas where we can provide better service and we are thankful to you for helping us to improve.

Thank you again and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back at The Palace Downtown in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Downtown Dubai
The Address Downtown Dubai
Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
#66 of 556 in Dubai
2,267 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Manzil Downtown
Manzil Downtown
#27 of 556 in Dubai
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dubai
Armani Hotel Dubai
Armani Hotel Dubai
#26 of 556 in Dubai
1,852 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Address Dubai Mall
Address Dubai Mall
#90 of 556 in Dubai
2,120 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Vida Downtown
Vida Downtown
#62 of 556 in Dubai
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Downtown

Address: Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, 29 | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > Downtown Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#11 Business Hotel in Dubai
#31 Family Hotel in Dubai
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: £280 - £586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Downtown 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace, built on the edge of a lake, is a harmonious blend of the past and present of Dubai with 242 guest rooms and suites boasting a captivating Middle Eastern theme. The luxury hotel hosts an array of international restaurants featuring fine cuisine, a breathtaking luxury spa, recreational facilities, a large pool and a comprehensive business center. It is ideally located near the Dubai World Trade Center, several major business institutions, shopping malls and tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace The Old Town Hotel Dubai
The Palace Old Town
Palace The Old Town Dubai
Sofitel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing