We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice swimming pool”
Review of Palace Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palace Downtown
Ranked #40 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Nice old fashioned style but partly worn out rooms. On the positives, handy to have an ipad already internet connected in each room and a very nice buffet hall.
the swimming pool after a whole day of business meetings is such a treat that makes the price alone. Check in not as fast as the 5 stars would suggest.

Room Tip: artificial lake view recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank UlisseNemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor!

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate our room amenities, as well as pool area. At the same time, we are thankful for constructive feedback on our rooms and check-in process. With our summer room renovations and trainings held at Front Office I am confident we will eliminate issues highlighted by you. Thank you for showing us where we need to improve.

On behalf of the entire team we will be looking forward to welcoming you back at your “home” in Dubai in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,386 - 1,392 of 2,831 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

We arrived early in the morning and had paid for previous night so we could get a room immediately. We were greeted with the wonderful Palace perfume and an upgrade to a very large Suite! Perfect. Then I had mentioned it was a special birthday for my husband. The Palace delivered not only a beautiful and delicious small cake and bottle of bubbles, but also did an amazing happy birthday design in rose petals on the bed.
The Palace is a fabulous location next to the Burj Khalifa. The staff are attentive - a special nod to Sherif on reception. The staff were also really fast in responding to any requests made from the room.It's a couple of minutes walk to the Dubai Shopping Mall.

Room Tip: Take a Fountain View if you want to see and hear the Fountain every evening (every half hour until 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lono60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Palace Downtown for your special occasion!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your feedback on service provided by our staff, in particular Sherif! Your comments will serve as additional motivation for the entire Team to continue making our guests experience life-time moments at our hotel.

We are grateful for taking time to share your review on TripAdvisor and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were upgraded to a suite which was stunning! We had great views from the balcony of the Burj Khalifa and could watch the fountains. The pool area was well kept and again had great views. It was peaceful and relaxed but yet only a few minutes walk from all the restaurants and shops. I couldn't fault the hotel and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ljc1538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read your comments on TripAdvisor and grateful for positive words about our service, view and pool area. It is a pleasure to know that The Palace Downtown has become a place, where you found peace and relaxation.

We hope that good memories from your stay will bring you back to our hotel in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The accommodation could not be faulted, we occupied a suite which was very large to European standards, loved the attention to detail and cleanliness.The hotel was central with a walking distance to the Souk, Mall and Burj Khalifa. We took a taxi (good rates) to the water park on the Palm. Takes about 35-60 mins depending g on traffic. We ate in all the hotel restaurants and thoroughly enjoyed each meal. The staff are friendly and courteous and always there to help. Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freshblue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

It is with pleasure that we read your comments about your stay at The Palace Downtown on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate your kind words about our location, the room and restaurants, as well as our high standards of service.

On behalf of the entire team we will be looking forward to welcoming you back at your “home” in Dubai in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here, the pool and amenities are superb, and the location- 5 mins walk from the dubai mall and with a stunning view of the Burj Khalifa - its a fantastic experience.

A few minor grumbles re service - 3 separate calls to conceirge - nobody answered the phone after rining for 10 mins +, too few staff at reception - could have had 4 people working not just 2 as many guests are very demanding. Service in the pool cabana's was quick in daytime but dreadfully slow at night took 25 mins for 3 simple drinks to arrive.

So in summary - amazing hotel- great food, especialy argentinian restaurant - best bed and sheets, great shower and bathroom, great breakfast, shame about the service niggles.

Would go back in a flash though...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking time to share your comments on TripAdvisor!

We are delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your experience with us and appreciate our rooms, amenities and restaurants. At the same time we are thankful for your constructive feedback with regards to our service. Rest assured we will take corrective measures to ensure the same does not happen again.

Thank you again for your review and on behalf of the entire team we will be looking forward to welcoming you back to The Palace Downtown, Dubai!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Exquisite furnishings in room & public areas. Service unobtrusive but prompt & personalised. IPad in room a bonus, as was iPod Dock for music & Nespresso coffee machine. Large bathroom with separate bath, toilet & shower cubicles, more like small rooms within a room. Stayed 4 nights, will return! Bar at poolside best view in Dubai of dancing fountains & watched sunset next to tallest building in world. Some children playing in pool. But noise didn't travel into var area, rooms or restaurants, great layout. We ate 2 evening meals in hotel restaurants, excellent variety, informed staff, select wine list. Breakfast offered selections organised by preference such as Asian style, Scandinavian, English, separate area for gluten & dairy free foods. Walking distance to mall.

Room Tip: Garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth68A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for taking time to share your review on TripAdvisor!

It is with pleasure that we read your appreciation of our rooms, amenities, restaurants and service. We are inspired that you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to coming back.

Thank you again for your positive comments and we hope to welcome you back to The Palace Downtown Dubai in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed at The Palace 2 weeks ago for my birthday and it was the most brilliant experience, better than we would ever have imagined. Everyone was so professional but friendly and helpful, especially Salah and the whole team at the Ewaan restaurant who sang happy birthday to me at breakfast and made my day so special. Sorry we missed out on the Friday brunch but the food was wonderful, especially in the Thai restaurant, amazing meals in an unbelievable setting right in front of the Dubai Fountain and Burj Khalifa. Can't wait to book a second ((longer) stay

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jadelisa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking time to share your review on TripAdvisor!

We are pleased that you chose The Palace Downtown for such a wonderful occasion and appreciate your positive comments on our efforts to make your day special.

Thank you for your feedback on our restaurants and service provided by our team, especially Salah.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back to The Palace Downtown in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Michael Sorgenfrey

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Downtown Dubai
Armani Hotel Dubai
Armani Hotel Dubai
#22 of 561 in Dubai
1,927 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Address Dubai Mall
Address Dubai Mall
#72 of 561 in Dubai
2,244 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Manzil Downtown
Manzil Downtown
#23 of 561 in Dubai
2,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
#67 of 561 in Dubai
2,406 reviews
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
#18 of 561 in Dubai
767 reviews
Roda Al Murooj
#102 of 561 in Dubai
2,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Downtown

Address: Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, 29 | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > Downtown Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#11 Business Hotel in Dubai
#30 Family Hotel in Dubai
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: £241 - £667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Downtown 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace, built on the edge of a lake, is a harmonious blend of the past and present of Dubai with 242 guest rooms and suites boasting a captivating Middle Eastern theme. The luxury hotel hosts an array of international restaurants featuring fine cuisine, a breathtaking luxury spa, recreational facilities, a large pool and a comprehensive business center. It is ideally located near the Dubai World Trade Center, several major business institutions, shopping malls and tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Palace Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace The Old Town Hotel Dubai
The Palace Old Town
Palace The Old Town Dubai
Sofitel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing