We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem.. Highly recommended....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amwaj Rotana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amwaj Rotana
Ranked #74 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hidden gem.. Highly recommended....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The staff and facilities are absolutley excellent at this hidden gem of a hotel. We provisionally booked our family trip via a tour operator and when we arrived at he hotel decided to upgrade the room (to the club room) as we required more space and a sea view (highly recommend that you do this at the hotel as the proces are very very favourable, far better than getting it done via the tour operator).
The Hotel is very famil friendly though if you were just a couple looking for a getaway it would also be good for this also. The Staff and team are very friendly and accomodating and the service in our experience was second to none. The rooms are very clean and well maintained, spacious and though we travelled with our young 1 year old nothing was too big an ask. We suffered from "next door room noise" as the walls dampened any sound that there may have been from any neighbours. Good restaurants in the hotel and very near to waht seems like hundreds of eateries nearby. My only criticism was that the walk to the local beach area was a bit awkward to get to, though this was a small price to pay for such a good location and service all round. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade when you arrive at the hotel, club rooms are excellent value for money, with excellent views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robw247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai.

I am delighted to read your comments and I am happy that you had a nice experience with us and that the services of our staff met your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and assuring you of our best services and prompt attention at all times.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,309
    533
    138
    43
    56
See reviews for
517
824
97
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Upgraded to a Club Room when we arrived after reading the reviews on here. Well worth it! Room was on the 24th floor, view isn;t that fabulous as you are surrounded by hotels / apartments but when the sun shone, you can see over to Atlantis on the Palm and the beautiful sea. Breakfast was always in the Lounge - fresh eggs & salmon every morning! The lift situation isn't that bad, we never had more than a couple of minutes wait. Room was super clean and the bed was soooo comfortable!! Yes, the pool area is far too small for the hotel and the public beach isn't that great - not much room and absolutely packed. Overall, we had a fabulous 4 day break eating extremely well and sleeping for hours. The hotel is in a great location, try the Buddha Bar and the trip out to Atlantis to their water park was fun - the aquarium is fabulous!! Take lots of money / credit cards - it's not cheap!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Club Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank englishwifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai.

I am delighted to read your comments and I am happy that you had a nice experience with us and that the services of our staff met your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and assuring you of our best services and prompt attention at all times.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

I had the all-you-can-eat sushi at Benihana's at the Amwaj Rotana and got food poisoning. Management of hotel was not very sympathetic; I had to miss my flight and stay another night (Dubai was a stop over so this was not optimal for me as I had to miss work) and the hotel wanted to charge me an extra $150 to move me to another room. After haggling with the management, they acquiesced and gave me the same room for the same rate. My advice: don't eat at the restaurants here. Go to the beach walk instead where it's safer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Guest,

It is with disappointment that I read your comment and as I stated in our hotel online survey which you have filled up as well, It took a while for me to reply to you as I need to personally investigate the matter to avoid similar incidents from occurring in the future.

After having thoroughly investigated the matter with all the concerned department head and Executive Chefs, I have come to learn that we do not have any other similar report of food poisoning concerning our guests who dined in Benihana within the duration of your stay. The same meal during the Eat All You Can theme that night was served to 200 other guests but none of the others had lodged any complaints. In fact since the opening of our hotel in June 2010 till date, we never have such case or complaints.

Likewise, Amwaj Rotana is a HACCP compliance Hotel (a food safety management system), our staff are trained on food safety practices, routine Food safety inspection from Food Safety Hygiene department is always inplace and regular microbiological testing is always conducted and scheduled.

It is our goal to maintain the highest standards of food safety for all our guests and we always make sure that the food is served according to the standard set by Dubai Municipality.

I look forward to welcoming you again to the Amwaj Rotana Hotel and trust this incident will not deter you from using our facilities in the future.

Yours sincerely,


Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
259 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We had a lovely stay at Amwaj Rotana over easter. The staff were very friendly, room was lovely and very quiet, we were right next to the lifts, but couldn't hear them. Great to walk out onto Marine Walk and have the the different places to eat. Would recommend staying there.

Room Tip: ask for a high room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarlowO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai.

I am delighted to read your comments and I am happy that you had a nice experience with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and assuring you of our best services and prompt attention at all times.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

The accommodation is of an extremely good standard, the rooms are very comfortable, quiet, and modern with all amenities and large balconies with sea views. Previous reviews regarding the lifts have some validity, but this can be overcome by using the lifts in a sensible manner as clearly explained by an earlier reviewer. The Pool is delightful and the beach is easily accessible. The hotel location is perfect and allows easy walking along "The Walk", in addition to accessing the Metro, a highly efficient and very cheap form of transport in order to visit all the sights.
However, the true standard of an excellent hotel is evident should a problem arise with a guest. My experience was that all the staff are professional and present a genuine caring attitude at all times.

I would especially like to extend my very sincere thanks to Sushek (I hope I have spelt his name correctly), a Manager within the Rosso Restaurant, for his superbly professional, caring and sensitive approach and for his commitment and amazing ability to create a memorable evening under difficult circumstances. I would also just mention that the Chocolate and Salt Desert has to be tasted to be believed. It will be remembered!
I thank him sincerely and trust my comments will be passed directly to him.

I would certainly recommend staying at this hotel if visiting Dubai.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunEscape566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai.

I am delighted to read your comments and I am happy that you had a nice experience with us and that the services of our staff met your expectations.

I will personally convey your gratitude to Sukesh of Rosso Restaurant which I am sure he will be grateful to hear that his hardwork and enthusiam has been commended.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and assuring you of our best services and prompt attention at all times.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Nothing really wrong with this hotel but nothing to make me consider going back either.
We had a Club room with sea view. Room was quite big with a very small bathroom. Bathroom is a 4 star max.
Pool is too small for a hotel this big. The beach is a public one with no beds or umbrellas and very crowded.
Club area is nice.
Had dinner and breakfast at The Horizon and both were good.
Another minus is that the hotel has only 3 elevators and no stairs.
I found it to be very crowded, family oriented. Not the place to relax for sure.
Staff is well trained and efficient.
Wouldn't go back.
If you're keen on that area, Sheraton looked ok, with a bigger pool and private beach.
Will probably go back to Park Hyatt if I have to visit Dubai again.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreea2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach- Dubai.

The beach in front of the hotel is a public beach and we are not authorized by Dubai authorities to place any sun beds or chairs as it is considered as public beach and not owned by our hotel. Unlike Sheraton and Hilton hotels, they were the first hotel in the area that was given the approval to have a direct access to the beach.

It is our goal to maintain the highest standards of service to all our guests and we really appreciate your feedback. Once again, thank you so much and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel sometime in the near future.

Kind regards,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed 9 nights at the Amwaj Rotana and would return any time. The location is great! The staff was very friendly, always helpful. Everything was simply 'right'! - They did not have our room free when we arrived - so they offered us the presidential suite for 2 days and then let us stay in there for the entire 9 days!☺We would definitely go back any time we are in Dubai!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai.

I am delighted to read your comments and I am happy that you had a nice experience with us and that the services of our staff met your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and assuring you of our best services and prompt attention at all times.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
The Marina
JA Ocean View Hotel
JA Ocean View Hotel
#57 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,094 reviews
The Marina
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dubai, Jbr
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Ramada Plaza Jumeirah Beach
The Marina
InterContinental Dubai Marina
The Marina
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dubai - Jumeirah Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amwaj Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amwaj Rotana

Property: Amwaj Rotana
Address: 79 Al Sufouh Rd | The Walk, Jumeirah Beach Residence, Dubai 86834, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#75 Business Hotel in Dubai
#86 Family Hotel in Dubai
#87 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amwaj Rotana 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located along Dubai's famous leisure and retail strip known as "The Walk", Jumeirah Beach Residence (JBR), you will experience the height of comfort at Amwaj Rotana Hotel. Presenting a portfolio of 301 tastefully furnished sea view rooms and suites including the prestigious Club Rotana offering lavish personalized hospitality, Amwaj Rotana Hotel boasts the largest rooms along JBR each with its own balcony. With three award-winning restaurants offering Italian, Japanese and international cuisine as well as live entertainment, happy hours, theme nights and more, guests of Amwaj Rotana can expect a fun-filled visit. Recreational diversions on the hotel grounds includes Bodylines Fitness & Wellness Club that comprises of temperature-controlled adults' and kids' swimming pools, a fully-equipped gymnasium, Jacuzzi, steam rooms, sauna and spa. Complimentary WiFi is available in all public areas of the hotel. The hotel benefits from the features around the vicinity such as the recently opened The Beach Mall featuring a children's water park, direct access to Jumeirah Beach, retail and entertainment options as well as the Dubai Tram at Jumeirah Beach Residences 2 station, just a three-minute walk from the hotel. Guests can also enjoy a scenic walk around the Dubai Marina Promenade. Complimentary shuttle service is also available from the hotel to prominent malls in Dubai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Ebookers and Southall Travel so you can book your Amwaj Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amwaj Rotana Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing