We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality of food”
Review of Japengo

Japengo
Ranked #5,314 of 9,610 Restaurants in Dubai
Neighbourhood: Jumeirah
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Jumeirah
Amman, Jordan
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good quality of food”
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

Japengo in Jumaira road was a good restaurant to end your day, we were 3, had 3 different types of food, I had burgers which is not that recommended, my friends had Chinese, and it was perfect for them.

For the prices, I thing its an average, paying 200 dirhams is fair in such a restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Emad G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    11
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A disaster”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

WE roamed around Festival City Mall, looking for options and settled on Japengo.
Big mistake.
We ordered and waited and waited and waited. Three table who sat after we did, recieved their food before we did and two of the actually paid and left before we were served!
That has to be some kind of a record.
After theatening to leave, and after watching the manager try to control his kitchen staff (we were next to the fitchen) we finally were served.
My wife had a vegetarion potato food basket and I had Yakisobe prawn meal.
In both cases the veggies were TOO al dente, actually hard.
In the case of both plates, there simply was a lack of good flavor!
My wife promises to take me to a good restuarant next week.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AncientSpy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong SAR
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best spot to see the Grand Mosque”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

After visiting the Grand Mosque, we went to this cafe to take a break and have a bite before go to another attraction.

At the first begining, we just plan to have a coffee and some light food. So, we ordered the deep-fried prawns with wasabi sauce. It was really good..my bf and I loved it. So we decided to ordered the fish and chips. Unfortunately, this one made us disappointed...it was not crispy and tasteful as the first one....

Apart from the food, we both think that this cafe is the best spot to see the Grand Mosque. You could enjoy the food, relax with this nice view.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“I dont recomend it at all”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

When japengo started it was a new concept.

But now i see it boring place and boring food to eat, with a very poor quality.

There are much better places to go and eat rather than spending your time and money in this restaurant, unless you have no options.

Its a good place for a big group who each one has different tast to eat, so come to find variety in the meu, Italian, Japanes, lebanes and more.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abdulla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UAE
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Japengo - Japanese”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Well they were quite good initially but however not upto the mark nowadays. Indeed the sushi, soup, all japanese food still keeps the mark but not the others. Especially the pastas are not even worth a try. If ever you make a visit there do try the sushi and defenitely the amazing cheese cake. Its sad that they are not good anymore

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Naaaaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Japengo also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Japengo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing