We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so good” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel O'Higgins

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel O'Higgins
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Vina del Mar
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Not so good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

The room was clean and basic. However, the bathroom had no real cool water so I was somewhat scalded. The bathtub drain didn't work. No exercise facilities and the conference room was long and it was hard to see the front of the session. This is not a great conference hotel. The most positive notes are that the staff were helpful, graceful, and attentive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimo827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    98
    134
    60
    57
See reviews for
79
129
16
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

My room was clean and bright. The windows opened out onto a courtyard with another building in front so there was no view, on one hand, but it was quiet at night which was great. The bed was comfortable The room lacks some basic things--the bathroom has nowhere to put towels so they stack them on top of the toilet but you need to lift up the towels to flush...The breakfast had fresh fruit, cereal, bread, cheese, luncheon meats--pretty much everythingI wanted. The coffee was weak.

I loved the big old staircase and the elevators withe elevator operators. The location is wonderful IF you are not looking to be near the sea. It's a bit of a long walk to the ocean, unfortunately. THere's great shopping nearby--drug store, fruit stands, electronics, music, clothes--anything you could want. And the hotel is one a pretty square.

The hotel staff were friendly and warm but unbelievably inefficient at check-in and check-out,

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

The staff at this hotel are always very attentive to their customers. It is an older, well-established hotel with an air of luxury and graciousness. During the Festival in February, it is important to book rooms well ahead of time, since the municipality uses this hotel for the accommodation of many of the visiting artists to the Festival. The public reception areas and bar have all been modernized but the feeling of old-time luxuriousness has been maintained. The hotel serves an excellent breakfast which comes included in the price of a room. It is also possible to have this same breakfast even if one has not been able to book a room at the hotel. My wife and I often do this when we are staying in the Valparaiso area. The hotel maintains a Website concerning additional information through Hotels.com or Expedia.com. To acquire more information simply google or yahoo "O'Higgins Hotel, Vina del Mar".

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanway2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

When was the last time you saw elevator operators? The bathroom ceiling was moldy and the tile grout hadn't been scrubbed in the last decade but we grew quite fond of the old gal. We would have preferred to be closer to the Pacific. It was about a 20 minute walk to the promendade and the Plaza Vergara area is in the heart of town. We found ourselves in the midst of Xmas shoppers. But the price was reasonable, about $125 a night and the breakfast was excellent. They will even make eggs to order. The pool was heated, in a nice setting and swimmable. A much better deal than the overpriced "boutique hotels" in Valparaiso. You can catch a local bus and be in Valpo in no time to sightsee and take photos. On the downside, few places to eat in the O'Higgens neighborhood other than sandwich and pizza joints nearby. And if you've come to Vina del Mar expecting picturesque cafes and shops along the seaside, you've come to the wrong place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaMarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

The hotel is quite old, and the rooms need to be reformed. Also, the room maids seems to think they know better than you about where your things should be placed (I had problems finding my stuff a couple of times because of that) - they should better pay more attention to their cleaning duties...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serge_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Québec
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We had booked for 7 nights in this large hotel (some 250 rooms) that is some 80 years old.
The public rooms (entrance hall, restaurants, bar, etc.) have been modernized and offer a spacious and inviting lobby area.
The hotel is very well located and the breakfast (included) delicious (plenty of fresh fruits, pastries, yogurts and charcuteries) for all tastes.
The room given to us was one of the few with a balcony. It was large, with a large bathroom and a modern shower (the “rain” type). But it takes more than a modern shower and a large TV flat screen to make up for some deficiencies.
The only wastepaper basket was in the bath room. The door to the bathroom could not be shut. There were no bars to hang our towels on, nor a wash basin stopper to prevent objects from disappearing in the drain. Whenever we turned the cold water tap on, the pipes went on drumming and banging!
The staff is very nice, but we had to ask for the few who spoke English more or less fluently (disappointing for a hotel that has so many guests in a city that hosts an international festival). Consequently there were a lot of misunderstandings. For instance, we had specifically asked for the towels NOT to be changed and expected to be heard given that the hotel advertizes a concern for the environment, but to no avail. Even my shower cap was taken away, as if I could not use it again! Even though Panamericana Hoteles state in every room their concern for the environment and the number of towels to be washed every day, the maid harassed us to change our towels every time they saw us ! Nothing seems to be recycled at the hotel, even though there are recycling bins close by.
We could not get confirmation about one of the tours we had booked, and the infos that we got were contradictory. Consequently, on the morning of our tour, we had to cancel our participation, because the last minute driver/guide to whom the tour operator had subcontracted did not speak English contrary to the info given to us the previous day.
The hotel tries hard: it organized a special dinner for Valentine’s day with a wonderful menu, and hosts different events.
Nicole (who speaks fairly well in English at front desk tried a lot but did not seem to be empowered to do much, and Josué at the concierge desk went out of his way to help us.
To sum it all, difficult not to recognize the inherent class of this hotel, but its owners will definitely have to invest in a thorough modernization of the hotel (adding air conditioning, for ex.) if they want to keep their clientele in the years to come, for they have competitors in Vina del Mar and surroundings!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MimaEstrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel on New Year's Eve and the price was US $200 for the night (there was no availability at the Sheraton where we had previously stayed). Overall we were disappointed. At first, we were put in a very old, tried, dirty room, and I just couldn't stay there and insisted that we were moved. To be fair, they did move us to a more modern room, although it was still not what I would describe as comfortable. The breakfast offering was poor also. The only featue of note is the original lifts which are manually operated which has its own character. This place is best avoided - try the Sheraton instead and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Demand a modern room - this should have an electronic room card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vina del Mar hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vina del Mar hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marina Del Rey
BEST WESTERN Marina Del Rey
#8 of 49 in Vina del Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gala Hotel & Centro de Eventos
Gala Hotel & Centro de Eventos
#35 of 49 in Vina del Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Toscana Hotel Boutique
La Toscana Hotel Boutique
#13 of 49 in Vina del Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Boutique Cassinetta
Hotel Boutique Cassinetta
#4 of 49 in Vina del Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 3poniente
Hotel 3poniente
#23 of 49 in Vina del Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel O'Higgins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel O'Higgins

Property: Hotel O'Higgins
Address: Plaza Vergara w/n, Vina del Mar, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Vina del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Vina del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel O'Higgins 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel O'Higgins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel o Higgins
Aloft Vina Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing