We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful.”
Review of Hotel O'Higgins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel O'Higgins
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Vina del Mar
Reviewed 4 December 2010

Yellow water. Dust, dirt and hair on the floor. Security is questionable. One key fits man locks. Windows adjacent to flat rooftops do not close. Crowded with noisy ravers and other shirtless party animals. Under construction. Large dark corridors lead you to your room with no light, just after you walked out of a scary staircase. We ended up leaving and booking elsewhere after seeing over 5 rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amblouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2010

We stayed for 3 days in early December, 2009, and found the Old Lady very comfortable, but old-fashioned. The lobby area is gorgeous, and recently renovated. Sadly, the Chilean government owns the building, and will only give PanAmerican Hotels a one-year lease. Hence, no more renovations.
We had a balcony room on the park, at first. Very entertaining, but too noisy and worn.
Then we got a 3rd floor room on the river. Much quieter, and a lot less wear and tear.
The staff were wonderfully helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureenconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

I stayed here after staying at 3 other recommended hotels in Vina, and finally found what I was searching for - a stylish, welcoming, spacious, grand old hotel that had that Latin American touch, yet with fluent English speaking staff (now in elegant, slow decline, but was once 5 star). The service was excellent and the breakfast (included in the extremely low rate of $70 a night) amongst the best that can be obtained in Chile. What helps this hotel stand out is its location on a lovely, large plaza, with nice local restaurants just off, and its outdoor swimming pool. Believe it or not, this city has only 3 hotels with a pool, the Sheraton, the Casino and this hotel. But the rates at the first 2 are astronomic! My room was large and comfortable, with nice 70's bathroom fittings. The elevators have a uniformed operator - nice! And the parquet-floored common hallways must be amongst the widest Ive seen in 50 years of traveling. I was very content with the standards at this hotel, considering the rate is the same as at many 1 star hostels!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truth-revealed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

The description on the internet is VERY misleading! We looked at three rooms and all were as bad! Value, no! Clean, No! We felt very sorry for the staff who had to endure this depressing place!!!!
Over priced and poor! We were ment to be booked into a double superior, got twin, moved to double and still not good, so asked for best room, that was a suite.....well the antiques in the room were grand but value NOT! we got in a taxi and found elsewhere much better and for the same price.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kmck23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

Made a reservation direct with the hotel. Wen we arrived our room was still booked, must say that this seemed like a nice room. The room we eventually got was old and dark, after a very long discussion we got a discount and a free drink in the bar.
Breakfast was oke, but definitely not a 4-star hotel. It could use some renovation.

Stayed: January 2008
Thank faust1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2008

We stayed in this hotel for one night, we could not get into the sheriton as it was full.
This hotel was built in the 1930's and although very clean and friendly it was exceptionally tired.
The staff were delightful and genuine with regard to your interest, however the facilities and the comfort of the hotel was a little scarce.
The bedrooms although of a decent size were reminisent of a 40 year old english hotel with a small freestanding old fashioned samsung television, a free standing fridge (on the floor), no air conditioning, metal framed windows that were sort of rickety, a bathroom that was it appeared the original 1930's blueprint that was about to expire.
I said earlier however the place was clean in every regard and I guess that is the most important thing.
Not a hotel really to stay at for a luxury break, just a place to sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank williamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2008

According to the Lonely Planet guide, it's the "classiest" hotel to stay at in Vina del Mar, with a rating of 4 stars. The building was built in the 1930s...the oldest building in town. When we arrived, we walked past the building a few times as it looks like an old municipal building from the side. We walked in and it looked nice. Needed a little updating as the decor was more from the 70s but clean. We arrived at the front desk (the staff was helpful and nice) and noticed that pieces of the counter top needed replacing. (The hotel supposedly underwent a remodeling at the time of the writing of the Lonely Planet guide.) The elevator was cute, could fit about 3 people with two large luggages. It is an old style elevator where it needs to be manned by an operator who turns the wheel...the elevator came with a scissor gate and sliding wood door. Only four floors are being used for the hotel. Every window in the building is single-paned. The floors were all hardwood and the rooms varied in how updated they were (some with dated wallpaper and things like lavender toilets/bathtubs/sinks that were a bit of an eyesore). So far, not too bad right?

Well, they put us in a room that looked clean, with an unfamiliar cleanser smell that wasn't too unpleasant. The wallpaper was very textured and light blue everywhere. The bed was sagging a little bit and creaked when we sat down. There was a TV on a little cart with cable, and the room had a mini refrigerator. The window didn't shut completely. Still, not too bad. Definitely not what we were expecting for $100 US/night and a 4 star hotel, but still ok.

The next morning at 730a, we were awakened by a lot of noise. Considering we were on vacation and on our honeymoon, we didn't want to wake up that early. I'm a light sleeper, my husband a heavy sleeper. Let's just say we knew when people came up to the floor or left to go down to the lobby. The elevator can be heard going up and down and you can hear the scissor gates and the sliding door. Since there was no carpet, everything echoed and bounced off the walls. We could hear people talking clearly as they walked by; we heard their shoes clicking, we heard the cleaning staff rolling their cleaning carts, we heard new arrivals rolling their luggages. We could hear the staff joking around and laughing in their staff room. There are lots of stray dogs in the area outside...we heard them as well as the cars honking. We could hear the next door neighbor flush their toilet too. In the end, we asked for a different room, slightly further from the elevator, but it was only slightly better. We stayed there for 3 nights (when we were supposed to be there for 7) and ended up changing hotels.

I would think if you stayed in a room at the end of the hallway, the noise factor would probably be a lot better. But considering the high reviews it received from Lonely Planet as well as the 4 star rating, it definitely was not worth the price and definitely not worth re-experiencing.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sandr15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vina del Mar hotels
0.5 mi away
Gala Hotel & Centro de Eventos
Gala Hotel & Centro de Eventos
#39 of 49 in Vina del Mar
191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Marina Del Rey
Best Western Marina Del Rey
#8 of 49 in Vina del Mar
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 3poniente
Hotel 3poniente
#20 of 49 in Vina del Mar
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Blanca Hotel
La Blanca Hotel
#1 of 49 in Vina del Mar
488 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mar
Hotel del Mar
#4 of 49 in Vina del Mar
541 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Boutique Cassinetta
Hotel Boutique Cassinetta
#3 of 49 in Vina del Mar
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel O'Higgins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel O'Higgins

Address: Plaza Vergara w/n, Vina del Mar, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Vina del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Vina del Mar
Price Range: £65 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel O'Higgins 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel O'Higgins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel o Higgins
Aloft Vina Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing