We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place with some problems”
Review of Hotel San Martin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Martin
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Vina del Mar
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice place with some problems”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The Hotel is modern and in a gorgeous position right in fornt of the Ocean. Rooms are large, quite confortable and clean with splendid balconies. Breakfast is rich and variate. Personnel is polite and willing to help IF THEY UNderstand. The only real problem is in fact that most of the employees do not speak English and as it oftne happens in South America cuntries they are not willing to say it. Therefore communication can often be a quite frustrating experience.

Room Tip: Any room is great. Higher floors if you want quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank giulonragu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    251
    96
    17
    9
See reviews for
103
182
13
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
124 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Good rooms somewhere between the 4 and 5 star. That Said I don't like when a hotel has unique regulations in a bad way. We can early about 11 AM after a very long flight and asked for a room. we were asked to pay 50% extra for early check in. We needed to shower before a meeting and change so we didn't have a choice, taking extra for late check out is widely common and also logical. If they have a room available, why charge extra??

In addition, there was no iron available, when I asked for such, I was told that I cant get one and can only use the ironing service. I was limited in time so was stressed and needed to deal with this with a few phone calls to speed them up. not nice..

In addition, the sea is very noisy

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ukusin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is located in a really good location, close to many restaurants and pubs if you like to get out at night. It's a walking distance to the Casino, mall and to the beach (Av. Peru). The staff is very helpful and friendly. Breakfast really good.
If you don't like the ocean sound.. do not choose Ocean View, at night is like you are "in" the beach. At night this was too loud for me.
We were in two rooms, one very nice and spacious, but the double room was smaller and with a small bath too (no bathtub).

Room Tip: Rooms with ocean view are too loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank V3rin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Serena, Chile
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is located at a walking distance of everything you would need.. restaurants, mall, "victorias", etc. The hotel's staff is very kind and they are always ready to help you in anything you need.
The hotel's restaurant menu was also excellent, and the breakfast with many options (although the coffee was not the best).

The rooms are spacious, and comfortable. The only "problem" I found is that bathroom was too dark in my opinion.

Overall me and my family were very happy and will certainly stay again in the Hotel San Martin.

Room Tip: I know some rooms does not have A/C. The hotel is near the ocean so you might get that noise (I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppkamik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Get a room with a sight of the beach/ocean, listen to the waves at night as you doze, and walk the beach and the area - a charming stroll. Food is first rate at the hotel, but to savor Chile, walk from the hotel to the left-hand corner, cross the street and walk a quarter block to the first street, which is on a slight diagonal, turn right, walk two blocks and a large sign announcing "Empanadas" appears on your left. This carryout/sit-in-the-8-chairs-in-front shop sells the greatest variety of empanadas that I have seen anywhere...de horno, cheese, cheese and meat, fish, etc... and they ARE tasty. Don't miss it if you are in Viña. When I return to Viña, I will return to the San Martin!

Room Tip: Go for the beach view - traffic is on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimmyOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We went to the bar to meet some friends for drink. We were there for 2 1/2 hours and could get only one drink during that time. Service was terrible. Waitress had no interest in serving anyone. Everyones glasses were empty, our table and many others. Place was not full so I do not know what the delay was. We begged for the check so we could leave. Entertainment was good.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertnathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle J, Director Comercial at Hotel San Martin, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente:
Junto con saludarle con toda atención, lamentamos que la atención y servicio del Bar no hayan estado a su gusto.
Solicitamos a usted y a quienes lo acompañaron las respectivas disculpas, esperando que en una próxima visita a HSM, podamos cumplir con sus expectativas.
Atentamente, se despide
Michèlle E. F. Junod Soto
Gerente Comercial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chile
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have stayed here 4 times in the last 6 months, and the hotel is very well located and the but be careful of the room you get. We got room 525 and the heater did not work and the bathroom is very small compared to other rooms we have used. THe women who checked us in yesterday must have been new as she was finishing a check out in front of us that took her 25 minutes at 4;30 IN THE aftenoon. Ususally we breeze through checkin, but not Sunday June 1. Breakfeast is still great save the fact the they can never obtain strawberry jam. I have asked during every trip, but to no avail. Cut the crap and get it. Great ide to provide ear plugs. Get softer pillows

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldchannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vina del Mar hotels
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Hotel & Convention Center
0.8 mi away
Best Western Marina Del Rey
Best Western Marina Del Rey
#10 of 49 in Vina del Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel del Mar - Enjoy Vina del Mar - Casino & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Oceanic
Hotel Oceanic
#1 of 2 in Renaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Blanca Hotel
La Blanca Hotel
#1 of 49 in Vina del Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Cassinetta
Hotel Boutique Cassinetta
#4 of 49 in Vina del Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Martin

Property: Hotel San Martin
Address: Avenida San Martin 667, Vina del Mar 2520096, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Vina del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Vina del Mar
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Vina del Mar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vina del Mar
#4 Business Hotel in Vina del Mar
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Martin 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Martin, across the street from the beach, near the Casino, the best night clubs and nestled in the gastronomic heart of the City, San Martin Hotel is the best located hotel in Vina del Mar.Its rooms and suites are fully equipped to provide the guest with the maximum comfort. From the balcony in your room or from anywhere in the bulding you cant connect with Internet Wi-Fi.Everyhting is designed for the welfare of its guests: enjoy a drink at the bar or varied menu at the restaurant; continue with yout routine at the gym and follow it with a relaxing sauna; have a private office or book a meeting room.Your Restaurant and Bar "Don Joaquin" has varied cuisine created from a fusion of international and traditional Chilean ingredients, all accompanied by soothing live music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Martin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing