We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel Agora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Agora
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Vina del Mar
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here and we loved it, clean rooms, and very comfortable
We will stay here again when we come back in October as the location is grear,near restaurants and shops. I highly recommend it

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19jimmy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    36
    25
    3
    6
See reviews for
9
45
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed in this hotel last August, we found it very clean, comfortable and centrally located. The staff was nice, the rooms small but had everything we needed. The neighborhood was quiet, safe and fun, with lots of restaurants and shops close by. We liked it and would stay there again if we go back to Vina del Mar.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

I've stayed in a lot of places - five star to basic hostel - and this place seriously disappoints. We decided to stay here after having a difficult time finding an affordable place to stay in Vina del Mar (we were only there 1/2 a day) and we now wish we had chosen one of the other options. The only "positive" is that the location was okay.

Impressions of the hotel - colorful, staff was semi-helpful. However, we could not get over the following issues.

1) Our room - there were ants EVERYWHERE. Not just a few ants, hundreds of them. The bathroom appeared to have used towels hanging up and it was dirty. The shower looked so gross we chose not to shower there... honestly. The beds were extremely uncomfortable and noise echoed like crazy in the hallways which woke us up.

2) Internet - the one computer in the lobby area was broken. The owner of the hotel had his laptop plugged in (he was sitting at one of the tables) which means the one, broken computer was not plugged in. Every time I went over to try and use it, he would have to unplug his laptop (which he was unhappy about and he made it very visible with his facial expressions), re-plug in the computer, it would take time to boot up, then I would get the same error message over and over. He or the guy at the front desk made NO effort to try and fix the computer, or tell me (until I tried to use it several times throughout the day) that it was broken. The owner was sitting RIGHT there all day and he said nothing, nor was there a "broken" sign on the computer. When we asked where the closest internet cafe was we were sent to a place that was closed, and when we went back he sent us somewhere that was a 15-minute walk away (there had to have been one closer....). Overall, this was frustrating mostly because of the way the staff handled it.

Overall, it was dirty, there were bugs, the beds were uncomfortable, it was loud, the staff was unhelpful, the computer was broken.... I could go on and on...

Please stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank g0traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vina del Mar hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2006

We got the reference for this hotel from the "Rough Guide" to Chile. We stayed at the Agora 2 nights at the end of November. This is a small hotel on a quiet street close to the seashore with many restaurants around and about a 15 min. walk to the main beaches. The room was simple but large enough and included a small fridge. The hotel itself is very colorful, there's a different pastel color on every floor and some walls have huge paintings reminding Dali. The staff was very friendly and fluent in English. For about 60$ US/night,(it was still off-season) I think it was a very good deal.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank courcellesqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vina del Mar hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel 3poniente
Hotel 3poniente
#20 of 49 in Vina del Mar
109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hispano Hotel
Hispano Hotel
#9 of 49 in Vina del Mar
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monaldi
Hotel Monaldi
#21 of 49 in Vina del Mar
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ankara
Hotel Ankara
#14 of 49 in Vina del Mar
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gala Hotel & Centro de Eventos
Gala Hotel & Centro de Eventos
#37 of 49 in Vina del Mar
182 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Camino del Alto
Hotel Camino del Alto
#24 of 49 in Vina del Mar
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agora

Property: Hotel Agora
Address: 5 1/2 Poniente 253, Vina del Mar, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Vina del Mar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Vina del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Agora 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Agora is located in the Vina del Mar's heart. Excellent relation between price/quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Agora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing