We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grill House

The Grill House
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Allegan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect for the evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

My husband and I enjoyed this restaurant. We decided to eat in the pub area and it was perfect for what we wanted to dine on that night. The service and food were good. We enjoyed it so much we decided to go back again, this time on a Sunday evening. The band was wonderful that evening and we were able to relax, have pleasant service again, and good food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    56
    24
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst service ever!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Saw this place on travel channel.... Drove from chicago to michigan for the wine fest.... We were told the grills would be an hour wait so we were sent downstairs..The waitress Amy was nice...we placed or order at 5:20...There were 4 people in my group 3 of us ordered from the kitchen (a burger, chicken sandwich and the perch dinner.. I ordered a steak from upstairs... The appetizer titled bucket of scraps was just that SCRAPS.... At 6:00 I was told I could go upstairs and pick up my steak and sides....(no one else at my table had received their food at this time)... Once I return to the table Amy says to the rest of my party your food should be right out..... So I'm eating my steak and the assistant Mgr asks US why haven't we gotten our food..... We are told again its coming needless to say the food never came and the explanation given was they were backed up because of the (Tim Mcgraw concert).... Fyi people who came in after us were served their food in a somewhat timely fashion....

I won't ever return!!!!!

They did comp my steak.... But my wife and god parents left STARVING!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jabez2137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Grille House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We went to the Grille House and got lucky, just waited a few minutes and got a glider seat outside. It was the weekday and we were able to have the restaurant cook our food on the Grille for us. Weekends they a can not do that. I have never cooked on a grille so happy, the waitress was so sweet and checked on our table several times. The manager also checked in on us. He was really kind, not intrusive and talked to us after we ate. The food really good. Great Place to eat and be spoiled.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellaire, Texas
Level Contributor
441 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Good--better than average, not quite very god”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

After seeing the restaurant on TV, we tried it last night. They had a band outside and the landscape around the restaurant was pretty. We were pleased with the food and service. I did not want to cook my own steak but the waitress encourged me to do it and it was fun. The steak was nice and tender. The salad and potato were OK. We sat inside since there was no room outside.The room was drab. I think that the prices are reasonable. I would probably go back and try to sit ourside . I think that that would make a big difference.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomFromBellaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

My Parents visit from Texas once a year and we always take them to The Grill House for lunch. The outdoor setting on one of the Glider Tables is great, the service was stellar and the sandwiches were awesome as usual topped off with a cold beer. Great Time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marty1960_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grill House also viewed

Allegan, Allegan County
Allegan, Allegan County
 

Been to The Grill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing