We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great menu and outdoor eating”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grill House

The Grill House
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Allegan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
1,250 reviews
457 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
“Great menu and outdoor eating”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Very charming place with a great menu. Only place near our hotel, The Castle in the Country. Gliders available, and a pretty good bar.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    55
    24
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
various
Level Contributor
421 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“One of a kind!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience at the Grillhouse! We dined with a party of 4, chose outdoor seating on the deck and found it extra comfy when we were seated at a glider. It was a new experience and really fun choosing our steaks and grilling them. The family style salad and sides were wonderful! The steaks and seafood are excellent quality. Drinks were excellent. Service by Jessica was top-notch, she was very friendly and attentive. The atmosphere was great and the weather cooperated, it was a beautiful evening. Prices are a bit high, but we don't mind paying the price when everything is exceptional. And we found everything excellent and deserving of our 5-star rating! (Our only disappointment was the band did not show up!) Regardless, we recommend The Grillhouse, Allegan, Michigan!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelers966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allegan, MI
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent place to dine.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The food and service is top notch. Grill your own steak if you wish!! A delightful country atmosphere will greet you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k711rags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, pretty outdoor area but terrible customer service from management”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We enjoyed our meal and the outdoor space was comfortable and great for the kids. However, the manager handled a discrepancy with our bill very poorly. No apology was made about a false statement given to us by the staff. In fact the manager walked over to our table and stood there without saying anything or introducing herself. When we explained the problem she simply said well did you like your steak? No attempt was made to resolve our issue, appologize or explain. We left with a bitter taste in our mouths and wouldn't go back unfortunately.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bshepherd26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best in the Area”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Friendly staff, great food at a good price. I was in the area for two days and had supper there each day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Len S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grill House also viewed

Allegan, Allegan County
Allegan, Allegan County
 

Been to The Grill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing