We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What We Were Expecting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DeLano Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Allegan B&B and Inns
Flint, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not What We Were Expecting”
Reviewed 15 February 2011

My husband and I stayed under the current owner and were quite disappointed. We stayed in the Davis Suite, which was quite beautiful; however, we had multiple issues with our room.

First, we had only been there a couple hours when the toilet overflowed. It was the first time it had been used, and no reason for it to have done that. The owner came in and mopped and plunged and had indicated that it's hard to get parts for the toilet as if this has happened before. It was still embarrassing.

Next, that evening we were in the bathroom with the door shut, and we went to open the door and the handle fell off. We were stuck inside without any way to get help. Luckily, the one wall of the bathroom had a partition where my husband climbed up and over the wall and stepping down onto the jacuzzi, which was not an easy feat to accomplish. I don't know what we would have done otherwise.

As a result, I will not go back there again. I have been to more than 15 bed and breakfasts around Michigan in the last four years (some more than once), and I have never experienced anything quite like that. The place was beautiful, but our experience was not what we were expecting.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amybarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    7
    3
    6
    4
See reviews for
8
39
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2011

The DeLano Inn is a beautiful victorian style mansion with spacious and comfortably appointed rooms. The Innkeeper/ Chef Scott is great; very sociable and knowledgeable about the area. The full service breakfasts were lovely, and pretty good about accounting for dietary restrictions when requested. The only thing I wasn't crazy about was the location; downtown Allegan is great to walk through, but in the winter you can see and do everything there is in 1/2 a day. Everything else is at least a 30 minute/ 20 mile drive away. The DeLano Mansion is perfect for a weekend stay where you plan on staying in your room for most of it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoPersnickety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

We were so happy to find that owner Scott could accommodate us when we called at the last minute. We stayed in the French Garden Suite, which was impeccably decorated, warm, beautiful, spacious, and separate from the main house (even with its own veranda). The price was very reasonable, considering the fact that we were in a luxury suite with gas fireplace and jacuzzi, a king-size comfy bed AND gourmet breakfasts! Scott could not have been friendlier (or a better chef) and he gave us a little history about the mansion itself. He arranged an in-room massage, gave recommendations about wineries and other places of interest. The entire home had beautiful character and it was in a fabulous location- in a small, quaint town, but close to other great towns (Holland, Saugatuck, Grand Rapids). I would go back in a heartbeat, and will certainly refer all of my friends to this B & B!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyalOakBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth mi
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2008

We decided to get away for the weekend, and found the DeLano Mansion to be exactlly what we needed. Our room was decorated in victorian decor, elegant, but not stuffy or like grandmas house. The room was spotless, with pressed linens, and Lands End towels, they wer sooo soft. Wanted to take them with us..lol. They have a great video library for free, with DVD players in the guest rooms. Breakfast were great, nice selection of breads and fruits from their first course buffet, then main entree's were brought out to us plated. The coffee was awsome, some blend of Kona from Hawaii, and something else.
Scott and the staff were very helpful, with restaurants suggestions, map, and ides for things to do. For dining the Journeyman cafe is a must go, organic food created by somre real "food artisons" The olive, artichike and walnut pesto wood fired pizza is a must have!!!! YUM
We brought our laptop for emails, and had no problem getting on the system.

We will be back in the summer to see the new gardens, it should be beautiful, with the fountain going, and the gardens in bloom.

Steve

  • Liked — great hospitality, felt like home, great innkeepers, breakfasts!!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zingerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2008

WOW - this place is gorgeous and far exceeded our expectations. In fact, we ended up staying an additional night because we did not want to leave.

Scott is a very friendly and personable host and an excellent cook. We stayed in the Davis suite which you have to see in person to truly appreciate as pictures do not do this suite or this Inn justice. This is by far the most beautiful Inn and room that we have ever stayed in at a B & B.

Also, who knew that Allegan was such a great town with so much charm? We fell in love with this little town and cannot believe that we have never heard of it. This is a perfect location as Saugatuck is only about 15 minutes away and Grand Rapids, Holland, Kalamazoo, are all within 30 minutes.

We will most definitely be back!

The Archer’s

  • Liked — The home, the town, the location, the food, the host
  • Disliked — There is nothing not to like - this place is amazing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jrarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, IL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2007

We just spent a wonderful weekend in Southwest Michigan at the DeLano Inn in Allegan. Scott is a wonderful innkeeper and breakfast chef. The house is beautiful and we were made to feel very much at home; we loved the swing on the front porch. They were able to give us excellent suggestions for dining and color on this antique-filled Victoria. You will have a wonderful time if you choose to stay at the DeLano.

  • Liked — Location & charm of the house
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzSorensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 December 2003

We saw the website, and the place was better than any picture could display, the furniture and decorating was impeccable, and the food was wonderful!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allegan
11.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 1 in Plainwell
89 reviews
17.7 mi away
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Shelbyville
459 reviews
21.4 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
841 reviews
22.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
1.1 mi away
Allegan Budget Host Inn
Allegan Budget Host Inn
#1 of 1 in Allegan
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeLano Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeLano Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: DeLano Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 302 Cutler St, Allegan, MI 49010-1210
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Allegan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Allegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — DeLano Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When looking for a Michigan Bed and Breakfast, the DeLano Mansion Inn stands apart from the rest. Located in central Southwest Michigan in the charming small town of Allegan, we offer superior lodging in the Saugatuck/Douglas, and Holland areas. The DeLano Mansion is the perfect place for that romantic getaway, spend your honeymoon in Michigan at the DeLano, or if you are wishing to celebrate your anniversary, our spa and romance packages will set the mood for your relaxing and romantic getaway in Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your DeLano Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing