We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“"Peaceful Paradise" in the Country” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Allegan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hammond, Indiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"Peaceful Paradise" in the Country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

My husband and I very much enjoyed our stay at Castle in the Country. We celebrated our 3-year wedding anniversary at the Castle, and what a perfect romantic getaway it was!

There is truly something for everyone here. The breakfasts were phenomenal (the best pancakes I've ever had)! After breakfast we relaxed and enjoyed the beautiful grounds and nature surrounding us. So peaceful! The highlight of our stay was when we walked to the boathouse on the private lake and took a quick nap with the soothing sounds around us.

In the evenings, we enjoyed visiting the nearby towns of Holland, South Haven, Saugatuck and Douglas, MI. There are wonderful shops and restaurants along the lakefront (all within reasonable driving distance from the Bed and Breakfast).

You will definitely thank yourself for booking a stay at Castle in the Country! We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystal Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    29
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
210
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northville, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Our visit to Castle in the Country was given as a wedding gift certificate from several friends. Accomodations were easy to make even though the certificate was nearly a year old. Our room was attractive, clean and comfortable with a hot tub and an enclosed, private toilet. The web site for the Inn gave a very good representation of the room. We explored the grounds and took advantage of the the paddle boat on the lake. Our delicious and creative breakfasts were served at a table for two. We took side trips to areas around the Inn and found Holland, Michigan to be interesting. We will definitely return next year when we want to enjoy each other's company in serene, beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Reservations were easy. The web site gives a good representation of the property.

When we arrived, they offered to make changes to the meal at no charge to accommodate a pre-wedding diet I am on. That was very nice of them.

We stayed in the Jewel Box, which is a very small room, but they did some magic with the space, because it didn't feel small at all. Very well designed.

This property has two buildings. One is historic and near the road. The second is contemporary and back toward the lake. We stayed in the historic building. When inside the building, it is very quiet. Sitting around the building was not relaxing, because the traffic was disturbing.

We spent the afternoon on Saturday sitting around the building away from the road. We could not hear the traffic at all when near this building. They have a FANTASTIC screened in porch at this building that we took a two hour nap in. It was great.

The kayaks were a lot of fun and were no additional charge.

The innkeeper recommended that we eat at The Grillhouse. GREAT SUGGESTION!

Unlimited free delicious cookies!!!!

When they say this place is "in the country" they are telling the truth!!!! Your cell phone may cut out and you may lose GPS periodically. If you're looking to truly GET AWAY, this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We had a wonderful weekend. Everything was just perfect. Ruth was the perfect host as well. Highly recommended. The surrending area is amazing and very welcoming. The room was everything the pictures showed it to be and the entire weekend was the most relaxing weekend I can ever remember. We will be back! Thank you so much for everything.

Room Tip: Any room is perfect at this location we stayed in the King Arthur suite. Simple amazing. I highly re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Romance was in the air! My husband and I eloped to Castle in the Country, and we couldn't have asked for a more perfect weekend away for the two of us. Ruth had everything set up for us, from a romantic picnic basket lunch to our vows - flowers, cake, officiant and photos all taken care of! We just showed up and BAM! We're married. It was the greatest experience of my life. I will always have a special place in my heart for Castle in the Country. My husband and I cannot wait to get back there for more relaxation, pampering, serene setting and much much more! It really is one magical place you have to see to believe!

Room Tip: All rooms are special - ENJOY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Great get a way with best friend couple. beautiful rooms and delishious gourmet breakfast. Attentive inkeepers.
Very quiet during evening. overall very happy.

Room Tip: Getting to 3rd floor may be challanging for some people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aphrodite C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodhaven, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

This was an amazing way to celebrate our 35 year wedding anniversary. The Castle in the Country Bed and Breakfast Inn was a wonderful experienced. The place is beautiful, clean, fresh. The surroundings, breath taking, it is well care for. We felt at peace with nature, watching and hearing the different kinds of birds singing. But what impressed us the most, was the breakfast! A unique experience. Hats of the chef on this one. Quality food and an excellent presentation. The hostess wonderful.

We would return, soon.
Sincerely,
Cliff and Lidia

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lidia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allegan
20.3 mi away
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Shelbyville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
17.9 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
10.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 1 in Plainwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast
22.6 mi away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
5.9 mi away
DeLano Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 340 M 40 S, Allegan, MI 49010-9609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Allegan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Allegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on 65 secluded acres at our Southwest Michigan bed and breakfast, with private lake and walking trails. Book romantic rooms and suites at our Michigan inn and spa with comfy King or Queen beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and Wi-Fi. Enjoy a full gourmet breakfast, indulge in our on-site spa and enjoy delicious dinners at our romantic Michigan getaway. If you are looking for an inn in Saugatuck area or a romantic Allegan hotel, escape to Castle in the Country B&B Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle In The Country Hotel Allegan
Castle In The Country Bed And Breakfast Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing