We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Allegan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very relaxing!!”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this B&B. Ruth was very accommodating when we had to have another room (at first) because the room we had originally booked needed some work. We did get into the room we had booked after 1 night in the other room, so we still had several days/nights to enjoy this room! We understand that things like this happen and we appreciated Ruth and her staff moving our suitcases, etc. so we could enjoy our vacation. Herb is an excellent chef...everything is made from scratch and is very delicious. Definitely a place where one feels relaxed and not hurried. Hope to be back.

Room Tip: If you stay in "The Keep" you won't hear the traffic on M-40.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We had a water main break just a night before your visit so we were working hard to get everything right for you and were so thankful that you were willing to take another room until we could make everything right in the room you had actually booked. :-)

We were so glad you enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere at the Inn and the food and we'd love to have you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    30
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
223
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful week of relaxation and tranquility at this amazing bed and breakfast. All of our needs were met and exceeded. Ruth and her staff made everything so easy and comfortable. All meals were tasty and abundant.The spa staff was professional, personable and considerate. The grounds are beautiful. I especially enjoyed the trails and the lake activities. This was truly a unique and rewarding experience. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Christi,
We loved being part of your "Just me and you...and our closest few" weekday wedding package and the bonus for us was being able to help you with all the details of your whole week stay. You were a wedding planners dream bride and groom because you just wanted to relax and enjoy your family and friends during the wedding day festivities and you were so easy to work with.
Since you chose the Day at the Kingdom Spa package to add to your visit, all of our spa service providers were able to take part in pampering the two of you.
All of us at Castle in the Country are honored to have been a part of your amazing wedding week and we can't wait to welcome you back for many, many anniversaries to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Castle in the Country was the # 1 BEST CHOICE to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary. Well worth the drive from Canada. Our room was "Sir Lancelot" which had a great panoramic view of the pond and the rolling hills in the distance of corn fields. The entire room was CLEAN and the king size bed was perfect. Breakfast was fantastic which held us over until we had dinner in the evening and was served in a beautiful dining room. We sat by the window which was overlooking the pond, and in the back ground soft music was heard. Each evening, we enjoyed the open gas flamed fire pit. Highly recommended for anyone to enjoy their romantic getaway. I promise you, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 74dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear Guests,
We had so much fun hosting the two of you for your 30th Anniversary! It's such an honor to be the #1 Best Choice for a couple that obviously knows how to make the most of their vacation experience. Wishing you many, many more anniversary getaways and hoping we get to be a part of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My husband and I just visited for our 5th wedding anniversary and stayed in the Crowning Suite. This was our first trip together since our honeymoon and first B&B experience. Couldn't have asked for anything more amazing! The massages were perfect, the food was out of this world, and just the overall general atmosphere was serene and peaceful. It's the perfect setting - close enough to nice restaurants, beaches, or other fun activities, but far enough out of the cities/towns that you don't feel obligated to be on the go if you don't want to! The staff certainly makes you feel at home and is very accommodating adding special touches to every detail. As a very busy couple with very busy toddlers, we were able to reconnect again and that is an amazing gift for us!

Room Tip: The Castle Keep building is a more modern atmosphere and the Castle itself is a bit more true to its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTancos99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear Guests,
Thanks so much for your review. We're so glad all the details that we feel are important were important to you and that you could relax and reconnect with each other for your 5th anniversary. We know how important (and yet, how rare) it is for couple's to take the time for each other, so we're committed to make sure that every part of any package you add to your stay at Castle in the Country will hit the mark of making you feel pampered and cared for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My wife and I have always been skeptical of the whole Bed & Breakfast idea . . . Castle in the Country completely changed our perspective! We always thought communal breakfast and lots of interaction with the inn keepers and other guests. The inn keepers, while extremely friendly and helpful, stay out of your way and you can interact with other guest as much or as little as you prefer. The breakfast is intimate as well, with your own private table and a great view.

We really enjoyed our time at Castle in the Country and are looking forward to getting back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We're so glad we could change your perspective about B&Bs ...and maybe your review will help to change the minds of a few others who have the same worries about choosing us. We love it when guests help us debunk some of the myths about Bed and breakfasts, but mostly we love being part of great getaways.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My husband I stayed at Castle in the Country for part of our honeymoon two years ago and this summer was our third stay. We love The King Arthur suite with it's floor to ceiling window overlooking the pond and the soothing décor inside. This B&B leaves nothing to chance from the amazing breakfasts to the lovely gardening to the overall peace and tranquility they strive to impart. The private lake is wonderful as are the green farmlands viewed from the property. We will return again...and again....and again.

Room Tip: We recommend a room at the Castle Keep although the rooms are equally nice at the main house. The ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear Guests,
We love it when honeymooners find our B&B because we get to have you back year after year:-) So, whenever your life gets crazy and you need a bit of peace and tranquility...come on back to the Country and we'll be thrilled to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, il
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights in the Jewel Box room. We LOVED the grounds. We walked the trails to the lake. Sat in the gazebo by the pond and were visited by a very friendly cat. The breakfasts were tasty. We especially enjoyed the fresh fruit and wonderful scones. Wish I had the recipes. I only wish that we could have walked to town. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welovemichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for your kind review of our Inn. Even in our coziest room, The Jewel Box, we're always happy when our guests get a chance to enjoy their time together while enjoying the grounds of Castle in the Country. . We've noticed that couples such as yourselves want to take full advantage of their time on the property and less $$ on the room so we're happy to oblige with our two classic rooms and their comfortable price.
Thanks for asking for the recipe for the scones that you enjoyed. We do have the Cream Scones on our Blog "Within the Kingdom" and I've asked Herb to add the Maple Oatmeal Pecan Scones as soon as possible so I'll send you an email soon.
As with everything, there are some trade offs for living in the middle of nowhere and out in the country, and one is that we can't walk to town, but after experiencing the peace and quiet that you and all of our guests experience here, we hope you will agree with one of our favorite sayings, "A Day in the Country is worth a Month in Town".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allegan
20.4 mi away
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Shelbyville
464 reviews
10.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 1 in Plainwell
90 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
DeLano Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast
17.8 mi away
Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast
22.5 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 24 in Saugatuck
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 340 M 40 S, Allegan, MI 49010-9609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Allegan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Allegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on 65 secluded acres at our Southwest Michigan bed and breakfast, with private lake and walking trails. Book romantic rooms and suites at our Michigan inn and spa with comfy King or Queen beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and Wi-Fi. Enjoy a full gourmet breakfast, indulge in our on-site spa and enjoy delicious dinners at our romantic Michigan getaway. If you are looking for an inn in Saugatuck area or a romantic Allegan hotel, escape to Castle in the Country B&B Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle In The Country Hotel Allegan
Castle In The Country Bed And Breakfast Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing