We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in Allegan!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Allegan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at the Castle from 4/5-4/7/14 and had a wonderful experience. The breakfast each morning was fantastic, and our room was perfect (the Jewel Box)! We were able to enjoy some of the local attractions, including a horseback ride at the Wild West Ranch in Allegan, and went wine tasting at Fenn Valley in Fenville. We also indulged in a couple's massage at the Spa on the property and it was a great experience. The staff had many suggestions on where to go and what to see, and were very helpful with all of our needs. We would definitely come back soon! And I almost forgot, the homemade cookies they make each day for guests are AMAZING!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheremek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guests,
We loved hosting your visit to our Inn for your romantic getaway and were thrilled that you had a great time in our Jewel Box room. Our entire staff had so much fun suggesting all the best restaurants, horse back riding and winery visits in our area and we're so glad that you took advantage of our Side by Side Couples Massage. We'd love to have you back sometime soon and can promise more delicious breakfasts and a filled cookie jar in your future visit.:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

Found this place online and it turns out we had friends get married here several years ago. Stayed for our 5 year anniversary and it was wonderful. Going back again in the Spring time to hopefully enjoy some warmer weather and scenery.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Guests,
We're so glad we could help to make your 5 year anniversary getaway a wonderful experience, and what a happy happenstance that Castle in the Country is now a shared experience for you and your friends who were married here as well! We're honored to be part of weddings and anniversaries and babymoons, honeymoons, romantic getaways...any reason to celebrate being together.
We're looking forward to seeing you again soon and we'll be hoping for beautiful spring weather to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We had a wonderful experience at this Inn. While looking for somewhere to celebrate our twentieth anniversary, we serendipitously came across this bed & breakfast online. They accommodated our last minute reservations. Everything was outstanding! From the immaculate surroundings, to the presentation and delicious dinner and breakfast prepared for us by our host. The staff was considerate and pleasant. It was obvious the Boven's are experienced innkeepers and hosts, as a guests every need has been anticipated and provided for! We have traveled extensively throughout the state, and Castle Country Inn is a outstanding Michigan Bed & Breakfast. Exquisite accommodations and beautiful property to explore. This Inn is definitely on our "return to visit" list! Thank you for a wonderful anniversary!

Room Tip: Any room at the inn is outstanding and has a character all its own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sniffles w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

We loved hosting your 20th anniversary! It's exciting for us when there's a great match between what our guests were looking for on the internet and the service we provide. Since we've been here for 20+ years its very rewarding to have a reviewer like you find us to be one of the best B&Bs in Michigan. We can't wait to have you back sometime soon and hope you'll be back to enjoy the spring or summer here in the country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We browsed the internet looking for a great B & B to stay at that was more modern and not too far from home. We saw the pictures online of Castle in the Country and fell in love with it instantly. We were not disappointed when we arrived. Ruth was a great hostess and so very helpful with suggestions of where to go and what to do. Her husband was a fabulous cook (breakfasts are INCREDIBLE). The whole experience was relaxing and so very special, we can't wait to come back. The only thing we didn't absolutely love was the mattress, the memory foam generated a lot of heat while sleeping and was a bit too firm. Loved the fireplace.

Room Tip: The Romeo & Juliet Suite was absolutely stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MicahEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Guest,
We're so impressed with the time our guests take to research the perfect honeymoon location and we're thrilled that you fell in love with our place and then, felt that all the food and service were exactly what you wanted. Although a few of our rooms do include the memory foam mattress tops and there are some guests who absolutely love them, most of our rooms just feature great mattresses that do not have the memory foam. So, feel free to ask our Innkeepers about that detail if you'd like some help picking the perfect room for you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had a wonderful stay, including cups of coffee in the sitting room overlooking the pond, delicious breakfasts and nature walks each morning. The only issue we had was the fireplace in our room didn't work the entire time we were there and our room was cold. Despite this, however, we would enjoy a return visit during the summer or even the winter to try out the other seasonal offerings.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kjblank11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Guest,
We're so glad you enjoyed so much about your visit to our Inn and experienced a "wonderful stay". We try very hard to make sure that every detail of our guest rooms work perfectly for every guest and since your visit we have replaced the faulty thermostat for the fireplace so we really appreciated the fact that you told us about the problem...we're just sorry we weren't able to replace it immediately during your visit.
We'd love to have you visit again in the near future and we're happy to hear that you're looking forward to experiencing all the seasons at Castle in the Country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Just got back from a wonderful weekend getaway with my husband at this adorable Bed & Breakfast. Rooms are just wonderful, location is beautiful, breakfast and picnic lunch were delicious and Ruth could not have been more hospitable. Far too often people spend time complaining about the little things in life and I wanted to make sure to give credit where due here. This really was a fabulous find and if you are looking for a relaxing getaway, this location is it. Lots to do in the surrounding area with good suggestions from Ruth and again, every little effort to make our stay enjoyable was met with lots of little unexpected extras. Look no further, this is the place to go. Thanks for giving us a much needed "time-out" from real life and something we look forward to going back to soon!

Room Tip: Stayed in the Kingdom Suite. Was very quaint and would highly recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wgates8561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Guest,
We are so honored to have hosted an "Amazing weekend getaway" for you two. I know that as business owners yourselves the time you get to be away together is rare and always too short, so I'm glad all the small details in the room and property that we provide as well as the personal recommendations we make for the "best of the best" restaurants, wineries, brew pubs, shopping etc. hit the mark for giving you just what you needed. Hope you can "steal away" again sometime soon and take a time out from your real life responsibilities for sharing some time here at Castle in the Country, just for the two of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I just celebrated our 15th Wedding Anniversary at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn. We had an amazing time. This was our first Bed & Breakfast experience so we were not sure what to expect. We were checked in promptly at 4:00 p.m. by Ruth and was given an overview of the inn as well as the local area. We stayed in the Kingdom room and were both amazed at how large and charming the room was. The king size bed was very comfortable and the fireplace was beautiful. On Saturday morning we enjoyed a couple's massage at the Inn and ate a wonderful cheese basket filled with wine, cheese, bread, etc. The town of Allegan is located where it was very easy for us to go explore Saugatuck and Holland. We ate two delicious dinners - one in Fennville and the other in Kalamazoo. The scenery was very serene and private. It is truly a romantic destination. We will definitely be back!! Thanks Ruth and Herb!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Guest,
You're Fabulous and thank you for sharing with our Trip Advisor readers about your amazing anniversary visit in the Kingdom suite. When our guests are celebrating something as special as an anniversary, we're thrilled when they pick a suite that's the right fit for them! We think this original master bedroom of the castle has all the necessary bells and whistles to celebrate in total comfort and luxurious surroundings and we're glad you enjoyed all 600 square feet of the space. We find that our guests who book our Royal Treatment package, like you did, get the most of our their visit with the side by side couple's massage and the picnic basket to follow right in their guest room. So glad you shared your experience with us and with our future guests, and hope you won't wait for another 15 years to go by before you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allegan
20.4 mi away
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Shelbyville
478 reviews
16.2 mi away
Kingsley House Bed and Breakfast Inn
17.8 mi away
Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
DeLano Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast
22.6 mi away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
5.9 mi away
Allegan Country Inn
Allegan Country Inn
#3 of 4 in Allegan
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 340 M 40 S, Allegan, MI 49010-9609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Allegan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Allegan
Price Range: £120 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on 65 secluded acres at our Southwest Michigan bed and breakfast, located near Saugatuck area and with private lake and walking trails. Book today in our romantic rooms and suites with comfy King or Queen beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and Wi-Fi. Enjoy a full gourmet breakfast, at your own individual table for two, indulge in our on-site spa and enjoy delicious dinners at our romantic getaway. If you are looking for an inn in Saugatuck area or a romantic Allegan hotel, escape to Castle in the Country B&B Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle In The Country Hotel Allegan
Castle In The Country Bed And Breakfast Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing