We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Allegan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Different”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Good looking place, but don't let the looks fool you. I speak of the "Jewel Box Room". Almost every wall is on an angle anyone over four feet tall would smack their head if not very careful, I'm six feet. I felt like I was doing a zombie walk around the place. My partner left the closet a bit too quickly and ended up flat on her butt with a sore head. I have no idea why they can't make safe doors. The bed was up against a wall that was mainly ceiling, I couldn't sit up in bed comfortably to watch TV. Talking about comfort, the bathroom has walls that don't reach the ceiling, a window that doesn't open, and no exhaust fan. You can guess the rest of the story.
The breakfasts (I was their for two nights), were very tasty but limited, I hope you're not a big eater, no seconds of anything but coffee and juice.

Room Tip: Avoid the third floor if you like vertical walls and head room. The "Castle" is very close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Len S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,
We were sorry to hear from your review that you weren’t comfortable in the Jewel Box room. Out of ten individual and Unique guest rooms, the Jewel Box and Golden Tower are our only modest sized rooms- a difference in size that is reflected in their price point. Our web site photos of the room show the space very accurately and although some of the angles of the space may pose a challenge to individuals that are 6 foot or taller, many people find the 3rd floor location of this room as quite charming and quaint.
In reference to your question regarding why we “can’t make safe doors” - the door to the Jewel Box closet, as well as the angled ceilings and stain glass windows, are original to the 106 year old Victorian “Castle”. We want to acknowledge safety as an important issue, and based on your suggestion, we will be taking steps to highlight the low height of the closet door from inside that space and we'll provide alternative hooks for storage outside of the closet.
Aside from being a staff favorite, many guests through the years have found the Jewel Box a small but cozy room that suited them perfectly (as most recently indicated in a recent Trip Advisor review from April 8). We are sorry to hear that it wasn’t the right fit for you. Thank you for your advice to future guests, and we’d like to echo your input and encourage prospective guests to fully explore our website featuring pictures of all ten of our unique rooms, including our eight spacious whirlpool suites. As always, we recommend that our guests talk with our Innkeepers directly about any questions they have regarding the features or amenities of our Inn both before and during the booking process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    29
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
212
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allen Park, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is our second time at Castle in the Country. For our second time we decided to have our wedding there. The whole staff made our day perfect!. As always everything was first class from our room, to our wedding, to breakfast. Needless to say this won't be out last visit there as we are already planning our next trip up there. To Ruth,Herb,Emily,and Bresan thanks for all you did to make our weekend perfect. We will see you soon! To anyone looking for that perfect getaway this place is a must!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sir Lancelot, our favorite so far!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guests,
We loved hosting your second visit to our B&B and we especially Loved hosting your wedding! We all felt so honored to be part of your special day and we are really looking forward to welcoming you back sometime soon. Warmest wishes to the Bride and Groom from the entire Castle in the Country family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby Township, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband and I were celebrating our 45th Anniversary. We had a wonderful time watching the many species of birds and enjoying a glass of wine in the lovely gazebo. We took a hike on the grounds and found a quiet place to reflect on the lake. Ruth and Herb are great hosts. Our breakfasts were to die for and our room The King Arthur was fantastic I loved the view we had from our room overlooking the. pond. We also enjoyed the resident cat Abbey. We would certainly recommend this B&B to our friends. We also plan to return in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guests,
We are always so honored to share our B&B with Anniversary Couples! It makes us smile to see our guests relaxing in the gazebo and sharing our excitement about watching the many beautiful birds that surround our property. Thanks so much for sharing your recommendation of our place with your friends...we are always grateful for the help of our great guests for sending us more great guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at the Castle from 4/5-4/7/14 and had a wonderful experience. The breakfast each morning was fantastic, and our room was perfect (the Jewel Box)! We were able to enjoy some of the local attractions, including a horseback ride at the Wild West Ranch in Allegan, and went wine tasting at Fenn Valley in Fenville. We also indulged in a couple's massage at the Spa on the property and it was a great experience. The staff had many suggestions on where to go and what to see, and were very helpful with all of our needs. We would definitely come back soon! And I almost forgot, the homemade cookies they make each day for guests are AMAZING!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheremek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guests,
We loved hosting your visit to our Inn for your romantic getaway and were thrilled that you had a great time in our Jewel Box room. Our entire staff had so much fun suggesting all the best restaurants, horse back riding and winery visits in our area and we're so glad that you took advantage of our Side by Side Couples Massage. We'd love to have you back sometime soon and can promise more delicious breakfasts and a filled cookie jar in your future visit.:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Found this place online and it turns out we had friends get married here several years ago. Stayed for our 5 year anniversary and it was wonderful. Going back again in the Spring time to hopefully enjoy some warmer weather and scenery.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Guests,
We're so glad we could help to make your 5 year anniversary getaway a wonderful experience, and what a happy happenstance that Castle in the Country is now a shared experience for you and your friends who were married here as well! We're honored to be part of weddings and anniversaries and babymoons, honeymoons, romantic getaways...any reason to celebrate being together.
We're looking forward to seeing you again soon and we'll be hoping for beautiful spring weather to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We had a wonderful experience at this Inn. While looking for somewhere to celebrate our twentieth anniversary, we serendipitously came across this bed & breakfast online. They accommodated our last minute reservations. Everything was outstanding! From the immaculate surroundings, to the presentation and delicious dinner and breakfast prepared for us by our host. The staff was considerate and pleasant. It was obvious the Boven's are experienced innkeepers and hosts, as a guests every need has been anticipated and provided for! We have traveled extensively throughout the state, and Castle Country Inn is a outstanding Michigan Bed & Breakfast. Exquisite accommodations and beautiful property to explore. This Inn is definitely on our "return to visit" list! Thank you for a wonderful anniversary!

Room Tip: Any room at the inn is outstanding and has a character all its own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sniffles w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
We loved hosting your 20th anniversary! It's exciting for us when there's a great match between what our guests were looking for on the internet and the service we provide. Since we've been here for 20+ years its very rewarding to have a reviewer like you find us to be one of the best B&Bs in Michigan. We can't wait to have you back sometime soon and hope you'll be back to enjoy the spring or summer here in the country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We browsed the internet looking for a great B & B to stay at that was more modern and not too far from home. We saw the pictures online of Castle in the Country and fell in love with it instantly. We were not disappointed when we arrived. Ruth was a great hostess and so very helpful with suggestions of where to go and what to do. Her husband was a fabulous cook (breakfasts are INCREDIBLE). The whole experience was relaxing and so very special, we can't wait to come back. The only thing we didn't absolutely love was the mattress, the memory foam generated a lot of heat while sleeping and was a bit too firm. Loved the fireplace.

Room Tip: The Romeo & Juliet Suite was absolutely stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicahEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest,
We're so impressed with the time our guests take to research the perfect honeymoon location and we're thrilled that you fell in love with our place and then, felt that all the food and service were exactly what you wanted. Although a few of our rooms do include the memory foam mattress tops and there are some guests who absolutely love them, most of our rooms just feature great mattresses that do not have the memory foam. So, feel free to ask our Innkeepers about that detail if you'd like some help picking the perfect room for you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allegan
20.3 mi away
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Shelbyville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
17.9 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
22.6 mi away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast
5.9 mi away
DeLano Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast
17.0 mi away
Henderson Castle Inn
Henderson Castle Inn
#6 of 6 in Kalamazoo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 340 M 40 S, Allegan, MI 49010-9609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Allegan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Allegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on 65 secluded acres at our Southwest Michigan bed and breakfast, with private lake and walking trails. Book romantic rooms and suites at our Michigan inn and spa with comfy King or Queen beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and Wi-Fi. Enjoy a full gourmet breakfast, indulge in our on-site spa and enjoy delicious dinners at our romantic Michigan getaway. If you are looking for an inn in Saugatuck area or a romantic Allegan hotel, escape to Castle in the Country B&B Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle In The Country Hotel Allegan
Castle In The Country Bed And Breakfast Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing