We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to recharge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Allegan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect place to recharge”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Having travelled from the UK we needed a few days to ourselves between hectic visits to friends in Chicago and Detroit. CitC was the perfect place to unwind. We were impressed with the attention to detail that ensured our stay was restful and relaxing.

Room Tip: Go for the Kingdom Suite - great to have all that room - made it feel like home from home
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guests,
Sitting on the lawn overlooking the pond, walking hand in hand down the country lane on your way to breakfast, sharing a glass of wine in the gazebo, we were thrilled to see that you knew what you needed to recharge and refresh. Our country setting is within 2 1/2 hours from both Chicago and Detroit and we often find that our guests who are escaping the Big Cities are the most appreciative of how much the Green space all around us and the spacious and comfortable space of our Kingdom suite provides just the right environment to coax them into relaxing and recentering
. We really enjoyed hosting your visit "between friends" and from across the pond and hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    29
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
217
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My (now!) husband and I have been staying at Castle in the Country at least once a year for about three years now. Our first stay coincided with a really special time early in our relationship, so we decided to stay there for our honeymoon. We both had limited vacation time, so we thought a longer stay in western Michigan, close to where we were married, was perfect. The "kiss work goodbye" special is a very good deal for anyone looking for a longer stay.

The service was as great we remembered, and the room clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The only new thing I have to say is, if you are looking to splurge, book one of their packages. They might seem outrageously expensive at first, but the quality shocked us. We booked the Royal Package because we wanted a treat for our honeymoon. The massage was great, as you would expect from the price. The dinner voucher was a nice incentive to try new fine dining in the area. The biggest, most pleasant surprise was the picnic basket. We were expecting a bag of chips, stale crackers and some cheese in a bag. What we got was a huge loaf of homemade bread, mixed container of a good quantity of meat & cheese, chips, fruit, and bottle of wine in a duffle bag with plates and cutlery. It was so plentiful, we decided we didn't need to go out for dinner!

While we have moved away from Michigan, we hope to make it back every once in awhile.

Room Tip: Stay in the Camelot Suite if you are planning for a short romantic one or two night stay. This was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guests,
We love our repeat guests and it's always an honor for us to be chosen for a honeymoon visit. Thanks so much for telling our Trip Advisor readers about our "Kiss Work Goodbye" special with the 5th night Free. It makes for an inexpensive way to spend the time most couples need to spend quality time with each other to start their life together in a wonderful way.
It was also great to hear that you loved the special details in the Royal Treatment package and enjoyed the picnic basket provided with that...amazing how the little things can have such a big impact on your overall experience.
Even though you've moved a bit further away we'll always hope to draw you back for a repeat visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson City
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I were celebrating our retirement by traveling to places on our "bucket list" and we were on our way to the Grand Hotel in upper Michigan and needed a place to stay the night before we got there in Southern Michigan. We are members of the Select Registry Program because their member Bed and Breakfasts have to maintain high standards. The Castle in the Country was at the right location, and so we made a reservation. We were not disappointed. This B&B is very deserving of the Select Registry Certification. Ruth met us at the door and pleasantly registered us while sharing all of the things to do and see as well as the meals and menus. We stayed in the Lady Guinevere room on the second floor in the "Keep" where we enjoyed the many amenities of this beautiful B&B. We planned to arrive a little early to also investigate the "65" acres of beautiful Michigan country side.including a "Walden" pond, walking trails through mature woods, and a large recreational lake with screen house, kayaks and paddle boat surreys availalble for guest use. We strolled through the woods and took in the wonderful vistas of the property and lake. After our long trip and a leisurely walk we rested in the back yard shade of the "Keep" with its pleasant "Walden" pond with many birds, flowers and plants to soothe the soul and again took in the wonderful Michigan Spring. The two person whirlpool tub in our room and cozy fireplace prepared us for a wonderful night's sleep in the very comfortable bed. The room was decorated very nicely with the theme and all of the appointments needed for the guests. The "Keep" had a kitchen, parlor and reading room on the first floor where guests could get snacks, freshly made brownies and cookies and or beverages any time they wanted. We had planned to leave early the next day so Ruth scheduled an early breakfast time for us and Ms. Emily served us an exquisite breakfast in the wonderful dining room of the keep with fireplace, paintings, and very pleasant views of the back yard and pond teaming with life on another beautiful Michigan Spring morning. Needless to say our stay at this wonderful Bed and Breakfast made us actually forget we were going to the Grand Hotel the next several nights. We obviously enjoyed our stay at the Grand Hotel very much, but we now know now that there is another " Very Grand Hotel" in Michigan and it is in the form of the Castle in the Country Bed and Breakfast which is also now on our bucket list to go back and stay longer.

Room Tip: We were very satisfied staying in the "Keep" room which is a little more secluded in a ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guests,
We are so grateful to you for taking the time to share your review of your stay with us with our TripAdvisor readers. I'm so glad you enjoyed all the details of our country location before traveling on to the Grand Hotel. We just love sharing our 65 acre property with our guests, and agree with your finding that all the birds and wildlife who frequent our "Waldon" pond provide such an entertaining and calming respite for all who watch. As a Select Registry member we know that you've traveled to several great inns and we are so honored to be counted among the best of them.
We'd love to have you back soon and we hope that we'll be able to host a much longer visit next time so we can be your home base during your adventures in this part of southern Michigan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Thomas, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We recently stayed at Castle in the Country B & B Inn. It is a lovely and homey environment, however, we stayed on the 3rd floor in the Jewel Box room in which you could never quite totally relax. I entered the closet to hang up my robe and, although I bent over to exit, I did not bend far enough upon exiting and smacked my head so hard on the top of the door frame that I temporarily blacked out and landed flat on my bottom on the floor. I am writing this 3 days later and still have a dull headache and will have to see my family doctor after the weekend. All the ceilings are low sloped in this room and my spouse is over 6 feet tall so he also felt like he could not stand up straight anywhere. None of the low ceilings or doorways are marked to draw your attention to them and I found them to be very hazardous. All the time in our room we needed to walk stooped over and were even unable to sit up in bed because we hit our heads on the ceiling. We were blessed with rain for our entire visit so went shopping and returned to the Inn around 4:30 in the afternoon. The room for the other couple that was with us was not completely made up as yet so they came into our room even though we had no place to sit other than on the bed. Shortly the maid popped her head in to say that she was done now. Upon looking around our friends found that their bathroom had not been cleaned and the used towels were still piled in the shower. All in all we laughed all through our stay because it is not everyday that you walk stooped over and look at everyone and everything from a different angle. I would not recomment staying in any of the rooms on the 3rd floor of the main house.

Room Tip: Stay away from the 3rd floor of the main house and try to avoid the traffic noise from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swoozy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,
As previously mentioned in response to your partner’s review, the angled ceilings in our 106 year old Victorian are the most pronounced in our smallest room, the Jewel Box. As we also mentioned, many guests have found the Jewel Box small but comfortable and the perfect room for their price point while still allowing access to our gourmet breakfast, expansive grounds and on-site amenities like our Spa Services. We were sorry to hear that the room wasn’t the right option for you, and even more dismayed to hear you bumped your head after not bending low enough to exit the closet. In response to your review, we have taken steps to provide alternative storage outside of the closet. Thank you for your feedback, and we especially appreciate you directing guests to consider other rooms on site. We recommend all future guests (especially those who are 6' or taller) fully explore our website to review pictures of all ten rooms and pick the room or suite that provide all the details that will make them most comfortable and relaxed during their visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Good looking place, but don't let the looks fool you. I speak of the "Jewel Box Room". Almost every wall is on an angle anyone over four feet tall would smack their head if not very careful, I'm six feet. I felt like I was doing a zombie walk around the place. My partner left the closet a bit too quickly and ended up flat on her butt with a sore head. I have no idea why they can't make safe doors. The bed was up against a wall that was mainly ceiling, I couldn't sit up in bed comfortably to watch TV. Talking about comfort, the bathroom has walls that don't reach the ceiling, a window that doesn't open, and no exhaust fan. You can guess the rest of the story.
The breakfasts (I was their for two nights), were very tasty but limited, I hope you're not a big eater, no seconds of anything but coffee and juice.

Room Tip: Avoid the third floor if you like vertical walls and head room. The "Castle" is very close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Len S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,
We were sorry to hear from your review that you weren’t comfortable in the Jewel Box room. Out of ten individual and Unique guest rooms, the Jewel Box and Golden Tower are our only modest sized rooms- a difference in size that is reflected in their price point. Our web site photos of the room show the space very accurately and although some of the angles of the space may pose a challenge to individuals that are 6 foot or taller, many people find the 3rd floor location of this room as quite charming and quaint.
In reference to your question regarding why we “can’t make safe doors” - the door to the Jewel Box closet, as well as the angled ceilings and stain glass windows, are original to the 106 year old Victorian “Castle”. We want to acknowledge safety as an important issue, and based on your suggestion, we will be taking steps to highlight the low height of the closet door from inside that space and we'll provide alternative hooks for storage outside of the closet.
Aside from being a staff favorite, many guests through the years have found the Jewel Box a small but cozy room that suited them perfectly (as most recently indicated in a recent Trip Advisor review from April 8). We are sorry to hear that it wasn’t the right fit for you. Thank you for your advice to future guests, and we’d like to echo your input and encourage prospective guests to fully explore our website featuring pictures of all ten of our unique rooms, including our eight spacious whirlpool suites. As always, we recommend that our guests talk with our Innkeepers directly about any questions they have regarding the features or amenities of our Inn both before and during the booking process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen Park, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is our second time at Castle in the Country. For our second time we decided to have our wedding there. The whole staff made our day perfect!. As always everything was first class from our room, to our wedding, to breakfast. Needless to say this won't be out last visit there as we are already planning our next trip up there. To Ruth,Herb,Emily,and Bresan thanks for all you did to make our weekend perfect. We will see you soon! To anyone looking for that perfect getaway this place is a must!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sir Lancelot, our favorite so far!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guests,
We loved hosting your second visit to our B&B and we especially Loved hosting your wedding! We all felt so honored to be part of your special day and we are really looking forward to welcoming you back sometime soon. Warmest wishes to the Bride and Groom from the entire Castle in the Country family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby Township, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband and I were celebrating our 45th Anniversary. We had a wonderful time watching the many species of birds and enjoying a glass of wine in the lovely gazebo. We took a hike on the grounds and found a quiet place to reflect on the lake. Ruth and Herb are great hosts. Our breakfasts were to die for and our room The King Arthur was fantastic I loved the view we had from our room overlooking the. pond. We also enjoyed the resident cat Abbey. We would certainly recommend this B&B to our friends. We also plan to return in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guests,
We are always so honored to share our B&B with Anniversary Couples! It makes us smile to see our guests relaxing in the gazebo and sharing our excitement about watching the many beautiful birds that surround our property. Thanks so much for sharing your recommendation of our place with your friends...we are always grateful for the help of our great guests for sending us more great guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allegan
20.4 mi away
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Shelbyville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
17.9 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
22.6 mi away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
DeLano Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast
17.8 mi away
Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast
17.0 mi away
Henderson Castle Inn
Henderson Castle Inn
#6 of 6 in Kalamazoo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 340 M 40 S, Allegan, MI 49010-9609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Allegan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Allegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on 65 secluded acres at our Southwest Michigan bed and breakfast, with private lake and walking trails. Book romantic rooms and suites at our Michigan inn and spa with comfy King or Queen beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and Wi-Fi. Enjoy a full gourmet breakfast, indulge in our on-site spa and enjoy delicious dinners at our romantic Michigan getaway. If you are looking for an inn in Saugatuck area or a romantic Allegan hotel, escape to Castle in the Country B&B Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle In The Country Hotel Allegan
Castle In The Country Bed And Breakfast Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing