We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible hostel, don't go! NO WI-FI”
Review of Amigo Hostel

Amigo Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amigo Hostel
Ranked #42 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Sucre
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Horrible hostel, don't go! NO WI-FI”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I wish I never found it... The staff were not friendly, actually rude. The hostel and especially the showers are dirty, but hey - how will they get cleaned if staff is watching TV all day. No toilet paper in the toilets.

Wi-Fi is so horrible, it is non existing. There's a PC in the reception, but they charge to use it. So during my stay I was forced to go to Internet cafe, additional cost min. 10bs a day.

What kind of kitchen doesn't have a fridge? - Amigos kind. Also it seriously lacks cups, plates, stencils and whatever else you would like to use.

They serve breakfast, which is two pieces of white bread and barely enough butter for one. A glass of synthetic juice, suspect being TANG. This breakfast is worth less than 2bs. For 6bs at the market you can get fruit salad with granola and yoghurt!

This is barely a hostel, don't go there!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rejsefugl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    7
    15
    12
    21
See reviews for
Families
0
15
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

No hangout area. Rude reception staff. Feels like a maze and seems like undergoing construction work as there was lots of trash around. My double room was fine for me, if you've been to south east asia this was "luxury". But my friend hated it and thought it smelled... I didn't. I guess it depend on your standard level. The bathroom/shower were clean but don't look up!! The ceiling paint is falling down and it is disgusting.

Good location close to everything 2 min walk to main square.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadialefebvre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sucre hotels

Sucre, Bolivia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Unless you are looking for a party and dirtiness, don't go there whatsoever...unless you are totally desperate, even, you're better off sleeping on a park bench. Trust us, we've seen a lot in the last 6months traveling around! Dirty, dirty, dirty, that's all..! And don't count on doing anything with the horribly slow wifi here! Other guest don't seem to make a difference between 4AM and 4PM. You will find much better value (and cleaner) without much effort nearby...It seriously doesn't deserve a spot in the Lonely Planet, come on lonely, hope it's not in your next edition!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatMel20123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Terrible hostel. No atmosphere whatsoever, unhelpful staff, dirty and uncomfortable rooms (mine had a used condom on the floor) and barely-functioning bathrooms. Only plus point is its cheapness, but it's Bolivia - for more or less the same price you can stay in dozens of much nicer hostels around the city. Avoid.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potosi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Amazing building at the city center, but doesn't have good vibes. Personal is rude. We booked a triple room and payed a deposite and on arrival administrator told us that there is no room for us, only double room with one bad. Finally they fixed it, we had our triple with broken door lock.
SKYPE is not allowed, internet is slow and HostelWorld is banned. But if you use PC at the lobby (you should pay for it) HostelWorld works.
I never saw any smile from personal, alway felt that I disturb them with my quiestions.
Good points: hot water works perfectly and breakfast included.
So, after 2 days I moved to another hostel at Sucre and didn't regret.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizavetaAshmarova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Stayed here for one night after a long and exhausting trip for Uyuni, and despite the cheap cost, it really was "skankville central". The rooms were basic, poorly maintained, and the place was full of waster gringos boasting about their drug-habits and travelling anecdotes. The bathrooms were awful too....

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesSteerforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Staff extremely unfriendly, unaccomadating, unhelpful and very rude.

Do NOT stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChillySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.2 mi away
El Hotel de Su Merced
0.4 mi away
Traveler's Guesthouse
Traveler's Guesthouse
#6 of 56 in Sucre
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Colonial Hotel
Colonial Hotel
#15 of 18 in Sucre
20 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Mi Pueblo Samary
0.2 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amigo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amigo Hostel

Property: Amigo Hostel
Address: Colon 125, Sucre, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Sucre
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Amigo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing