We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, excellent location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Marino Royal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Tain, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, excellent location.”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

The staff were very helpful and friendly, couldn't have asked for better. In particular, Andrea on reception speaks very good English and was great at helping me arrange onward travel to Chile. The room I had was well decorated, clean and had good facilities (fridge, cable tv, decent water pressure in the shower, hot water) and the price was excellent value. The only problem I had overall was the noise - I picked a room that didn't look out onto the street thinking it would be quieter (the rooms are arranged around a central, interior patio) but it was nonetheless noisy as anything happening down in the lobby / patio echoed around. It was quiet enough when it came time to sleep though so not a big issue. Location was perfect, just off the main square. Highly recommended, I'd go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    28
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
29
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromont, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This hotel is right next to the main plaza with all the services, attractions and action very near.

The staff is always smiling and greeting you whenever you go by the lobby. There is two interior patio which cut any street sound you might hear in your room. Ok, there was a Virgen de la Guadalupe fiesta when we were there, so we could hear the rumour of the street and plaza till late at night, but this is exceptional.

The rooms themselves are large enough, clean and with showers that have closed doors (this is not a detail when you just visited places where there isn't even a shower curtain). Everything was satisfactory from wifi, tv, room service, etc.

Our only problem in this hotel was the breakfast. They say that it starts at 7:00. But, really, nothing was really up and running until 8:00. The first thing they seem to make sure is working is the loud television set high up over the buffet. You would always have to wait for the fruit or the fruit juice, milk or something else. The breakfast room looks like a plan B really. The person who manages the service can't go from the kitchen to the room without going by the lobby. We always managed to be fed in the morning, but it was very convoluted and a long wait. This might be a detail for some people who don't eat in the morning, but we are both early people and eat a lot to start off our day (especially on vacation).

If I was reviewing the mornings in this hotel, I would give a "poor" rating, but honestly, only the breakfast was a problem, so for all the other reasons, I give a Very Good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricMonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2012

An extremely charming hotel, with delicious morning buffet that was complementary . The hotel
was conveniently close to the plaza. The staff had a genuine sincerity about helping you. They all were friendly and went out of their way to please you. Mary , USA

Room Tip: ask for room not on the street if noise bothers you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maron777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Hotel is well located near the main Plaza. It could be that we just had a bad room but I didn't leave wanting to come back! The rooms are round an open foyer, which in the case of our room meant that there were no windows looking out and this made the room airless and stuffy. There were windows looking into the centre of the hotel but they were small and created no breeze.
The shower kept flooding the bathroom as it was badly designed and the whole room seemed dark and gloomy. Breakfast was pretty poor compared to other hotels we stayed at.
The other problem was that noise seemed drift up from the foyer and into the room. This meant that if you are a light sleeper you could hear the TV in the foyer 2 stories up late at night.
On the plus side the staff were all very helpful.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2012

A very good and beautiful hotel with very kind and helpful employees !The hotel is modren and very clean with a perfect location, next to the main plaza. The price definatly worth it! Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sapir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The thing that strikes you most about this hotel is its three storey open foyer. It feels incedibly colonial. In addition there is a fabulous roof top terrace with views over the city. While less than 100 metres from the main square, the rooms were quiet. The rooms themselves were nothing special but they were clean and spacious enough for a few days to a week. Service was exceptional and for us had the advantage of speaking English.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so if you are less mobile you might prefer the first floor (there are only tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoupleMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Being a backpacker this hotel was amazing. Me and my girlfriend decided to take a better hotel for our anniversary. We emailed the hotel (the prices listed on booking.com were too high for our budget) if it was possible to get a room for a lower price while explaining the situation. This was possible and we were very happy.
Once we got in our room we were a little disappointed however, everything looked great but it wasnt that big and the bathroom was not much more than the ones we had in cheap private rooms (except for the cleaniness and materials it was made from).
We were looking forward most to the sauna and jacuzzi but the jacuzzis were only in more expensive rooms and a football team made the sauna dirty and so it was cleaned the entire day. We complained about this and in return got offered an amazing junior suite.

Big room, small balcony with side view on the main square, flat screen tv, king size bed and jacuzzi. This room was amazing and worth its money, the ´normal´ double rooms however are a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.3 mi away
El Hostal de Su Merced
0.2 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Antigua
Hotel Villa Antigua
#4 of 18 in Sucre
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monasterio
Hotel Monasterio
#13 of 18 in Sucre
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique La Posada
0.2 mi away
Hotel Independencia
Hotel Independencia
#5 of 18 in Sucre
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Marino Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marino Royal Hotel

Property: San Marino Royal Hotel
Address: Arenales n. 13, Sucre 591, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Marino Royal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Marino Royal Hotel, is a magic place that combines wide and comfortable environments with the colonial style of Sucre. Located a few steps from the principal square, also it possesses Breakfast Buffet, TV cable / Internet WiFi, Fridge bar / Heating, Sauna/Jacuzzi, Room Service/Lavandería and Lounge of Events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your San Marino Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing