We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute gem”
Review of La Dolce Vita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Dolce Vita
Ranked #1 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Absolute gem”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We were really pleased that a room opened up in this gem of a guesthouse. We ended up paying $22 USD per night for our room, although they do have a variety of cheaper rooms (none of the cheaper ones were open on our arrival). That said, we think our room, Chuquisaca, may be the best. The hostel has an incredible kitchen that is very well stocked with cooking supplies, a beautiful deck area (we love that our room opens right up to the deck), a beautiful courtyard, and a comfortable TV/sitting room. Our room itself is perfect – a huge/comfortable bed, a couch and coffee table, shelving, enough floor space for two yoga mats, really cool artwork, and a nice bathroom. The owners, a French-Swiss couple, are really lovely and have a very welcoming attitude to their guests, who are all given a front door key so it can really be treated more like a home and less like a hotel. We are sad that we have to leave this place!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OurEpicAdventur... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    36
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
122
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
Level Contributor
62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stayed single room without bath for 3 days and I felt it's cozy and like home away home. Overall guesthouse is so clean and nice, and also the room is quite fancy and big enough with table. It's located just 2 min from the central market, so you can reach to the city center in 5 min and also it's easy to get to the microbuses. The owners' family are so nice and helpful. But the breakfast is not included and there's no laundry service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wizard505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The innkeepers were super friendly and gave us great recommendations on sightseeing and restaurants. The room was very clean and spacious. The shower was reliably hot (which we soon realized is a luxury in Bolivia, not a given!) The common areas were great - we enjoyed having access to the kitchen and the courtyard. The location was great too (3 blocks from the Plaza de Armas) - we were able to get around easily on foot to all the major sites.

Only suggestion I have is to ask for a room that is away from the front door. We stayed in the room immediately outside of the front door and it could be a bit noisy at night, with people arriving home in the wee hours. It was really a minor thing, though, and didn't detract from our stay.

We paid 140 Bs for a matrimonial with an in-room bath. This seemed like a typical price for rooms of this quality in Sucre. Breakfast is not included.

Overall, I'd highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: rooms around the courtyard appear quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnionGirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We had an awesome stay. Big room that still felt really cozy. Very clean too. Had an ensuite, shelves to unpack for our weeks stay, desk for studying and wifi in room.

There was a kitchen to cook meals or just for a simple breakfast before Spanish class. They have a nice outdoor area for studying, reading, eating or just relaxing.

Good security and you get keys so you can come and go whenever you like.

The owners are super nice and friendly. Ask them for suggestions on restaurants or to help you order in a pizza.

Great place to stay if your studying at Mi Gusto Spanish school.

Not a party place or really a place to meet people but if your studying you will meet lots of travellers at school.

Thanks for a great stay Oliver and Jackie.

4 bolivianos per person from the bus station. 30 from the airport.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AN4RCHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

First we only want to stay for 2 days but we enlarged to 4 Nights, just because of feeling so comfortable, safe and like home :)

The owners - Jaqueline and Oliver are very nice, helpful and always with a smile.

Our room is big, clean and with hot shower. It is not too loud, just the normal bolivian noises (cars, motobikes, dogs).
The hostal has a nice and Patio.

We absolutely recommend this hostel!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J2daK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

It is conveniently locate in the historical area, a Block from the Market and three blocks from Plaza de Armas, very secure, good facilities well stoked, Your uber friendly hosts Jackie and Oliviar who will welcome you in with open arms and give you a great briefing in what to do.

There is a well stocked and sparkly clean kitchen that steps out onto a sunny terrace which is perfect for sharing meals with fellow travelers. Below a sunny patio with hammock perfect for chilling and drinking a cold beer or wine and plenty of shade as well

In our months of travelling definitely one of the best places we have seen and great value for money across South America. We definitely coming back and maybe stay longer!

Room Tip: All rooms are great enjoy the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucre, Bolivia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

La Dolce Vita conveniently sits one block from the Central Markets and three blocks from the main plaza. The very large, airy rooms with polished floor boards and high ceilings make an amazing change from the normal hostel.
There is a well stocked and sparkly clean kitchen that steps out onto a lovely sunny terrace which is perfect for sharing meals with fellow travelers. Below a sunny patio with hammock perfect for chilling and drinking a cold beer or wine, and If your not into the sun there's plenty of shade as well. A tv room sits cozily downstairs with cable and stacks of dvd's, theres none of that iritating chatter or noise where the tv is located next to the hang area. If you miss a hot shower with high water pressure then look no further.
Your uber friendly hosts Jackie and Oliviar who on last count spoke five languages will welcome you in with open arms. You will receive your own key to the entrance door so none of that annoying waiting to get in or out. Easily the best value for money hostel in South America. Plan to stay a week be prepared to stay a month.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.5 mi away
El Hostal de Su Merced
0.3 mi away
Kultur Berlin Hostal
Kultur Berlin Hostal
#2 of 55 in Sucre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Verde B&B
Casa Verde B&B
#2 of 29 in Sucre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Oropeza Guest House
0.4 mi away
Casa de Huespedes Cadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dolce Vita

Property: La Dolce Vita
Address: Calle Urcullo 342, Sucre, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Dolce Vita offers a relaxed family atmosphere for a memorable stay in lovely Sucre, Bolivia. At our guesthouse you will find a colourful, friendly setting with a sunny terrace and courtyard; a big lounge with cable TV, a DVD player and a well-stocked DVD selection as well as a nice guest kitchen. We provide affordable accommodation in Sucre’s lively city centre, 1 block from the Central Market. Our 10 spacious rooms with wood-flooring make you feel more like staying at a friend’s house than a hotel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing