We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really very nice”
Review of La Dolce Vita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Dolce Vita
Ranked #1 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
406 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Really very nice”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great hosts, good location, lovely rooms, excellent beds, cute courtyard, decent internet. What's not to like?

The common areas, a living, two courtyards and a balcony, are roomy and great to lounge in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MastaBaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    36
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
123
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I signed up for a 4-week spanish language lessons and wanted somewhere to relax but at a good price too. This was perfect, we are two people and got a huge twin room for BOB$100 per night for the room. The bathrooms are shared with our room but they are spotlessly clean and a great shower with hot, hot water! Towels are bob$50 for every change but are free with the more expensive ensuites. Kitchen is great, fully stocked and always clean. The veranda is a brilliant sun trap between 9am and 2pm, perfect for studying in the sun!
Location couldn't be better, one block from Mercado central, 3 blocks from the central Plaza and a 15 minute walk the the awesome Mercado Campesino.
The owners are lovely too, anything you need help with you just ask!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TreeHuggerTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had a great stay at this hostel. The hostel is lovely, with sunny patio, wi-fi, kitchen, book exchange and the lounge with DVDs. The owners are super friendly and hopeful. The double room we stayed in was 170bolivianos and was huge and clean. It is quite central and close to the market.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Really great value at 100 pesos for a double room (staying more than 5 nights). The room is very large and shows great attention to detail. Shared bathrooms are always clean and you will never have to wait. Shower is incredible. Kitchen is very well equipped. Social uet relaxed.

Only lacked a warm place inside to eat. Also you cannot hand wash your clothes here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Allardyced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is a place I would recommend to all my friends. The Swiss-French couple who runs this hostel is super-friendly and gives very good advice. The rooms are large and very clean, kitchen is very clean as well. And there is everything else you need: courtyard, sun terrace, book-exchange, WiFi, large living room with huge choice of DVD's, possibility to buy wine and beer and so on. So don't hesitage to book here. I would definitive come here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philipp-Karin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We are a couple travelling for a few months through South America. We stayed at La Dolce Vita for a few days and had a great time there. Our room was very big, bathroom was very clean. There's a common kitchen area with a terrace outside, it's lovely to have lunches up here on a sunny day. There's also a common tv area and a patio where you can chill during the day. The owners were so nice and helpful. Location is perfect, It's just around the corner from the center, but you don't have all the noise from there. Very good value for money. We highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I had booked my stay for 2 nights, but after I checked in, I already changed it to 3. Jacquelin and Olivier are such wonderful hosts. As many others I got a good introduction of the hostel and a wonderful map with all the highlights and basic information of Sucre. Any question I had, even about hostels in other places, was answered. They will make sure that you'll have a great stay in Sucre and Bolivia.
The rooms are lovely and foreseen of all the basic necessities. All areas are kept clean. While staying in Sucre, this is a wonderful place to come home to.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank askok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.5 mi away
El Hostal de Su Merced
0.3 mi away
Kultur Berlin Hostal
Kultur Berlin Hostal
#2 of 55 in Sucre
454 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Verde B&B
Casa Verde B&B
#2 of 30 in Sucre
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Oropeza Guest House
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Mi Pueblo Samary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dolce Vita

Property: La Dolce Vita
Address: Calle Urcullo 342, Sucre, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Dolce Vita offers a relaxed family atmosphere for a memorable stay in lovely Sucre, Bolivia. At our guesthouse you will find a colourful, friendly setting with a sunny terrace and courtyard; a big lounge with cable TV, a DVD player and a well-stocked DVD selection as well as a nice guest kitchen. We provide affordable accommodation in Sucre’s lively city centre, 1 block from the Central Market. Our 10 spacious rooms with wood-flooring make you feel more like staying at a friend’s house than a hotel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing