We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most awesome hostel ever!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wasi Masi Casa de Huespedes
Ranked #21 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Sucre
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“most awesome hostel ever!!”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

i had the most amazing time in this hostel. its very cheap and has everything u will need. tv room with lots of dvd's and cable, a kitchen, a great breakfast, and a small restaurant that makes lunch. the rooms r big and even in the dorms there is a sense of privacy.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diana899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    41
    30
    15
    14
See reviews for
6
62
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zottegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Nice hostal, cosy place outside to eat and meet other travellers. Clean rooms and large lockers. In my opinion Sucre is the most beautifull city in Bolivia, and this hostal is close to the city center.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troncquo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The hostal is good, but we started off quite frustrated. Our nightbus arrived at 4am so we were at wasmasi at 4:15. We made reservations online and told them that we would arrive early. Once we were there nobody opened the door. We phoned them and than somebody told us to get lost because we did not have reservations! Not the kinda street you wanna hangout in de middle of the night. The nearest hostal San Fransisco did let us in fortunately! Te next morning we went back and they did not have bookings in a computer(???) but somehow they could fix us a room. This was fine. Bed was a matras on the ground, hard but okay. Fine warm shower. Great breakfast and laundry service. Good wifi. Friendly lady the owner, she works hard! A lot of hipster backpackers.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aStoryForTomorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

When we first arrived (without a booking) it took us 10-15minutes just to find someone from reception. When we finally did we were shown a double room with a lumpy mattress on the floor with a dank looking rug on it (luckily the sheets underneath were clean enough). We were assured there was a hot shower 24/7. For the price (about US$9each) we thought it was OK. So, then we put our laundry in.... When we went to collect it there were 4 bags of laundry & luckily I spotted some of my clothes in another bag. As it turned out there was no rhyme nor reason to which bag they put laundry in. In our bag were others clothes, and in every other bag were some of our clothes - how hard is it to separate laundry!? Pretty standard. We ended up having to tip out our 'clean' clothes on their dirty floor and go through a knickers line-up! And no apology. Then we went to have a shower to discover it was barely tepid. We went down and complained, and the woman proceeded to come up to our room and put her hand under the tap and assure us it was warm - the only way it could have been considered warm was if you were cold blooded!
We asked for a small discount - equivalent to about $1.50 and were refused. The woman (at 10.30pm) then stood at our door and rudely demanded we pay for our room there and then!! Which we refused given we weren't leaving until 11am the next day! How rude.
Other than that the breakfast was your basic bread and jam. The hotel was in an ok location 3 blocks from the main square. My advice - don't bother trying to find someone at reception!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOZbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sucre hotels

Dublin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012 via mobile

If getting sick is something you feel is a right of passage while travelling this is the place to come, rooms are really damp and showers are cold.

The staff tend to spend most of their time staring at you and not much else.

There were a few problems during our stay so we and wanted to leave a night early and the rooms were giving us bad coughs as well, the owner was really rude and just shouted at us in Spanish. I wouldn't advise staying here as Sucre is so beautiful and this place could dampen it!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SF_dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I booked a single en-suite here based on recommendations from other travellers who said that it was a good base and a very friendly place to stay. The crowd is a mix of ages and nationalities and people seemed to extend stays and to return after travelling elsewhere in Bolivia.

The room was small and a little damp smelling but this could be because the shower was onto bare bricks. The room was cleaned every day I was there. There is a very small kitchen, the smallest I have seen yet in South America, but it is so cheap to eat here that you do not need to self-cater (the café also does a Bolivian lunch for 18Bs during the week). There is a TV room and a café/dining room for when it rains or is cold, but the main meeting area is in the courtyard. The furnishings are basic but the main reason to stay here is for the social side.

Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Audles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We first waited for five minutes on the street buzzing the door bell before a guest alerted the boss who eventually let us in. She then explained that the person in our room was staying longer so we wouldn't be able to stay. She didn't apologise once. She took us to a hostel around the corner where they didn't have wifi or breakfast (or curtains in the bed room!), and so we checked out the next morning for somewhere else. The boss of Wasi Masi then at first refused to give back our deposit of 10% x 3 nights, and we had to argue for ages before she reluctantly gave us our money back.

Room Tip: Be prepared not to have your booking honoured
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.5 mi away
El Hostal de Su Merced
0.4 mi away
Hostel Colors House
Hostel Colors House
#7 of 55 in Sucre
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Oropeza Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kultur Berlin Hostal
Kultur Berlin Hostal
#1 of 55 in Sucre
454 reviews
0.5 mi away
Traveler's Guesthouse
Traveler's Guesthouse
#6 of 55 in Sucre
83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wasi Masi Casa de Huespedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wasi Masi Casa de Huespedes

Property: Wasi Masi Casa de Huespedes
Address: Calle Urcullo, 233, Sucre, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pretty, laid-back and wellcoming house with design. Each room comes with private or shared bathroom. Reception is open 24/24. Located 3 blocks from the main square. Provides hot showers 24/7, a book exchange, well-equipped kitchen, restaurant, laundry service and special rates for Spanish classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Wasi Masi Casa de Huespedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing