We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most guest friendly hostal we stayed in Bolivia”
Review of Santa Cecilia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Cecilia
Ranked #5 of 32 Sucre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2012

The owners are not Bolivian, I think they are Argentinian, Chilean or Spanish because they speak too fast spanish for a Bolivian of Peruvian couple and don`t look like them either. Furthermore they were far more (guest)friendly and outgoing than Bolivian people. The woman showed us the hostal and she and her husband told everything about Sucre and more. After telling us everything she even gave us a welcome kiss, so sweet! Double room was really nice, big and clean with an own bathroom for just 140 Bolivianos! And the hotel was just 5 min. walk from the main plaza, in a quiet street. Definately recommend it to everyone who wants to go to Sucre!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2012

Santa Cecelia is a small B&B in a quiet street, but still close to the city centre of Sucre. We liked our spacious room with kingsize bed, private bathroom (hot water) and tv. The owners are very friendly, but almost never around. Breakfast in the B&B is simple: coffee, bread with jam&butter and a milky drink. We made ourself lunch and dinner in the great common kitchen which everyone can use. Supermarket is nearby and good for Bolivian standards.
Great place for a good price. Only disadvantage is the lack of good wifi.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Ok, this is by far the best sleep i had in all South America. 80 Bolivians for single room with private bathroom. Very comfortable bed, everything is so clean and nice. Room include TV, table, chair, and enough space to move.There is hot water in the shower with good pressure. Breakfast is basic bread and jam, but you could buy some eggs and use the kitchen to cook anything extra for yourself. The kitchen has tools for guests use. Location is four blocks from the main plaza. Can be very quite after 10 pm, so better return with people. The owners are not around most of time, so if you need anything make sure to ask when you check in. There is no computer for guest use, but there is wi-fi. The owner let me stay until 8pm the day I had checked- out and didn't charge me for this extra time which was very nice gesture. I loved the place!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rehber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We booked into this B&B after one night at the Casa Verde next door (we'd only booked one night and it was subsequently full). Despite cosmetically not being on a par with Casa Verde I would definitely recommend Santa Cecilia over its neighbour. Our room was clean and well appointed, the bathroom decent with plenty of hot water. The breakfast was adequate. However the wifi was very hit and miss, which can be a problem when trying to plan a trip. However the owners were fantastic, very welcoming and helpful in advising on things to do and onward transport. When I fell ill overnight, we were able to keep the room all of the following day free of charge before getting our bus to Tupiza. Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

After our first night in a crappy hotel in Sucre we checked Tripadvisor for a better one. We ended up checking four different options. They were all pretty similar (good beds, fairly sizeable rooms, private bathroom, wifi and breakfast included). We chose Santa Cecilia because of the price. It was b.140 for a matrimonial, while the other three (La Escondida, CasArte Takubamba and Casa Verde) ranged from 170 to 195. The rate was still slightly above our regular backpacker budget, but Sucre is more expensive than average anyway, and Santa Cecilia turned out to be a great B&B. The room was nice and quiet, bed was great, the breakfast was decent, wifi worked well and the owners were very helpful. It's four blocks from the main plaza, next door to Casa Verde B&B.

Room Tip: Some rooms have gas heated showers, others have electrical ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sendar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Our room here was lovely, large super comfy bed, the bathroom adequate, most importantly it had hot water! The location is very good, a few blocks from town in a lovely neighbourhood, breakfast is very basic, bread and jam however kitchen is available to use, the lady and man running the b&b were lovely but you have to go next door and knock to find them, which felt kind of intrusive to us, all in all would stay here again, excellent value...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My partner and I spent 3 nights at Santa Cecilia in May 2012, and were very impressed.

We paid 140 Bolivianos a night, for a double room, with an en-suite. The room was clean and comfortable, with a lovely hot shower. The only drawback of the bathroom, was there was no curtain around the shower, so the bathroom got soaked every time you used it. Not too much of a problem as a mop was provided.

The room we stayed in felt a bit like a lads room, who had gone off to college or something... but it was nice all the same. Our bed was incredibly comfortable, with nice clean linen - sleep quality was excellent! The wi-fi was also always good.

There is a communal kitchen and breakfast was simple but good. The owners were very friendly and helpful, although they couldn't speak much English... obviously I am not complaining, as we should speak better Spanish! Location is great, just a short walk to the Plaza. We recommend this B&B for couples and solo travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.5 mi away
San Marino Royal Hotel
0.7 mi away
El Hotel de Su Merced
0.6 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
0.5 mi away
Traveler's Guesthouse
Traveler's Guesthouse
#8 of 59 in Sucre
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Recoleta Sur
Hostal Recoleta Sur
#13 of 32 in Sucre
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Cecilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Cecilia

Address: Calle Potosi 386 (Puerta de Garage), Sucre, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Sucre
Price Range: £17 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Cecilia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa Cecilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing